Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
netifrc and wpa_supplicant not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Adrien
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 2308
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:25 pm    Post subject: netifrc and wpa_supplicant not working Reply with quote

Ladies and gents,

Wireless network is not working after a new install and I can't seem to figure out what the problem is.

My system is openrc and I try to run wpa_supplicant with netifrc (which works fine on another machine):

NIC shows up properly:
Code:
# ifconfig ra0
ra0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 90:e6:ba:f0:08:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


There are some relevant dmesg outputs:
Code:
[    0.485793] Loading firmware: nvidia/gm206/acr/ucode_load.bin
[    0.492666] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: acr: firmware unavailable
[    0.492673] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: pmu: firmware unavailable
[    0.492773] Loading firmware: nvidia/gm206/gr/fecs_bl.bin
[    0.492799] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: gr: firmware unavailable
[    5.540938] Loading firmware: regulatory.db
[    5.540940] Loading firmware: regulatory.db.p7s
[    5.563383] Loading firmware: rtw88/rtw8822b_fw.bin
[    8.150738] ieee80211 phy1: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt73.bin'
[    8.150742] Loading firmware: rt73.bin
[    8.151120] ieee80211 phy1: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Firmware detected - version: 1.7


Code:
[    6.235789] usbcore: registered new interface driver rt73usb
[    6.237678] rt73usb 1-3:1.0 ra0: renamed from wlan1
[    8.150738] ieee80211 phy1: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt73.bin'
[    8.150742] Loading firmware: rt73.bin


kernel config should be ok too:
Code:
# CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3 is not set
CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES=y
# CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES_TI is not set
CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES_NI_INTEL=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_CAMELLIA_AESNI_AVX_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_CAMELLIA_AESNI_AVX2_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_SM4_AESNI_AVX_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_SM4_AESNI_AVX2_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_ARIA_AESNI_AVX_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_ARIA_AESNI_AVX2_X86_64=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_AEGIS128_AESNI_SSE2=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_LIB_AES=y

CONFIG_WLAN=y
CONFIG_WLAN_VENDOR_RALINK=y
CONFIG_WLAN_VENDOR_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_WLAN_VENDOR_ZYDAS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211=m
# CONFIG_NL80211_TESTMODE is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEVELOPER_WARNINGS is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_REQUIRE_SIGNED_REGDB=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_USE_KERNEL_REGDB_KEYS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEBUGFS is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_CRDA_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211=m
CONFIG_MAC80211_HAS_RC=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT="minstrel_ht"
# CONFIG_MAC80211_MESH is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211_LEDS=y
# CONFIG_MAC80211_DEBUGFS is not set
# CONFIG_MAC80211_MESSAGE_TRACING is not set
# CONFIG_MAC80211_DEBUG_MENU is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211_STA_HASH_MAX_SIZE=0
# CONFIG_MAC80211_HWSIM is not set
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="regulatory.db regulatory.db.p7s"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"


There's my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules_ra0="wpa_supplicant"
preferred_aps="XXXXXXXXXXX"

wpa_supplicant_ra0="-Dnl80211"
associate_timeout_ra0=5

config_ra0="dhcp"


and my wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:
update_config=1
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
passive_scan=0
#user_mpm=1
#max_peer_links=99
#mesh_max_inactivity=300
fast_reauth=1

#filter_ssids=0

network={
     disabled=0
     ssid="XXXXXXXXX"
     scan_ssid=0
          proto=WPA
          key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
          psk="XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX"
          priority=2
}


And starting net.ra0 service does not generate complaints but ends telling ra0 is inactive.
Finally I can't get an IP from dhcp. I us dhcpcd which is at runlevel default.

Does anyone see what I missed here?

Best regards, :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54331
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adrien,

WPA encryption is broken and should not be used.
By default, wpa_supplicant is built without WPA support.

If you must use WPA, and you probably must with that chipset, wpa_supplicant needs to have USE=tkip set.

Will your Access Point let you use WPA ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adrien
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 2308
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Adrien,

WPA encryption is broken and should not be used.
By default, wpa_supplicant is built without WPA support.

If you must use WPA, and you probably must with that chipset, wpa_supplicant needs to have USE=tkip set.

Will your Access Point let you use WPA ?


I thought tkip was broken and had to be removed from use flags.
Yes I do use wpa and wireless is unfortunately not an option for me.
When talking WPA, do you oppose it to wpa2?

I'll try to rebuild wpa_supplicant with tkip and restart rc-scripts for a start.

Edit: Still not working, have to check about my AP letting me use wpa, though


Last edited by Adrien on Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54331
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adrien,

WPA=tkip is broken. At least its no longer secure.

WPA2 and WPA3 are OK as far as I know.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adrien
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 2308
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Adrien,

WPA=tkip is broken. At least its no longer secure.

WPA2 and WPA3 are OK as far as I know.

Yep, ok, I see.
Do you have any knowledge of rtw8822bu chipset working with wpa2-3?
I may use this as a replacement...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54331
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adrien,

Sorry, I don't.

I rarely use wifi, then I run my own crypto on top of whatever the wifi provides.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adrien
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 2308
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Adrien,
Sorry, I don't.
I rarely use wifi, then I run my own crypto on top of whatever the wifi provides.


Thanks for help anyway :)
I'll wait a bit and see if I can get more feedbacks on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum