profile 23, remove CHOST... why?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2024 11:48 am    Post subject: profile 23, remove CHOST... why? Reply with quote

I was reading the provided document for the new profile update, and they want us to remove CHOST from make.conf... but I don't understand the rationale behind that...

I've been using gentoo for 20 years, and as much as I admire the recent push for binary packages (that I will never ever use), removing CHOST seems the most un-gentoo thing I have heard in these past 20 years.

Can someone tell us why you want us to do this? It's bad enough that someone has been breaking the toolchain in other fashions in the past couple months (without testing things beforehand), but I feel like this is only going to cause even more breakage to people's systems going forward.

Thanks

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
sam_
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2024 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How is it an "un-gentoo" thing? The point is that CHOST defines ABI, and ABI is already specified by profiles. Redefining it in make.conf just leads to user error when they copy it to another machine. If you know and care about customising your CHOST, then nothing changes, and you're free to continue doing so.

Were you aware that not all architectures and stages even shipped with CHOST in their default make.conf? It was very inconsistent.

While working on the removal, we ended up creating other profiles for configurations which were missing, which means we get proper CI for them and we can verify there's a consistent depgraph (e.g. for i586).

bunder wrote: