Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Best file system for my shared external hard drive...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bjdacre
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 8:44 pm    Post subject: Best file system for my shared external hard drive... Reply with quote

Gentlepeople,

I have been using an old wifi 5 TP-Link archer vr1600v for a few years now and sharing files via it's usb port from my ext2 formatted drive using cifs (v1.0). For a number of reasons, not the least of which are the acquisition of a few wifi 6 devices and possible performance issues with using such and old version of cifs, I decided to acquire a TP-Link AX20 (AX1800) to replace the old router. Unfortunately when reading reviews I was focused on the wifi performance and didn't read the fine print of the usb file system support... So no ext2.

If I decide to keep the router, my choices are fat32 (there is no circumstance under which I would use this file system), ex-fat, ntfs and hfs+. I chose ext2 because it is simple and reliable (and open source) and backups are way more important than meta-data journaling.

I have done some web searching but the comparisons are mostly useless telling me things I already know.

So I come to people with actual knowledge who have done more than read a spec sheet on their windows pc...

Thanks in advance.

Brendan
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
<Wall of text here>

So, what is the actual question?

Quote:
I have done some web searching but the comparisons are mostly useless telling me things I already know.
You're overthinking it. Here's a shortcut for you:

Are you going to share this disk with windows?
Yes: NTFS
No: not NTFS; next question

Do you need any particular feature, like wear leveling or deduplication?
Wear leveling: F2FS