Suggestions, please, for minimal, secure server installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
OctavioMasomenos
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2023 4:07 pm    Post subject: Suggestions, please, for minimal, secure server installation Reply with quote

Hello! I’m totally new to Gentoo and my knowledge of cybersecurity is very limited. For my homelab/self-hosting needs, I have thus far used a minimal Debian server install (with passwords disabled and public/private key authentication for SSH access) for hosting Docker containers which provide self-hosted websites and other services that I’m using. I’m at a critical juncture as I switch from a single, simple test machine to more powerful “production” servers. As I do so, I’d like to use hardened Gentoo to reduce my exposure to hacking, exploits, and malware. For now, my needs are very simple: my servers need to have the bare minimum kernel features and other system components required to run Docker containers and to run nano for editing config files (via bind volumes on the host machine) and HTML/CSS/PHP/database files. I am also considering installing pfSense on top of a hardened server installation in the future.

I need to get Docker containers running (primarily) publicly accessible web servers over a Cloudflare secure tunnel and NextCloud over a privately accessible CF tunnel - but I will be expanding very soon to run other services. I need to get these up ASAP, so if the general answer to this question is “read and learn”, then I will have to stick with what I know (minimal Debian installations) for now and switch over to Gentoo later when time allows. But I’m hoping that someone can point me toward a procedure and or a specific list of kernel and other options to select during a Gentoo installation that would result in a hardened server that meets my minimal requirements.