Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[unsolved] rtl8192cu loads but isn't working as it should be
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2022 8:53 pm    Post subject: [unsolved] rtl8192cu loads but isn't working as it should be Reply with quote

I am having issues connecting to the internet. The driver rtl8192cu is detected and loads up. I can connect to my router no problem using iwctl
'ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org' won't work but 'ping 8.8.8.8' works. emerge --sync works but emerge-webrsync --revert=20220907 won't work. After a long time it will output 20220907 file not found when it should be there
I tried with and without the main.conf and the same result. I found this: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Network_configuration/Wireless#Ralink/Mediatek and it talks about the realtek driver which I have. It concerns me and I am thinking i am having the same issue but on a different scale

If you need any more information please just ask, thanks :D


Last edited by kucklehead on Mon Sep 12, 2022 2:06 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2022 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plz post
Code:

dmesg | grep -i firmware
equery l linux-firmware
grep -i rtl8192cu /usr/src/linux/.config

Quote:

ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org won't work

Name resolution?
Try
Code:

echo "nameserver 1.1.1.1" >> /etc/resolv.conf

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2022 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must have some kind of magic touch cause after adding 1.1.1.1 to my resolv.conf, emerge-webrsync --revert=20220907 worked like a charm :lol: :D

But here's the requested files:
This is the equery http://ix.io/49Zv
This is the firmware: http://ix.io/49Zw
I am running my kernel from the gentoo-kernel bin and it loads my drivers in and it loads in the openrc. Doesn't make any since when this is systemd. My kernel 5.15.59 does not load in rtl8192cu and I have been avoiding it because of some errors. What do i need to add to make it add the driver in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2022 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything is ok.

So you are in systemd.What are you using for network management?
Netifrc or networkmanager or systemd-networkd?
Plz post
Code:

cat /etc/conf.d/net
and
nmcli con show
and
ls /etc/systemd/network

For the time being AFTER connecting to your wifi net via iwctl plz run
Code:

ip a add 192.168.1.10/24 dev <wlan0> #name of wifi adaptor
ip route add default via 192.168.1.1 dev <wlan0> # router ip

And make sure you have a nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf
Plz adapt the above commands to reflect your LAN.
If on the other hand you use no network manager and only connect to your home wifi then you can use a small script to connect.
Something like
Code:

#!/bin/bash
   /etc/init.d/iwd start
   iwctl device list || exit
   iwctl station wlan0 scan || exit
   if iwctl station wlan0 connect <ssid>;then
   ip a add 192.168.2.3/24 dev wlan0
   ip route add default via 192.168.2.1 
   #echo "nameserver 1.1.1.1" > /etc/resolv.conf
fi

iwd should already have a file for your network in /var/lib/iwd so the above is sufficient
I only use ethernet.
In the rare case i need to connect to my wifi i use this.
Or you can appent to your /var/lib/iwd/<network file>
Code:

[IPv4]
Address=
Netmask=
Gateway=

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2022 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@alamahant,
I have dhcpcd installed and I thought that was my network manager. I guess I am wrong and I need to install one because I won't be just connecting to my home network
Here's /etc/conf.d/net: http://dpaste.com/8G3CZ42PK

Code:

nmcli con show

Doesn't work and i am assuming because it's something to do with network manager which I don't have installed right now after this reply[/code]

Here's the dmesg:
http://dpaste.com/7T8RZCWJB


I have not done anything with /var/lib/iwd/<network file> instead I have my config here /etc/iwd/main.conf
Here's the output: http://dpaste.com/6A7LXHFAK


running this:
Code:

ip address show <-- to find my ip address
ip a add <my address here/24> dev wlan0

Outputs unknown ip address

However running:
Code:

ip route add <my ip address> dev wlan0

worked for some reason. I don't know why. I grabbed my ip address that's near the "inet" word and ends with /24
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2022 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed these links and set up sytstemd-resolved and systemd-networkd: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Systemd-resolved https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Systemd-networkd

This is what I did:
Code:

ln -rsf /run/systemd/resolve/stub-resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf

Code:

nano -w /etc/systemd/network/25-wireless.network

Code:

[Match]
Name=wlan0

[Network]
DHCP=yes
Address=<my ip address>
IgnoreCarrierLoss=3s


Code:

nano -w /etc/systemd/resolved.conf.d/dns_servers.conf

Code:

[Resolve]
DNS=1.1.1.1
Domains=~.


Finally
Code:

systemctl enable systemd-networkd
systemd enable systemd-resolved

Which now if i run and if I ran the command again after rebooting
Code:

ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org

It still connects without any issue
I'm going to mark this as solved as I have another issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2022 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok for NM plz disable
Code:

iwd wpa_supplicant dhcpcd systemd-networkd and systemd-resolved

Try to build NM with USE="-iwd"
Then you need to START and enable the service.
If you are going to use NM for wifi it is easiest to
Code:

emerge -av gnome-extra/nm-applet

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2022 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just curious, if I am connecting to the internet just fine without any issues using namerserver 1.1.1.1 and not the recommended one along with a Network Manager and the right DNS for my device, is it still needed to continue troubleshooting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2022 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.
Just that nm-applet is very convenient if you will be connecting to many different wifi.
Otherwise all is ok.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21631

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2022 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you continue to use 1.1.1.1, then all your DNS queries go to that server and are visible to everyone on the path to that server. Additionally, you may get worse performance from DNS using that server instead of a caching resolver that is logically closer to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2022 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu is absolutely right
Plz use
Code:

nameserver <router-ip>

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2022 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried using my own ip address and it didn't work. So I changed out 1.1.1.1 back to the default. All I had to do is add DNSSEC= false and change resolvconf to systemd for my iwd. However I believe I have support for DNSOverTLS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kucklehead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2020
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2022 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind it only works for a bit and systemd-resolve gives me:
Code:

Failed to send hostname reply: Transport endpoint is not connected


I also get these errors with iwd:
Code:

resolve-systemd Failed to modify the DNS enteries. org.freedesktop.resolve1.LinkBusy: Link wlan0 is managed
resolve-systemd Failed to modify the domains entries. org.freedesktop.resolv1.LinkBusy: Link wlan0 is managed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2022 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then just disable systemd-resolved.And just use /etc.resolv.conf manually.
If you are going places and wish to connect to wifi on the go then Just use
NM and applet.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum