Building a Fast Network Storage Box
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
squareHat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:06 am    Post subject: Building a Fast Network Storage Box Reply with quote

Been using gentoo, for a while.

I would like to boot and run all my Gentoo boxes of a fast, reliable and cheap network storage device. Needless to say the this new box must run gentoo.

I have little experience with NFS

To start with I wan't to get a together some suitable hardware.

I have a spare 400Mhz Pentium II, I have plenty of 100meg ethernet cards, I want to use cheap IDE disks,

I wish to setup raid for reliability.

Ideally I want to get similar speeds to local IDE disk 20mbits per sec. (Am I dreaming:-)

I am thinking I should use AFS.

Is this basic hardware up to the job? do I need gigabit ethernet?

Feel feel free to comment with any suggestions.

Thanks
steveb
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the requirement:
Quote:
Ideally I want to get similar speeds to local IDE disk 20mbits per sec. (Am I dreaming:-)
is probalby an typo.

you want probably to have 20mb/s transfer. and this is "dreaming" with 100mbit nic's.

because 100MBit/s = 102400KBit/s = 104857600Bit/s
and to help you do the math:
104857600 Bits / 8 Bits = 13107200 Bytes
13107200 Bytes / 1024 Bytes = 12800 Kilobytes
12800 Kilobytes / 1024 Kilobytes = 12.5 Megabytes

okay... 12.5 MB/s is the THEORETICAL transfer for 100MBit/s

if you want to use this for planing or for calculation, then don't expect more then 80% of usage of this THEORETICAL speed. in reality you could get some time more then 12.5MB/s (depends if your nic (on both ends) can realtime compress the date (i have seen such nic's, but i doubth you have them).