Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] OpenRC halting boot right after * Starting local
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:07 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] OpenRC halting boot right after * Starting local Reply with quote

Hello Elders,

I think I should explain how I reach to that point.


  1. I was away from my system for about a week. After returning I tried a system upgrade. It failed because of Blocked Package. Turned out something was pulling systemd in. 8O
  2. I never used systemd in this installation of Gentoo, or any installation of Gentoo on my machine. I ran some equery and depclean commands and figured that for some reason virtual/udev, virtual/libudev was pulling in systemd-utils, and sys-apps/dbus is directly pulling in systemd and causing the block. systemd USE flag was disabled for virtual/udev, and virtual/libudev. But enabled for sys-apps/dbus, even after I put sys-apps/dbus -systemd.
  3. There was several package outdated so I upgraded the system with --exclude sys-apps/dbus option, avoiding the Blocked package error.
  4. Did a reboot, voila, my openrc system is trying to boot with systemd :!: ; with the following error
    Code:
    '/newroot/sbin/init' was not found, is not a file or is not executable, maybe a symlink
    .
  5. I found this forum topic, and add the following in my /etc/default/grub:
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="init=/sbin/openrc-init"

  6. After booting with livecd and chrooting and generating a new grub.cfg, Gentoo boot with openrc; only to halt the booting process after * Starting local ... [ ok]. Ctrl+Alt+f2 just give me a blank screen.


At this point I'm clueless what to try. I don't even know how systemd suddenly occur in my system, this installation is about a couple months old.

TIA, elders!
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!


Last edited by zedxot on Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1663

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use openrc-init, ensure that agetty.tty1 (as a symlink to agetty service) is in the default runlevel or there will be no prompt.
openrc-init will not start any terminals unless told to via agetty.* services.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zedxot,

OpenRC is supposed to have systemd-utils.
It's bits and pieces of code from systemd that OpenRC users require the functionality of. It is not systemd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grknight wrote:
If you use openrc-init, ensure that agetty.tty1 (as a symlink to agetty service) is in the default runlevel or there will be no prompt.
openrc-init will not start any terminals unless told to via agetty.* services.


Thanks. After a whole day I was able to run startx.
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
zedxot,

OpenRC is supposed to have systemd-utils.
It's bits and pieces of code from systemd that OpenRC users require the functionality of. It is not systemd.


I see. But why would dbus pulled in systemd, the USE flag was always enabled. I didn't use systemd USE flag anywhere.
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zedxot,

Post your
Code:
emerge --info
please.

USE=systemd should only be set by a systemd profile.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
zedxot,

Post your
Code:
emerge --info
please.

USE=systemd should only be set by a systemd profile.


Code:
doas emerge --info

Output: https://dpaste.com/69R8Y3A5N
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zedxot,

There us no USE=systemd there. That's correct.

Does
Code:
$ doas emerge --info
Unavailable repository 'steam-overlay' referenced by masters entry in '/var/db/repos/kzd/metadata/layout.conf'
matter?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
zedxot,

There us no USE=systemd there. That's correct.

Does
Code:
$ doas emerge --info
Unavailable repository 'steam-overlay' referenced by masters entry in '/var/db/repos/kzd/metadata/layout.conf'
matter?


Correct. There is no USE=systemd anywhere in /etc/portage. Although there isn't any -systemd either.

I don't think so. I use a certain cli program from this repo to track my anime and mangas which sync with anilist.co. It's just that layout.conf has the following code in it:
Code:

masters = gentoo steam-overlay
thin-manifests = true
sign-manifests = false


The emerge warning goes away if I remove steam-overlay from the masters. I just have to delete it everytime I sync the repo.
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freke
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Somewhere in Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

output of
Code:
emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus
vs.
Code:
USE="-systemd" emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus

Code:
grep -iR systemd /etc/portage/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zedxot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2022
Posts: 58
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freke wrote:
output of
Code:
emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus
vs.
Code:
USE="-systemd" emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus

Code:
grep -iR systemd /etc/portage/



Hello, sorry for late response. I tried to reply earlier but for some reason I couldn't submit the reply. It just buffered for a long time.

I did have a USE=systemd in my /etc/portage, that was causing the issue.

Thanks everyone for the help. <3
_________________
Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum