[SOLVED] - PYTHON_TARGETS 3.12 and packages like UFW
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dg09
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2024 8:22 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] - PYTHON_TARGETS 3.12 and packages like UFW Reply with quote

EDIT: marking as solved. The solution is to wait for the rest of the packages to bring support for 3.12, and remove or keep 3.11 for those that don't

Greetings fellow Gentoomen,

As most of you are aware already, soon comes the switch of the default Python target on Gentoo, from 3.11 to 3.12. With that said, some questions have arisen, since when trying to force the upgrade manually through the safe approach indicated in the news item, I am facing some issues. My apologies if these issues are an obvious thing. I am relatively new to using Gentoo as my main system so still getting acquainted with the power of Portage. I have dwelled with it in the past, but not for long and never through a major change such as this(my biggest change was the change from Profile 17.0 to 23.0 recently, which, to my mistake, picked the older profile during the installation, but it went well!).

Anyway, everything has worked fine, up to the last step, which is meant to remove all support of Python 3.11 from the system and rebuilding the packages with the Python3_12 overrides, as indicated by the instructions on the last news item:

Code:

*/* PYTHON_TARGETS: -* python3_12
*/* PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET: -* python3_12

The problem that arises at this point is with certain packages, such as UFW and webapp-config, which, at least on my current Portage tree(updated recently, ~12 hours ago), appear to have no PYTHON_TARGETS=python3_12 USE EXPAND flag available:

Code:

gentoo ~ #  equery u net-firewall/ufw
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]