Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ooh! A new prompt!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
meekj
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 10:00 pm    Post subject: ooh! A new prompt! Reply with quote

Hello, I am in the middle of installing Gentoo Linux for the second time. The last time I tried it everything went fine (1.0rc16). This time during code listing 17 in the install instructions I don't get a "new" prompt when I type "source /etc/profile". Could this become a problem later down the road? I'm installing 1.1a.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a bug somewhere along the line and you $SHELL get incorrectly set to /bin/sh; therefore , you fail to get the correct prompt. Try:
Code:
export SHELL=/bin/bash
then run source /etc/profile. I doubt it would cause you a problem down the road though.
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look here.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't get it either but everything is just working fine
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lk42pro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 114
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 2:44 am    Post subject: Re: ooh! A new prompt! Reply with quote

meekj wrote:
Hello, I am in the middle of installing Gentoo Linux for the second time. The last time I tried it everything went fine (1.0rc16). This time during code listing 17 in the install instructions I don't get a "new" prompt when I type "source /etc/profile". Could this become a problem later down the road? I'm installing 1.1a.

Thanks for the help.


i had the same problem...don't worry it was fine after the installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum