Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do you turn off an Ultra 5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:14 pm    Post subject: How do you turn off an Ultra 5 Reply with quote

Under Solaris, if I shutdown the system, it will power down when it's finished.

Under Linux, it does the same...

However, If I then disconnect the power cord (or turn off at the mains). When I plug the power back in, if I have shutdown from Linux, the system re-starts. From a Solaris shutdown, it stays shutdown.

I would guess that the Solaris shutdown tells the system it's a hard power off, so it knows to stay Off until told otherwise - ie by pressing the power button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in addition to unplugging the cord, use the switch on the back of the power supply


also, try shutdown -h
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H0bb3z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 121
Location: in the transmogrifier

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try an init level like 5 -- I believe this is the "power off" runlevel on a sparc:

Code:
init 5


Here's what they each should do:

init 0: goes thru the shutdown scripts then halts (not power off)
init 1: goes to single user
init 2: multi user
init 3: mult user plus network (plus X if available)
init 4: user defined
init 5: as init 0, but with power off
init 6: as 0 or 5, but reboots
_________________
-H0bb3z-
-----------
Intel QX9770 | 6Gb DDR3 | ATI 4870 HD 1Gb | 2xSeagate 1Tb SATAs
Running Funtoo Core2 build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there an option in the OBP for that?
I'd have a look on my SS5vbut it's busy atm.
You might also try somewhere like comp.sys.sun.hardware

Vu.
_________________
Gentoo Noob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback, I am doing a shutdown -h, to halt the system, and yes I could use the switch at the back (with a bit of groping around....). but that would mean, "shutdown -h", then wait for the system to power down, then power it off at the back. - It's just a convenience thing really.

I tend to think along Vu's lines, that under solaris, the "init 5" sets something in the OBP that prevents a re-boot when power comes back. I was just wondering if anybody knew what it was?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the OBP you might want to try setting auto-boot, but I think that just sets it to boot the OS or not.
_________________
Gentoo Noob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it does - the system will then power up and either boot the OS or sit at the ok prompt.

Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H0bb3z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 121
Location: in the transmogrifier

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may be right, but on my Netra T1, Ultra60 and old SparcStation 5 all running Gentoo, the "init #" command to set the runlevel seems to work properly (at least as I described in my previous post).

For me to disable/enable auto-boot, I have to use an "eeprom" command or do it manually in the Boot Prom (OK prompt)...

I guess your mileage may vary...
_________________
-H0bb3z-
-----------
Intel QX9770 | 6Gb DDR3 | ATI 4870 HD 1Gb | 2xSeagate 1Tb SATAs
Running Funtoo Core2 build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhujhiti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Ledyard, CT, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can do power-off at the obp if shutdown doesn't kill power, but halt -p should power off if your kernel is configured properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shutdown -h does kill the power, the thing is, if you then pull the power lead and plug it back in, the Ultra 5 powers back on.

After a shutdown -h (or -i6 -g0 -y (i think)) in solaris, removing and reconnecting the power doesn't power the box back up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum