Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing: emerge sync locks up box
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NetrixTardis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Selma, TX

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm thinking your HDD are just bad. or maybe the connection to them. have you opened up your case, and attempted to make sure all plugs and cables are pushed in all the way? maybe the HDD bracket isn't it all the way, take out the drive, then push it back in all the way. make sure all cards are pushed into their connectors properly, etc.
even tried to do this with the top of the case off of it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cayenne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 886
Location: New Orleans

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:41 pm    Post subject: Yup... Reply with quote

NetrixTardis wrote:
i'm thinking your HDD are just bad. or maybe the connection to them. have you opened up your case, and attempted to make sure all plugs and cables are pushed in all the way? maybe the HDD bracket isn't it all the way, take out the drive, then push it back in all the way. make sure all cards are pushed into their connectors properly, etc.
even tried to do this with the top of the case off of it?

Yup...the company I got the box from was very nice about trying to help me out. They sent me new RAM for it...new drives...I've swapped them all in/out in about every combination.
At this point, I've got another motherboard for it...thinking a swap of this might address a scsi bus problem?

However, and this is strange...on an iBook I have now...for some reason IT is now starting to lock up cold on emerge sync when it gets to the part of updating the portage cache....but, that is not a fresh install..but, similar problem.

On this box...in addition to swapping out drives and RAM and such...I've tried different partitioning arrangements, etc.

This box has solaris on it working when I got it...so, it appeared it was working fine, but, some combo of it and Gentoo install just isn't working.....

I'm thinking to try latest version of LiveCD...maybe something has changed since I last tried to install....I think there is a new portage now. New profiles..etc.?

I just am hoping to avoid having to strip this whole box out...switch the motherboard..and put it all back together...especially being this is my first time to take a Sun box apart...and no manual with me....etc.

Thanks for the reply!!! Any further suggestions/ideas/links greatly appreciated!!

C
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxbum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 131
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read the post and Weeve didn't mentioned it. He should know if this still vaild or not.
I know that my Ultra1 3d Creator.
I used older 1.4 version.
I only have one thought.
In past it was thought that sparc needed first track for /boot was "1"
Not Zero.
Not sure you want to try that, Here is my disk partitions.

    cruz18 conf.d # fdisk /dev/sda
    Command (m for help): p
    Disk /dev/sda (Sun disk label): 19 heads, 80 sectors, 2733 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 1520 * 512 bytes
    Device Flag Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 42 31160 83 Linux native
    /dev/sda2 u 43 701 500080 82 Linux swap
    /dev/sda3 u 0 2733 2077080 5 Whole disk
    /dev/sda4 702 2733 1543560 83 Linux native


You can try it :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a wild guess: Have you tried booting with ide=nodma?
I was having severe lockup issues untill i started using that.

Every time i upgrade my kernel (from 2.4 to 2.6.6 and now to 2.6.9) i
try booting without ide=nodma, hoping the issue is gone, but no luck.
I think my IDE drive only supports UDMA33, so my issue is probably
H/W related, nothing to do with the kernel.

Try it. It just take a reboot, you got nothing to loose.

HTH
-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cayenne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 886
Location: New Orleans

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:11 am    Post subject: OOps... Reply with quote

ashu69 wrote:
Just a wild guess: Have you tried booting with ide=nodma?
I was having severe lockup issues untill i started using that.

Every time i upgrade my kernel (from 2.4 to 2.6.6 and now to 2.6.9) i
try booting without ide=nodma, hoping the issue is gone, but no luck.
I think my IDE drive only supports UDMA33, so my issue is probably
H/W related, nothing to do with the kernel.

Try it. It just take a reboot, you got nothing to loose.

HTH
-a


I think my drives on the Ultra2 is scsi...?? Is there a scsi=nodma optiion?

Trying again with the latest version of the live cd...

cayenne
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, IIRC, this DMA problem has been pretty specific to IDE.
So this is probably not it.

Nothing else comes to mind.

Best of luck,
-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple thoughts, both low probability, but it can't hurt to try.

What kernel are you using? From what you have written, I infer that it is 2.4.xx of some kind.
But if it is 2.6.x by chance, failures similar to what you describe are known to happen.

Second, you can try mounting your partitions 'noatime' --- this will reduce disk activity. For example, something like
/dev/sda4 / ext3 noatime,rw,exec 1 1
(instead of 'defaults' or whatever options you specify).

If the problem is your controller or disk, this will not cure it, bit it might make it less likely.

By the way, since you have two systems, you can rule out or confirm problems with the disks themselves by swapping them between systems.
(E.g., move the disks from your failing system to the working one, and try
the emerge --sync again.)

Oh, and don't use reiserfs; some of us have had bad experiences with it. :wink:

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just built an Ultra 2 machine.. so since this sounds like your first here are some tips..

Use the 2004.3 stage 3 install, follow the instructions to the letter
(now wanting to teach you to suck eggs but hey)

Use EXT3 for EVERYTHING boot, root you name it.

Just to make sure all is well with your machine at the OK prompt you could do a set-defaults and make sure the machine is OK.

You could also run a test-all (cant remember if that one is on the U2 or not)

Finally, for the first install to make sure its all well you could always just run one hard disk.. /boot 32 Mb swap 1GB and / the rest..

Huge memory or not have a swap partition even if you dont use it.


U2 will run coooool if the fans are working so make sure they all start at power up ;)


Umm thats it off the top of my head...
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cayenne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 886
Location: New Orleans

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Still blowing up Reply with quote

Toady wrote:
I have just built an Ultra 2 machine.. so since this sounds like your first here are some tips..

Use the 2004.3 stage 3 install, follow the instructions to the letter
(now wanting to teach you to suck eggs but hey)

Use EXT3 for EVERYTHING boot, root you name it.

Just to make sure all is well with your machine at the OK prompt you could do a set-defaults and make sure the machine is OK.

You could also run a test-all (cant remember if that one is on the U2 or not)

Finally, for the first install to make sure its all well you could always just run one hard disk.. /boot 32 Mb swap 1GB and / the rest..

Huge memory or not have a swap partition even if you dont use it.


U2 will run coooool if the fans are working so make sure they all start at power up ;)


Umm thats it off the top of my head...


Ok..I'll try to give the stage3 thing a shot.

I just tried again with the latest and greatest livecd. When trying to unzip the latest portage on a stage1 install, it locks up again.

It seems the problems occurs constantly on the install of the portage part. Trying to unzip a ton of files...seems to lock it up.

Will try stage 3...but, afraid that will all blow too?

Strange...unzipping the stage x part works...but, installing portage (old with with emerge) or the new way of downloading it...seems to be what locks it up..

:[(
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum