Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMD64 - The masked applications that work .. wip
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mb4guns
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xcdroast, I made some detailed reports on bugzilla since the packages maintainer already pickedup the problem on amd64. He might be able to help out.

Got gftp 2.0.16 running parlty on amd64 now.
_________________
sys0: Athlon64, Corsair TWINX DDR400 (1024mb), GeForce FX5600 256mb, 2x SATA MAxtor 120gig, Plextor 708a, Zalman cooling, Zalman powered, gnomed
sys1: Dell inspiron 4100 PentiumIII-mobile@1000 512mb ATI Radeon mobility m6 30gig, gnomed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good to hear, just ordered my amd64 system
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
windex82
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nasm-0.98.38.ebuild (builds; dont know what it does or if it works, the following version of zsnes uses it)


zsnes-1.37_pre20041220.ebuild (fails)


Code:

>>> md5 src_uri ;-) ZSNESS_1220.tar.bz2
 * Adding user 'games-ded' to your system ...
 *  - Userid: 36
 *  - Shell: /bin/bash
 *  - Home: /usr/games
 *  - Groups: games
useradd: unknown gid 100
 *  - Creating /usr/games in /var/tmp/portage/zsnes-1.37_pre20041220/image/
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking ZSNESS_1220.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/zsnes-1.37_pre20041220/work
>>> Source unpacked.
configure: WARNING: If you wanted to set the --build type, don't use --host.
    If a cross compiler is detected then cross compile mode will be used.
checking build system type... Invalid configuration `x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu': machine `x86_64-unknown' not recognized
configure: error: /bin/sh ./config.sub x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu failed

!!! ERROR: games-emulation/zsnes-1.37_pre20041220 failed.
!!! Function egamesconf, Line 47, Exitcode 1
!!! egamesconf failed


The x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu looks odd, the only thing I knew to check, is perhaps, the chost and cflags options in make.conf, chost is the only one set to a name similar to that and it is set to x86_64-pc-linux-gnu.
Code:

insanity anthony # cat /etc/make.conf
CFLAGS="-O2"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="X kde -gtk -gnome qt alsa arts jpeg mpeg avi tiff gif encode cdr dvd"
CXXFLAGS="$CFLAGS"


zsnes-1.36 (fails)
Code:

>>> md5 src_uri ;-) zsnes136src.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking zsnes136src.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/zsnes-1.36/work
>>> Source unpacked.
creating cache ./config.cache
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -pipe -I. -Wall ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -pipe -I. -Wall ) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for nasm... /usr/bin/nasm
checking for a BSD compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking host system type... Invalid configuration `x86_64-pc-linux-gnu': machine `x86_64-pc' not recognized

checking target system type... Invalid configuration `x86_64-pc-linux-gnu': machine `x86_64-pc' not recognized

checking build system type... Invalid configuration `x86_64-pc-linux-gnu': machine `x86_64-pc' not recognized

configure: error: This Target is Not Supported

!!! ERROR: games-emulation/zsnes-1.36 failed.
!!! Function egamesconf, Line 47, Exitcode 1
!!! egamesconf failed


The problems with zsnes seem like ebuild problems to me, but i dont know that much =P

I've also submited the quanta compile bug. Has anyone else tried it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like it's not recognising the architecture, maybe it cannot compile on amd64. Try checking the web site to see if there is a version that compiles on x86-64 or compile the source in 32bit mode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mb4guns wrote:
xcdroast, I made some detailed reports on bugzilla since the packages maintainer already pickedup the problem on amd64. He might be able to help out.

Got gftp 2.0.16 running parlty on amd64 now.


I'll check out those bug reports .. thx

Did you get 2.0.16 runnung now? I'll check bugzilla to see if there is an update to these apps :)
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ursusarctos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the trouble with ZSNES comes from large parts of the program being written in x86 assembler....which won't play nicely when compiled into a 64 bit program.

Either try to compile it as 32 bit, or learn to love SNES9X, which is (I think) written in C, or some form thereof.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siu00mjt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you change the compile format to 32 bit
_________________
Amd Atholon 64 3000+
gigabyte v8t800 pro
1 * 512 crucial ddr333
1 * 1024 crucial ddr333
Gforce 7600 256mb
2 * maxtor max9 160Gb ata133 drives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

siu00mjt wrote:
how do you change the compile format to 32 bit


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122698&start=25&sid=c9a3b7e24b8ba6e0681afa16b3709ca3

check my topic top of the page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vcdimage compiles and works, and even kde 3.2 rc1 works even if i had problems compiling kopete so i just decided not to and all worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaNcom
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Erfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stuff that works OOTB:
Openobex 1.0.1
taglib 1.0_beta2
cryptplug 0.3.15

Stuff that should work, but won't:
Mandrake, SUSE, etc offer RPMS for AMD64
bluez-libs
bluez-sdp

EDIT: I also had Problems compiling KDE 3.2rc1 (kdenetwork). Removing yahoo from kopete/protocols/Makefile.am(/.in) makes it compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaNcom wrote:
Stuff that works OOTB:
Openobex 1.0.1
taglib 1.0_beta2
cryptplug 0.3.15

Stuff that should work, but won't:
Mandrake, SUSE, etc offer RPMS for AMD64
bluez-libs
bluez-sdp

EDIT: I also had Problems compiling KDE 3.2rc1 (kdenetwork). Removing yahoo from kopete/protocols/Makefile.am(/.in) makes it compile.


When you say they work OOTB do you mean they are not masked? ie they have been noted to work already ..

scooby
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaNcom
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Erfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Title: "AMD64 - The masked applications that work .. wip"

Just like in the title... yes, they are masked, but will compile and run without any quirks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like this 64bit_gsize patch may fix the xcdroast problem!?

http://www.xcdroast.org/xcdr098/patches/
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaNcom wrote:
Title: "AMD64 - The masked applications that work .. wip"

Just like in the title... yes, they are masked, but will compile and run without any quirks.


OK thx.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaNcom
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Erfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:
bluez-sdp works if you install the Mandrake bluez-libs rpm. Now kde-bluetooth works fine, too. Bletooth was my last piece of hardware that wouldn't work on 64bit...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ballyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scoobydu wrote:
Looks like this 64bit_gsize patch may fix the xcdroast problem!?

http://www.xcdroast.org/xcdr098/patches/


This patch did allow xcdroast to run on my system... now I gotta set up scsi emulation.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any news on ATI 64-bit drivers? I am a bit fedup of having a monster ws running in vesa mode, I didn't buy a 9800 Pro for this. I wish I hadn't sold my Ti 4600 ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@LaNcom

Wierd, so it works with the madrake rpm, but not from an ebuild? (source rpm or binary?)

@ballyn

Great news that the patch works!! :)

@muthax

Now that's a £1,000,000 question! I agree you shouldn't have sold your nvidia card :wink: Looking at google, their doesn't appear to be much information. Perhaps email ATI and ask?
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaNcom
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Erfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The binary RPM works, didn't try the SRPM.
The configure script seems to have some problem querying the host/ system type.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scoobydu wrote:
@LaNcom

Wierd, so it works with the madrake rpm, but not from an ebuild? (source rpm or binary?)

@ballyn

Great news that the patch works!! :)

@muthax

Now that's a £1,000,000 question! I agree you shouldn't have sold your nvidia card :wink: Looking at google, their doesn't appear to be much information. Perhaps email ATI and ask?


Yeah will do but I seen from the web there is a lot of ppl that already did that :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xcdroast working :)


download 64bit_gsize patch from http://www.xcdroast.org/xcdr098/patches/64bit_gsize.patch and place the file into

/usr/portage/app-cdr/xcdroast/files.

edit the patch file and change;
Quote:

--- xtools.c.org 2003-11-06 11:19:10.000000000 +0100
+++ xtools.c2 2004-01-04 14:48:09.000000000 +0100

to

--- xtools.c.org 2003-11-06 11:19:10.000000000 +0100
+++ xtools.c 2004-01-04 14:48:09.000000000 +0100


then edit the ebuild for xcdroast alpha 15 r3 and edit the following line;
Quote:

use gtk2 && epatch ${FILESDIR}/gtk2locale.patch

change to;

use gtk2 && epatch ${FILESDIR}/gtk2locale.patch && epatch ${FILESDIR}/64bit_gsize.patch


Then emerge /usr/portage/app-cdr/xcdroast/xcdroast-0.98_alpha15-r3.ebuild

ps ideally instead of use gtk2, it should be if the amd64 is set then patch the 64bit patch, but I'm not sure how to do that! This works for me anyway :wink:
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweigert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 369
Location: Somerset, NJ USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't bother with scsi-emulation for cd-burning (or dvd) . The cdrecord package uses atapi correctly now.

Dan
_________________
"Always remember to mount a scratch monkey..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mb4guns
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Made a quick extract & merge package with the xcdroast patch scoobydu found.

Download: http://codefighters.org/gentoo/xcdroast-0.98_alpha15-r3-amd64.tar.bz2
Code:

cd /usr/portage
tar xjvf /path/to/xcdroast-0.98_alpha15-r3-amd64.tar.bz2
emerge /usr/portage/app-cdr/xcdroast/xcdroast-0.98_alpha15-r3.ebuild


Now burn on....
_________________
sys0: Athlon64, Corsair TWINX DDR400 (1024mb), GeForce FX5600 256mb, 2x SATA MAxtor 120gig, Plextor 708a, Zalman cooling, Zalman powered, gnomed
sys1: Dell inspiron 4100 PentiumIII-mobile@1000 512mb ATI Radeon mobility m6 30gig, gnomed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So now all we need to do is get cdrecord.prodvd working! :wink:

No response to my email as yet ...
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alsa 1.01 available and goes in the kernel fine.

alsa-libs & alsa-utils 1.0.1 compile fine too :)

New nvidia drivers are out too :wink:
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 2 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum