Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.1-love1 - "May not destroy your computer"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
The people gettin g hard-lock-ups:

Are you using nforce2 mobos? I noticed the current kernel doesn't contain the nforce2-apic work-around, ie doesn't disable cpu disconnect. YOu can check via this (if your lock doesn't happen too soon):

emerge athcool
athcool stat

It should report that that bit is NOT set. You can unset that bit with this tool. I wonder why Andrew took that patch out.


is the including nforce1 too?

i _ALWAYS_ get some acpi errors, thus it works, atleast i can shutdown my computer :D
but i would like them fixed, as it doesent look cool to get the errors :)
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slimsam1 wrote:
Includes bootsplash?

Like... already working?

It includes the bootsplash kernel patch, if that's what you mean. You still have to setup the config files and images from the bootsplash ebuild.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has the nforce1 a APIC (=advanced programmable interrupt controller)?

APIC vs PIC:

24 (in case of nforce2 AFAIK) vs 15 interrups, thus pci devices share iirqs less often (or in lucky cases all have their own) thus having lower latencies.

Code:

bash-2.05b$ cat /proc/interrupts
           CPU0
  0:    1108688          XT-PIC  timer
  1:       2825    IO-APIC-edge  i8042
  2:          0          XT-PIC  cascade
  8:          3    IO-APIC-edge  rtc
  9:          0   IO-APIC-level  acpi
 12:      61909    IO-APIC-edge  i8042
 14:         21    IO-APIC-edge  ide0
 15:         27    IO-APIC-edge  ide1
 18:      16157   IO-APIC-level  ide2
 19:      84767   IO-APIC-level  nvidia
 20:       4569   IO-APIC-level  ohci_hcd, eth0
 21:       2691   IO-APIC-level  NVidia nForce2
 22:          0   IO-APIC-level  ohci_hcd
NMI:          0
LOC:    1108504
ERR:          0
MIS:          0


Last edited by PrakashP on Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root@redeeman: /usr/src$ cat /proc/interrupts
           CPU0
  0:    9568943          XT-PIC  timer
  1:       8062          XT-PIC  i8042
  2:          0          XT-PIC  cascade
  5:     378517          XT-PIC  CMI8738-MC6, eth0
  8:          2          XT-PIC  rtc
  9:          0          XT-PIC  acpi
 10:          0          XT-PIC  ohci_hcd, ohci_hcd
 11:     720229          XT-PIC  nvidia
 12:     150451          XT-PIC  i8042
 14:      40818          XT-PIC  ide0
 15:       2267          XT-PIC  ide1
NMI:          0
ERR:          0


and i have a nforce1 chipset
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm uploading the new patch now. It'll take ~5 minutes (56k :() so don't try and download it at the moment or it'll be incomplete.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Redeeman

Have you enabled APIC in kernel? If yes, you don't have an APIC, so you are not affected of this bug anmd try to cool your athlon by seting the disconnect bit with athcool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the new patch is up.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pakman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IGP working patch with 340M.

Using this patch (apply inside /usr/src/linux/drivers/char/drm after applying love patch):
http://unixhead.org/docs/thinkpad/patches/pakman-working-2.6.1-love1-igp.diff [updated url]

This may well break radeon IGP working in the 345M or other models so needs to be tested. Works well here though, I now have hardly any texture issues and good fps. I wouldn't advise putting this in the -love series until its tested with some different model IGPs as the vanilla radeon.ko may work for those.


Last edited by pakman on Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:38 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So PrakashKC, will it fix my problem with insmod? Or is it something other?
I mean, the pwcx modul is for 2.6.0 , but i used the 2.5.xx modul with 2.6.0 and it worked.. so.. the new should work with 2.6.1, shouldn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is no specific insmod problem, so I guess you are experiencing some other bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read that the new patch is up.. re-emerged it... And i will compile it now. Hope i won't habe these /sbin/depscan.sh errors anymore :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New kernel is running. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But.. isn't this rc2 now? Or why does it have the same name as the "old" version without these patches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't think it was worth making a new release for. It just removes a patch and adds another two minor ones, so it's not much different from what it was.

Edit: is anyone else getting messages like these on bootup?:
Code:
bootsplash 3.1.3-2003/11/14: looking for picture....Badness in vc_allocate at drivers/char/vt.c:680
Call Trace:
 [<c02bf4c3>] vc_allocate+0x1a3/0x1b0
 [<c0336840>] splash_getraw+0x8c0/0x8d0
 [<c0162f78>] link_path_walk+0x608/0x900
 [<c016240f>] permission+0x2f/0x50
 [<c01558c8>] get_empty_filp+0x68/0xe0
 [<c03373d0>] splash_write_proc+0x430/0x450
 [<c01846f0>] proc_file_write+0x0/0x50
 [<c0184727>] proc_file_write+0x37/0x50
 [<c0154c08>] vfs_write+0xb8/0x130
 [<c0154d32>] sys_write+0x42/0x70
 [<c0419f46>] sysenter_past_esp+0x43/0x65

_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, perhaps you should compile in frame-pointers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
Nope, perhaps you should compile in frame-pointers.

Will do.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, i get, but not in the init part.. I searched for the depscan error ( still no fix ) in my logs and saw a long list of bootsplash things.. Mhh.. The rc1-love1 worked better for me, because i got no errors, my webcam works and x works.. Now i got errors ( alsactl, depscan.sh, ALSA ( compiled in kernel bla, but everything is compiled als module ), but it works damn fast.

I don't get why the module don't work.. man, that really makes me sad :( i mean, it is for 2.6.0, but it should work fine with 2.6.1, like the module for 2.5.xx did with 2.6.0 :/

Wedge, please inform me if it works with framepointer, and where to find that option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
@Redeeman

Have you enabled APIC in kernel? If yes, you don't have an APIC, so you are not affected of this bug anmd try to cool your athlon by seting the disconnect bit with athcool.


i have apic! i have it enabled in my bios, and i dont belive it is possible to enable/disable if it isnt working
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, then you have not compiled it into the kernel or the kernel doesn't know about it, as your interrupt table just shows PIC usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone help me with this error?

It appears at the end of dmesg
Code:
eth0: link up, 10Mbps, half-duplex, lpa 0x0000
svc: unknown version (3)
Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at mm/slab.c:1868
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
Call Trace:
 [<c011e2fb>] __might_sleep+0xab/0xd0
 [<c0141515>] kmem_cache_alloc+0x65/0x70
 [<c01500e1>] __get_vm_area+0x21/0xf0
 [<c01501e3>] get_vm_area+0x33/0x40
 [<c011b443>] __ioremap+0xb3/0x100
 [<c011b4b9>] ioremap_nocache+0x29/0xb0
 [<e1cf3def>] os_map_kernel_space+0x68/0x6c [nvidia]
 [<e1d063e7>] __nvsym00568+0x1f/0x2c [nvidia]
 [<e1d08506>] __nvsym00775+0x6e/0xe0 [nvidia]
 [<e1d08596>] __nvsym00781+0x1e/0x190 [nvidia]
 [<e1d0a01c>] rm_init_adapter+0xc/0x10 [nvidia]
 [<e1cf0ed7>] nv_kern_open+0xf3/0x228 [nvidia]
 [<c015eba0>] exact_match+0x0/0x10
 [<c015e9c4>] chrdev_open+0xb4/0x1c0
 [<c01bd9f2>] devfs_open+0xe2/0xf0
 [<c01bd910>] devfs_open+0x0/0xf0
 [<c0154b67>] dentry_open+0x107/0x170
 [<c0154a5b>] filp_open+0x5b/0x60
 [<c0154e43>] sys_open+0x53/0x90
 [<c0424d6a>] sysenter_past_esp+0x43/0x65

Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at mm/slab.c:1868
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
Call Trace:
 [<c011e2fb>] __might_sleep+0xab/0xd0
 [<c0141515>] kmem_cache_alloc+0x65/0x70
 [<c01500e1>] __get_vm_area+0x21/0xf0
 [<c01501e3>] get_vm_area+0x33/0x40
 [<c011b443>] __ioremap+0xb3/0x100
 [<c011b4b9>] ioremap_nocache+0x29/0xb0
 [<e1cf3def>] os_map_kernel_space+0x68/0x6c [nvidia]
 [<e1d063e7>] __nvsym00568+0x1f/0x2c [nvidia]
 [<e1d08506>] __nvsym00775+0x6e/0xe0 [nvidia]
 [<e1d08596>] __nvsym00781+0x1e/0x190 [nvidia]
 [<c016c224>] dput+0x24/0x270
 [<e1d0a01c>] rm_init_adapter+0xc/0x10 [nvidia]
 [<e1cf0ed7>] nv_kern_open+0xf3/0x228 [nvidia]
 [<c015e9c4>] chrdev_open+0xb4/0x1c0
 [<c01bd9f2>] devfs_open+0xe2/0xf0
 [<c01bd910>] devfs_open+0x0/0xf0
 [<c0154b67>] dentry_open+0x107/0x170
 [<c0154a5b>] filp_open+0x5b/0x60
 [<c0154e43>] sys_open+0x53/0x90
 [<c0424d6a>] sysenter_past_esp+0x43/0x65

atkbd.c: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0x7a on isa0060/serio0).
atkbd.c: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0x7a on isa0060/serio0).


Unsure what it refers to, I thought maybe the power control but removed the sleep function ,etc and still this message.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrNugget wrote:
Wedge, please inform me if it works with framepointer, and where to find that option.

You should find it in the kernel hacking section of the config, the last option in the list. It's a debugging option, it won't fix anything. There are a few patches to the code in drivers/char/vt.c in 2.6.1-mm1 that are displaying these warnings. I don't know if it just doesn't get along with bootsplash or if there's something else wrong.

Edit: Maybe I should have read the text in the patches :roll:
Code:
The VT code is currently, it seems, full of races, it basically doesn't
do any locking... This patch is definitely not fixing everything, but at
least fixes some of the most obvious ones by putting things under the
umbrella of the console semaphore. For debugging purposes, I added an
is_console_locked() call to kernel/printk.c along with a bunch of WARN_ON
in low level VT functions that I think should be protected.

I suppose we should merge this at least into -mm. Getting the semaphore
around vc_resize, at least, seems necessary to avoid nasty problems with
fbdev's especally when those try to output some debug printk's in the
mode setting code.

So it seems the warnings are just for debugging at the moment, and presumably will be removed at some point. It should be OK to ignore them, I think :) If you'd like to get rid of them I suppose you could just comment out the various WARN_ON lines in drivers/char/vt.c (the line numbers are displayed in the error messages).
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ


Last edited by Wedge_ on Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for posting in this thread the xx time but i've got the same errors as the one above me ( edit: not wedge ):

look

I'm starting to believe that something is wrong with this kernel... insmod broken, many errors while booting , etc. Probably it is the mm1 base, because i have heard/read that there are many unfixed things which don't work.. But hey,
i am the newbie in kernel things ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always thought that the might_sleep messages could be ignored, and were completely harmless. I'm having a look through some LKML posts just now to try and find out for sure.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mtv not bullets
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problems, but I am just using straight 2.6.1.

http://www.snacksized.com/log10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So is everyone who is getting them using an nvidia card? It seems to be mentioning the nvidia module in most of the messages. I have an ATI card and I'm not seeing them.

mtv not bullets wrote:
I have the same problems, but I am just using straight 2.6.1.

So it isn't even something in -mm... There were some AGP fixes in 2.6.1, maybe it's something to do with them.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum