Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Most powerful machine you've put gentoo on?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aurora
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 658
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some of these machines are truly just insane...

I wish I could afford a super nice box like that.
_________________
"My downfall raises me to infinite heights." -Napoleon Bonaparte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superjaded
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 726

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed gentoo on an Athlon XP 2000+ with 256megs of ram a few days ago, so I guess that's the most powerful comp I've installed gentoo on.

And for my next comp purchase (assuming my tax refund is decent), I'm REALLY contemplating getting my hands on a new AMD64 system..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akvalentine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fastest at home is my new system that is building right now:
AMD64 3200+
1GB Corsair
2x160GB Seagate SATA

Fastest at work is:
2xXeon 2.6GB
1GB Ram
6x76GB RAID5

I keep trying to convince the boss to let me install it on our IBM RS/6000. . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jallen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

akvalentine wrote:
Fastest at home is my new system that is building right now:
AMD64 3200+
1GB Corsair
2x160GB Seagate SATA


Thats almost exactly what I have... AMD 64 3200+, Corsair 1 gb XMS, and 2x160 GB hitachi SATA RAID0 & 1 80 GB Deskstar as the OS

Sweet isn't it?

I'm still trying to get my stupid Radeon 9800 Pro to work in something OTHER than VESA.... I wish I knew what I know now about nVidia vs ATI & Linux when I ordered this system....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dire Penguin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My computer:

Celeron 400

And I don't want to hear it's not fast or powerful, because it is, damnit. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nsahoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P4 2.8, 1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM, 200 GB HDD, 128 MB ATI RADEON PRO, SB AUDIGY ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrBlc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:31 pm    Post subject: my setup Reply with quote

Well.. not much to brag about really... it's only a hobby, so my specs are:

first machine:

dual p3-866@900/1GB ram/SCSI setup

second:

dual AMD MP 2800+/2GB ram/more than 700 GB total storage so far, aiming to reach more than 1 TB

First one is the current operating firewall/web server/ftp server/ssh server/mail server/mysql server

the idea was to switch it for the second one, which will also be running VMWare sessions for labtesting of software + VM'ed services related to internet..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ratbert90
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athlon xp 2800+

2 gigs of Crucial (how come nobody uses crucial anymore? :( ) pc2700 ddr ram

Nvidia gf4-ti4600

sb live

linksys networking card using the Tulip driver

Liteon dvd+r/+rw 8x dvd burner/40x cd writer/52x cd reader
_________________
Ph33R mY l337 H|_|R|) 0F G|\||_|Z!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frameRATE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 385
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pentium M 1.7 Ghz Centrino
1024 Megs DDR Ram
Intel pro 2100 Wireless
60 gig hardrive
2x DVD-RW

(yeah it's a laptop, but a damn good one!)
_________________

Linux User | 364705

howto install coldfusion mx 7 under gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
F16PilotJumper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 91
Location: Mars

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athlon XP 2500+
512MB
120GB HD
GF4 Ti4200

I'm ordering another 512MB of RAM soon; waiting for HL2 to be out before I buy a new generation video card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_dook_master_
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 295
Location: Isla Vista, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dual Xeon 3.2 Rackmount (1u) with 2 gigs of RAM. GameServer :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jallen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ratbert90 wrote:
Athlon xp 2800+

2 gigs of Crucial (how come nobody uses crucial anymore? :( ) pc2700 ddr ram



I do.. Crucial's still awesome... alas just not as sexy as Corsair with its heat speaders. Last I looked, Crucial were all still plain looking (alas high quality!)..

Some people like looks too :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jallen wrote:
ratbert90 wrote:
Athlon xp 2800+

2 gigs of Crucial (how come nobody uses crucial anymore? :( ) pc2700 ddr ram



I do.. Crucial's still awesome... alas just not as sexy as Corsair with its heat speaders. Last I looked, Crucial were all still plain looking (alas high quality!)..

Some people like looks too :)


You got to be kidding me?

You buy ram based on how the sticks look?????

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jallen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebrostig wrote:
Athlon xp 2800+


You got to be kidding me?

You buy ram based on how the sticks look?????

Erik


No, not just.... I still buy Crucial.

This one where I consider looks being important (too... performance is more important ;) ) is my own personal hot rod with case window and all that ;)

For servers and stuff for clients I support, I've been loyal to crucial :)

(edit: edited misquote)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jallen wrote:
ebrostig wrote:
Athlon xp 2800+


You got to be kidding me?

You buy ram based on how the sticks look?????

Erik


No, not just.... I still buy Crucial.

This one where I consider looks being important (too... performance is more important ;) ) is my own personal hot rod with case window and all that ;)

For servers and stuff for clients I support, I've been loyal to crucial :)

(edit: edited misquote)


ROFLMAO

It's the first time I have ever heard people bying RAM for their looks :-D

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installing on an 8-way Sun E4k right now... I'm gonna take it up to 12 way when I can afford more CPU boards. The box will take 16, except I want to keep a couple of boards for I/O...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallchin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Come on guys (& gals) let's not post your joe average boxes here ;)

Your Athlon XP / Pentium 4 isn't going to cut the mustard amongst the uber1337 Athlon 64 / Xeon / Sparc's ... I was really hoping for some hot rod action, instead I have the odd Celery and a couple of Athlons nipping at my toes.

llew wrote:
avenj wrote:
Does my Athlon64 3200 with a gig of DDR400 count? It bootstraps in 45 minutes 8)


I've got me that baby, as well.


I've got one of these babies and pitted it against a Dual Intel Xeon 2.40Ghz running Gentoo.

Dual Xeon - compile bash 1m 29s
Athlon 64 - compile bash 59s

Shagadelic :twisted:
_________________
6700 @ 2.66GHz, 4Gb RAM, 2 x 500Gb, 8800 GTX, PhysX, X-Fi, 24" Widescreen, Tux mascot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reaper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Slovakia,EU

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my current home machine :

Athlon XP 1700@2400+
VIA KT 400
512 MB RAM
IBM 60 GB
GF4 Ti 4200
_________________
Athlon 1700@2400+ , Gentoo Inside
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallchin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh go on then...

Athlon 64 3200+
MSI K8T Neo FISR2
2 x KVR400X72C3A/512 (1Gb RAM)
2 x ST3160023A (320Gb HDD)
nVidia Ti 4800

100% Zalman cooling, Lian-Li case & blue LED's for floppy/DVD :P

mmph wish I had nexgen nVidia card, an 9800XT eater...
_________________
6700 @ 2.66GHz, 4Gb RAM, 2 x 500Gb, 8800 GTX, PhysX, X-Fi, 24" Widescreen, Tux mascot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhysem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2002
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dual Opteron 248
8 Gigs of memory
0.5 Tb of disk on 6 spindles (some raid-1 some raid-0)

Not my machine, alas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chino_
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 184
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just run it on a 1.8 GHz Laptop (IBM Thinkpad T30)

1GB Ram
60GB HDD

Well, at least I got wlan and bluetooth integrated... *duck*
_________________
always the same old taste, just new injury
well i'll wear the claws if you'd like that
yeah if you'd like that we can ride on a black horse
a great new wave hesperian death horse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coax
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 231
Location: Antwerp - Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My pc/server
[edit: url was removed]
The scsi disk was expensive but definitely worth it.
_________________
- There is no such thing as having too many computers -


Last edited by coax on Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barrct
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Naples, FL

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sun E4500 8XUltraSparcII 4Mcache
5G ram
7drives (Sun RSM7-slot) (/=raid0(2 drives), swap(1 drive), /var=raid5(4drives)
comming soon
14drive fiber external raid array for data storage and then move around the data on the 7 drives in that array.

and of course the backup for the system is an APC SU2200RMXLNET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djk29a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did help get Redhat going on an experimental supercomputer running some hyperthreaded Xeons... about 8 or so logical processors total, total of 6GB of RAM. Those aren't the "super" parts though :) Couldn't run Gentoo because there were some specific things from the vendor that kinda forced us to use Redhat.

My PC is a Barton at 2.2 GHz w/ a GB of PC3200. Good enough for now. In a couple years I'll be dropping some cash for a quad-processor... something, maybe a G6 or the next-gen AMD64s, who knows?

I'd like to know if Cray is ever thinking about Linux support. They could simply implement all the POSIX calls and get a clib going, but then again, POSIX doesn't cut it for a Cray at all. Oh well, so much for hoping for Linux there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElSame
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:31 am    Post subject: My Gentoo System... Reply with quote

Computer Name : Zaurus SL-C700
Processor : Intel XScale PXA250 400Mhz
Memory : 32MB RAM
Storage : 512MB Compact Flash

;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 3 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum