Tri-booting... eek
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ee99ee2
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 2:09 pm    Post subject: Tri-booting... eek Reply with quote

I've been using Gentoo for about 4 months. Before that I used RedHat for a month. Well anyway, I got frustrated at how some of my software wouldn't run under Linux. Specificly my homeschool software and my sound editing software. And since I need both of those badly, I've got to keep Windows on here.

Well anyway, I'm in Windows now, and I absolutly can't stand it. Yesterday, I got 5 BSOD (blue screen of DEATH!). I've had explorer.exe crash numerous times. Also, XP (and 2k sometimes) doesn't let me change some of my hardware settings.

So what I'm wanting to do is tri-boot Gentoo, XP (maybe 2000.. depends how bad XP pisses me off today), and FreeBSD. Now I'm still researching FreeBSD and if it doesn't support some of my hardware, then I'll just dual boot. But anyway, how would I go about doing this? One catch: I want LILO to be my boot manager? Why, b/c I think it's alot prettier then the Windows boot loader. Yes, I know I can use Windows to load Linux and it would be alot happier about doing it that way (windows that is), but I don't want to. Oh, and why not Grub? Because I could never get Grub to boot off /dev/hde.

So for those of you out there that have done dual- and tri-boot machines, what are your experiences with them, and how hard is it to do?

Here's my system so u all can tell me if I'm gonna have any problems with FreeBSD:

AMD Athlon 1.33 GHz
256MB (soon to be 768MB next week) of RAM
2- 60GB IDE Hard Drives
GeForce 4 Ti4600
SoundBlaster Live! with Digital I/O card
40x12x40 CD-RW and a 24X CD-ROM

-ee99ee2
brain
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 2:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Tri-booting... eek Reply with quote

ee99ee2 wrote: