Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Migrating from Layman to eselect-repository
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zarhan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1016

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2023 7:05 am    Post subject: Migrating from Layman to eselect-repository Reply with quote

Hello,

I just noticed that layman is slated for removal when I did an emerge --sync.

Are there some instructions on how to move to this new tool?

I do have my existing repos listed in /etc/portage/repos.conf/layman.conf and they get synced under /var/lib/layman.

Furthermore, what's the equivalent of layman -S (sync-all) after migration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3919

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2023 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Eselect/Repository
I had one layman repo.I removed it and then added it via
eselect repository.
It was very easy.
As for syncing I fount that
eix-sync
works just fine for all.
I suppose you might first need to remove all layman repos and then re add them with eselect repository.
Thanks for letting me know about layman removal.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarhan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1016

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2023 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was able to do this, but to me this indicates that there is *no* "migration" as such. It's more "make backup of configuration, uninstall layman, install eselect-repository, recreate configuration".

I also had only two repositories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 2874

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2023 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, thing is that portage can already do most of what layman does, and it's just about configuring /etc/portage/repos.conf to sync additional repos alongside /var/db/repos/gentoo which itself won't be new to anyone.

And then eselect-repos is just a convenience tool to edit it for you and look at the available repository list (one thing that porrtage does not by itself).

I don't think(?) there's much to say in terms of migrating.


Last edited by Ionen on Mon May 22, 2023 10:19 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 3472

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2023 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, there is not migration as such.
Layman and eselect-repo are 2 completely unrelated tools for adding overlays, so remove them from layman and either enable in eselect-repository (if they are already known and available) or add them.
It's a bit like migrating your documents from emacs to vim: how 'bout you just open them?


If the names of your overlays don't change, I'd expect emerge to keep recognizing them as the old repo in a new location, so it shouldn't break any dependencies/cause rebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2023 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's isn't a lot to migrate actually. It would be more work than removing them from layman and adding them from eselect-repository. Don't forget to delete /var/lib/layman btw. It looks like unmerging layman wouldn't remove it.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c00l.wave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2023 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just migrated my system... Depending on the number of overlays it may take a few minutes but is almost straight forward, apart from some pitfalls caused by an unexpected default value for REMOTE_LIST_URI.

What I would recommend:
  1. Install: emerge -av app-eselect/eselect-repository
  2. Check/modify the configuration: $EDITOR /etc/eselect/repository.conf
    I would recommend to reconfigure REMOTE_LIST_URI to use the original list (currently: https://api.gentoo.org/overlays/repositories.xml) instead of using the modified one which is set by default. I've split the explanation of my concerns to a separate topic.
    Additional pitfall: If you change the URL after having used eselect repository recently, the repository list will not update. Verify if what you configure is what you get via eselect repository list and compare with the expected list from the URL. If it is wrong, you will need to delete the cache manually.
  3. Check what repos you actually still need (if you're a long-time Gentoo user this is a good time to get rid of no longer required overlays): qlist -I -R | grep -v ::gentoo
  4. List all overlays you previously synced with: layman -l
  5. Check if that repository is available from the list you selected: eselect repository list | grep reponame
  6. Delete from Layman: layman -d reponame
  7. Re-add:
    • If it is listed: eselect repository enable reponame
    • If it is not and you still need it, use the URL from Layman: eselect repository add reponame git https://...
  8. Check if the repository has a reasonable URL (i.e. not the "mirrors" on GitHub): cat /etc/portage/repos.conf/eselect-repo.conf
    If you find anything unexpected, eselect repository disable reponame and reconfigure manually.
  9. Repeat from 5. for all remaining overlays
  10. Check that you didn't forget anything: ls -al /var/lib/layman
  11. Sync everything in one go: emerge --sync
  12. Remove Layman; for me that was:
    Code:

    equery depends layman # optional check, just in case something actually depends on layman
    emerge -Cav layman
    rm -Rf /var/lib/layman
    rm /etc/portage/repos.conf/layman.conf
    rm -Rf /etc/layman

_________________
nohup nice -n -20 cp /dev/urandom /dev/null &
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tld
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 1846

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using layman just for the palemoon browser. In my case this was all pretty straight forward:
Code:
emerge -av app-eselect/eselect-repository

After that I listed my existing layman repo so I knew what to add, deleted it from layman, and added it with eselect:
Code:
layman -l
layman -d palemoon
eselect repository add palemoon git https://github.com/deu/palemoon-overlay.git

Then I synced it with:
Code:
emaint sync -r palemoon

The uninstalled layman:
Code:
emerge -aC layman

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ralphred
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 662

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

c00l.wave wrote:
...useful stuff...

Thanks bro, really wasn't in the mood to go reading man pages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1938

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just please do not use the -C option to emerge. Always use -c except in extreme circumstances such as temporarily removing a "hard blocking" issue where something will be reinstalled immediately after.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tld
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 1846

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grknight wrote:
Just please do not use the -C option to emerge. Always use -c except in extreme circumstances such as temporarily removing a "hard blocking" issue where something will be reinstalled immediately after.
Interesting. Thanks for that. In cases where I've tended to use -C in the past it's generally when I knew there wasn't any issue, like removing a previous kernel etc. I'd actually never noticed that -c was the same as --depclean. I've generally only used --depclean for post-update dependency cleaning (without any specific package name). So am I correct that this:
Code:
emerge -ac layman
...would never unmerge anything other than the specified package, and would simply refuse to unmerge it if anything depended on it? Thanks again!

EDIT: Never mind...Looking at "man emerge" I see that that is in fact what it does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strunzdesign
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 67
Location: Nuremberg - Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, as a long term Gentoo user your remark regarding "emerge -C" vs "emerge -c" was pure gold! I was not aware of this. I need to spread this among my colleagues.

Besides this, I have some questions regarding the topic of this thread:

On all my machines I maintain a file "gentoo.conf" in my /etc/portage/repos.conf/ folder. After migration, if I delete this file as a test, and portage continues to work normally (using eix-sync). Thus, is this file still required, or is it advised that users remove it?

Second, there is a "gentoo" repository that can be enabled with "eselect repository enable gentoo". If I enable this, I get an error message that the destination directory is not empty.
Now I question myself whether this "option" of adding a "gentoo" repository should not be there (as everybody unpacks a portage tree sometimes during the first setup), or whether this is intended to be the modern way to use Gentoo, requiring another step of manual migration.

Third, at work, "eselect repository" refuses to work on my main box due to our proxy performing SSL interception. I needed to edit "/usr/share/eselect/modules/repository.eselect" in order to add "--no-check-certificate" to the wget command. Maybe someone has the same issue and considers this helpful.

Regards,
Florian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1938

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strunzdesign wrote:
Third, at work, "eselect repository" refuses to work on my main box due to our proxy performing SSL interception. I needed to edit "/usr/share/eselect/modules/repository.eselect" in order to add "--no-check-certificate" to the wget command. Maybe someone has the same issue and considers this helpful.


Don't edit the module as it will be overwritten later on update.

If you need global settings for wget, place them in /etc/wgetrc instead. Optionally place in portage (or whatever sync-user is set to in the repos.conf entry) user's ~/.wgetrc instead.

Setting should be check_certificate=off in wgetrc in this case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strunzdesign
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 67
Location: Nuremberg - Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2023 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot grknight, this is the comment I was looking for, I really appreciate that!

I was not aware that "wget" invoked by portage uses this global config file, I joked today that I need to find the home directory of portage in order to place a .wgetrc there ;-)

Regards,
Florian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2023 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strunzdesign wrote:

Besides this, I have some questions regarding the topic of this thread:

On all my machines I maintain a file "gentoo.conf" in my /etc/portage/repos.conf/ folder. After migration, if I delete this file as a test, and portage continues to work normally (using eix-sync). Thus, is this file still required, or is it advised that users remove it?



/etc/portage/repos.conf Wiki page:

Quote:
If /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf does not exist, defaults from /usr/share/portage/config/repos.conf will be used, (unless /etc/portage/repos.conf is a file with a valid "[gentoo]" section, as used to be the default). If some necessary settings, such as sync-uri are omitted from /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf, values from /usr/share/portage/config/repos.conf will be used. Some values, such as priority, will be automatically added by Portage even if they are not present in any configuration file.


Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarhan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 1016

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got around to doing this.

Anyway, there actually was a way to migrate...essentially, just rename /etc/portage/repos/layman.conf to eselect-repo.conf and rename key "layman-type" to "sync-type", like below and add the URL into the configuration as sync-uri (layman didn't store this). Example is throttled repo for my Thinkpad:

Layman:

Code:
[throttled]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/throttled
layman-type = git
auto-sync = No


eselect-repository:

Code:
[throttled]
location = /var/db/repos/throttled
sync-type = git
sync-uri = https://github.com/erpalma/throttled-overlay.git
auto-sync = No
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zarhan wrote:
Finally got around to doing this.

Anyway, there actually was a way to migrate...essentially, just rename /etc/portage/repos/layman.conf to eselect-repo.conf and rename key "layman-type" to "sync-type", like below and add the URL into the configuration as sync-uri (layman didn't store this). Example is throttled repo for my Thinkpad:

Layman:

Code:
[throttled]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/throttled
layman-type = git
auto-sync = No


eselect-repository:

Code:
[throttled]
location = /var/db/repos/throttled
sync-type = git
sync-uri = https://github.com/erpalma/throttled-overlay.git
auto-sync = No


I won't comment on this being the correct way to do it, because I don't remember my findings when I emerged layman just to investigate your case and I don't have the time to do it again. My feeling is it's not.

What I'll comment on for the innocent user who would land on this thread is this is more work than just removing them from layman and adding them from eselect-repository and deleting /var/lib/layman for good. I can't imagine who would consciously opt out for that knowing the amount of work in advance.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1453
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2023 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, somewhat related problem: after following c00l.wave's instructions, I now am getting errors that /var has no space left on the device, which is due to running out of inodes. I've deleted the layman repos, but is there any other way to free up space on /var? The partition itself is already at 90% usage; would I have to use vgexpand to try to add more space? (note: /var/portage/repos and /var/portage/distfiles are their own partitions, so the only thing on /var itself that's taking up much inode space is /var/db)

cheers,

EE


Last edited by ExecutorElassus on Thu Jun 15, 2023 10:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9318

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2023 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should start your own thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1453
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2023 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum