View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 1:04 am    Post subject: Classic very old grub kernel & initramfs Reply with quote

BACKGROUND:

I've been running gentoo for 20 years, and I have always built my kernels the old fashioned way, but I haven't built a kernel in several years now, and I am trying to clean up my Lenovo Thinkpad W530. Since I need to keep the old system running for my paying work, I bought a new SSD and just popped the old SSD out and put the new one in, so I would always have a bootable backup by swapping the disks back to the original SSD. So I started with an empyt disk.

I use LVM directly on the SSD without any partition table at all. I boot the system with a USB drive I carry on my keychain in my pocket, so the USB drive is like my ignition key for my laptop. The main SSD is LUKS encrypted as the entire disk -- remember, no partition table.

The USB boot drive has an init script that first mounts /proc and /sys, then runs cryptsetup luksOpen to ask for the pass phrase to decrypt the SSD. Next, it runs vgscan and vgchange to get LVM going, and then mounts what will eventually be root on /mnt/root.

Finally, it unmounts /proc and /sys and does the switch_root to make the system on the SSD appear at / and runs /sbin/init to start the full blown gentoo system.

THE PROBLEM:

I have built my kernel, but I can't remember where make menuconfig puts the resulting kernel, and the handbook now omits that information because everything has been automated by config-kernel or kernel-config and by making things so automatic and easy, so I need to know where the compiled kernel image lies after running make to build the kernel. I guess I could look into the Makefile and figure it out, but I thought I would ask first.