Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ffmpeg needs use flag chromium (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 960
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2024 3:33 pm    Post subject: ffmpeg needs use flag chromium (solved) Reply with quote

I wanted to do an update today and as usual get a lot of trouble. I thought to tackle the easiest one first but it doesn't look that easy.

Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-client/vivaldi-6.7.3329.17::gentoo[proprietary-codecs,-ffmpeg-chromium]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=media-video/ffmpeg-6.1.1-r5 chromium


So I added a file /etc/portage/package.use/ffmpeg with the following in it:
Code:
>=media-video/ffmpeg-6.1.1-r5 chromium


And then ran:
Code:
emerge --pretend --newuse ffmpeg

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies /

!!! Problem resolving dependencies for media-video/ffmpeg
... done!
Dependency resolution took 2.45 s (backtrack: 0/20).


!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy "ffmpeg" has unmet requirements.
- media-video/ffmpeg-6.1.1-r5::gentoo USE="X alsa bzip2 chromium dav1d encode gnutls gpl iconv jack ladspa lcms mp3 network opengl pic postproc samba sdl svg threads truetype vorbis vulkan webp x264 xvid zlib (-amf) -amr -amrenc (-appkit) -bluray -bs2b -cdio -chromaprint -codec2 -cpudetection (-cuda) -debug -doc -fdk -flite -fontconfig -frei0r -fribidi -gcrypt -glslang -gme -gmp -gsm -hardcoded-tables -iec61883 -ieee1394 -jpeg2k -jpegxl -kvazaar -libaom -libaribb24 -libass -libcaca -libdrm -libilbc -libplacebo -librtmp -libsoxr -libtesseract -libv4l -libxml2 -lv2 -lzma (-mipsdspr1) (-mipsdspr2) (-mipsfpu) -modplug -nvenc -openal -opencl -openh264 -openssl -opus -oss -pulseaudio (-qsv) -rav1e -rubberband -shaderc -snappy -sndio -soc -speex -srt -ssh -static-libs -svt-av1 -test -theora -twolame -v4l -vaapi -vdpau -verify-sig -vidstab (-vmaf) -vpx -x265 -zeromq -zimg -zvbi" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 -3dnow -3dnowext -fma4 -xop" FFTOOLS="aviocat cws2fws ffescape ffeval ffhash fourcc2pixfmt graph2dot ismindex pktdumper qt-faststart sidxindex trasher"

  The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
    chromium? ( opus )

  The above constraints are a subset of the following complete expression:
    chromium? ( opus ) cuda? ( nvenc ) fftools_cws2fws? ( zlib ) glslang? ( vulkan !shaderc ) libv4l? ( v4l ) shaderc? ( vulkan !glslang ) soc? ( libdrm ) test? ( encode ) postproc? ( gpl ) frei0r? ( gpl ) cdio? ( gpl ) rubberband? ( gpl ) vidstab? ( gpl ) samba? ( gpl ) encode? ( x264? ( gpl ) x265? ( gpl ) xvid? ( gpl ) ) arm64? ( cpu_flags_arm_v8 ) cpu_flags_arm_v8? ( cpu_flags_arm_vfpv3 cpu_flags_arm_neon ) cpu_flags_arm_neon? ( cpu_flags_arm_vfp arm? ( cpu_flags_arm_thumb2 ) ) cpu_flags_arm_vfpv3? ( cpu_flags_arm_vfp ) cpu_flags_arm_thumb2? ( cpu_flags_arm_v6 ) cpu_flags_arm_v6? ( arm? ( cpu_flags_arm_thumb ) ) cpu_flags_ppc_vsx? ( cpu_flags_ppc_altivec ) cpu_flags_ppc_vsx2? ( cpu_flags_ppc_vsx ) cpu_flags_x86_avx2? ( cpu_flags_x86_avx ) cpu_flags_x86_fma4? ( cpu_flags_x86_avx ) cpu_flags_x86_fma3? ( cpu_flags_x86_avx ) cpu_flags_x86_xop? ( cpu_flags_x86_avx ) cpu_flags_x86_avx? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse4_2 ) cpu_flags_x86_aes? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse4_2 ) cpu_flags_x86_sse4_2? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse4_1 ) cpu_flags_x86_sse4_1? ( cpu_flags_x86_ssse3 ) cpu_flags_x86_ssse3? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse3 ) cpu_flags_x86_sse3? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse2 ) cpu_flags_x86_sse2? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse ) cpu_flags_x86_sse? ( cpu_flags_x86_mmxext ) cpu_flags_x86_mmxext? ( cpu_flags_x86_mmx ) cpu_flags_x86_3dnowext? ( cpu_flags_x86_3dnow ) cpu_flags_x86_3dnow? ( cpu_flags_x86_mmx )


Same result if I use --changed-use instaed of --newuse. So what is going on? Portage tells me that ffmpeg is missing use flag "chromium" and I should add it but when I do I get just the same error.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions


Last edited by Spanik on Fri May 10, 2024 8:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21757

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2024 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the output, Portage is telling you that if you enable USE=chromium, then you also need to enable USE=opus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 960
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2024 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I didn't understood it that way. OTOH I can not remember ever to have disabled opus as I have not the faintest clue what it is... I'll try that tomorrow and let you know. A bit too late now ;) Thanks!
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 960
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

short update: that was indeed the issue, I added opus to the /etc/portage/package.use/ffmpeg file and now it not only want to rebuild ffmpeg with the --newuse flag but all other issues that portage saw for the @world update are also gone.

Thanks again!
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21757

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the requirement to enable USE=opus was triggered by your use of USE=chromium, it could be that you never had USE=opus before, and never had a reason to enable it. Once you tried to enable USE=chromium, then you were finally hit with this requirement. From a quick inspection here, USE=opus is not enabled for me either. It appears not to be enabled by my profile nor managed on or off by my local flags. I've never missed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum