Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Nptl - to be or not to be
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Should i switch to NPTL?
Yes
92%
 92%  [ 279 ]
No
7%
 7%  [ 24 ]
Total Votes : 303

Author Message
nevynxxx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 1123
Location: Manchester - UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara wrote:
MooktaKiNG wrote:
venkat wrote:
my system has NPTL, ACPI, APIC uniprocessor support, CFQ scheduler, all enabled, .....


OK i've now added CFQ in grub and now i have everything that you have there.

Is there anything else i can do? i'm a performance junkie :D:D:D

I've got my whole system prelinked and using NPTL. i need more!!!!!!


4 disk sata raid0 array reiser4?


This motherboard, max out the ram and mount /var/tmp as a tmpfs at boot, that should speed up emerges a little. (and yes I think even open office would struggle to fill a 20GB ramdisk)
_________________
My Public Key

Wanted: Instructor in the art of Bowyery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara wrote:
MooktaKiNG wrote:
venkat wrote:
my system has NPTL, ACPI, APIC uniprocessor support, CFQ scheduler, all enabled, .....


OK i've now added CFQ in grub and now i have everything that you have there.

Is there anything else i can do? i'm a performance junkie :D:D:D

I've got my whole system prelinked and using NPTL. i need more!!!!!!


4 disk sata raid0 array reiser4?


Well the raid requires money and a PC :D:D

But ReiserFS4, i'm gonna wait a bit longer :D:D:D:D
I have important work on my laptop. Anyway once i buy a PC.

I'm in Uni at the moment. First year :D:D:D so money is a bit tight.

I think CFQ is slowing my startup down quite a bit.
I might cancell that, leave the default on, i think AS (or is it AP?) is default.
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDamage
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 650
Location: Oviedo, Spain

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here I'm using :

gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.5
ati-drivers 3.2.8
glibc 2.3.2-r9

My system worked perfectly. Added "nptl" to the USE flags and recompiled glibc. Now X only work at 640x480@85 and cannot change resolution via <Ctrl+Alt++> or <Ctrl+Alt+>

Somebody having the same issue? Any ideas? :?:
_________________
La PDA de tungsteno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuerty
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 90
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running NTPL since a few months and it's all working just fine :)
_________________
I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. if it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not Because it doesn't like me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mnemia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 476

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only problem I've encountered with NPTL-enabled systems was with MySQL...but that's MySQL's fault.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Talornin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Been using nptl for three months with no problems.
_________________
When in danger,
when in doubt!
Run in circles,
scream and shout!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

venkat wrote:
my system has NPTL, ACPI, APIC uniprocessor support, CFQ scheduler, all enabled


Sorry for the off-topic question (is there such a thing in Gentoo Chat lol :P), but what does CFQ do that isn't already there by default ?

I'm running the gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.5-r1 on my machine with NPTL. Is the CFQ not the default for the 2.6.x kernels ? Where do I add commands to test CFQ running on my machine ?

I use Gentoo as a desktop (Gnome 2.6), and I'm still trying new things to see if get better 'snap' or FPS in games etc :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallow
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don`t have any problems with nptl , i have glibc cvs with nptl , kernel like 2.6.6-rc evil & love , headers 2.6.5 , everything works fine :)

greetings
_________________
"Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived" J-L. Picard ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TenPin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 500
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When changing glibc always so this:

Code:
quickpkg glibc


Then if you want to switch back after upgrading you can do:

Code:
emerge -k /usr/portage/packages/sys-libs/glibc-2.3.2-r1.tbz2


I always quickpkg stuff before I upgrade or remove a package. It can save alot of time later, especially with large packages and a slow machine.
_________________
For since in the wisdom of God the world by its wisdom did not know God, God was pleased to save those who believe by the foolishness of preaching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarrenM
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 653
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Riftwing wrote:
Mplayer and xmms etc. seg fault for me when nptl is enabled.


I had the same problem until I rebooted. Then everything worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hensan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 868
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A warning to nvidia users: Remember to re-emerge nvidia-glx and nvidia-kernel after building glibc with nptl.

I didn't do this and as a result x froze on the next boot, and I had to do a hard reboot (which is a bit of russian roulette with reiserfs I have heard. My barrel was empty though :)). Then followed booting into windows, downloading a recent livecd, burn it, boot it, check fs for corruption, disable xdm in my installation, reboot, re-emerge nvidia-glx/kernel. Then things worked.

As for xmms, it segfaults on exit, but otherwise it works fine, don't know if this is nptl related since I haven't run xmms from konsole in a while...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TenPin has it right with quickpkg. glibc±nptl are the only binpkgs I have in my /usr/portage/packages.

The only problem I have had is that mono 0.91 will not compile properly with gcc 3.4.0 under glibc+nptl. But merging the quickpkg either side of the mono emerge fixes it.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7628
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ICC does not work with NPTL, at least it's my current experience with it.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
free-mind
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 139
Location: Rzeczpospolita Polska [Poland]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Riftwing wrote:
Mplayer and xmms etc. seg fault for me when nptl is enabled.


I had the same problem. 8) Without nptl both of them work perfectly! :wink: Peace.
_________________
conflict -> contact -> combat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadyCharacter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I've been using NTPL for about a month now, no problems. Just a question though, are any of you with NTPL problems using prelinking?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mnemia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 476

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadyCharacter wrote:
Hey, I've been using NTPL for about a month now, no problems. Just a question though, are any of you with NTPL problems using prelinking?

I'm using NPTL, and have been for quite some time on multiple machines. I also use prelink and I've never had any serious issues with it and NPTL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxp3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, ive been using nptl from the get-go (stage1 about 3-5 months ago) and it has never had a problem, the best way to switch to NPTL is to reinstall from stage1 and use it from the very beginning.
If you are upgrading to NPTL make sure
1) you are using 2.6 kernel
2) 2.6 headers (emerge -C linux-headers ; emerge -av linux26-headers)
3) have a .tbz2 of glibc incase it does royaly fuck up the system, glibc can be very touchy sometimes (you have been warned) just emerge the known good version of glibc and try again once u get enough balls
4) you might want to use gcc 3.4, i have been using 3.4 since i set up this computer and no problems, i dont know if gcc3.3 has any issues with nptl, but look into it.

anyways.. nptl has gained me alot of performance when im multitasking, thinks emerge ultra quick and my desktop never has a laggy feel, so i am happy. im just about to play around with different kernel patchs to try and make my desktop load faster.

Tux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll echo the sentiments of other folks here. I've not had any trouble at all with nptl since installing it.

Incidentally, installing it is really easy and pain free. There was a minor bug a little while back that gummed up the works, but it was quickly resolved.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightvhawk0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did echo sys-libs/glibc ~amd64 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
and USE="nptlonly" emerge glibc
yay now I don't have any linux threading at all and everything runs great !!
_________________
If God has made us in his image, we have returned him the favor. - Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sn4ip3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 325
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you plan to use a XEN kernel then NPTL is a bad idea because XEN "emulates" it very slowly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herlock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Bruxelles

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using nptl but today i had my first problem due to nptl.
When i want to rip a DVD with dvd::rip i have a problem when i rip the titles/chapters of the DVD.
I recompile glibc without nptl and it works great..

Can you use transcode with nptl enabled ?

PS: Really sorry for my bad English :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanHoe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exhuming the dead tuxp3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

herlock wrote:
i'm using nptl but today i had my first problem due to nptl.
When i want to rip a DVD with dvd::rip i have a problem when i rip the titles/chapters of the DVD.
I recompile glibc without nptl and it works great..

Can you use transcode with nptl enabled ?


I have no problem ripping dvds using dvd::rip with nptl enabled. You may need to run revdep-rebuild or re-emerge dvd::rip or both. It's hard to tell if you don't post errors and such.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/dev/random
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 704
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

herlock wrote:
i'm using nptl but today i had my first problem due to nptl.
When i want to rip a DVD with dvd::rip i have a problem when i rip the titles/chapters of the DVD.
I recompile glibc without nptl and it works great..

Can you use transcode with nptl enabled ?

PS: Really sorry for my bad English :/

I had the same issue but the ~x86 version of transcode has been working with nptl so far for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goalie_Ca
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 156
Location: Vancouver,B.C

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds pretty shitty how some apps break when you increase posix compatibility. I guess this raises the question, how broken is the current threading model.
_________________
Jabber: goalieca[AT]jabber.fr
Beautiful Vancouver, B.C.
http://www.sfu.ca/~rdickie/images/sig_small.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum