(solved?) SELinux : "avc: denied" message spamming my dmesg
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
abanoub
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 1:06 pm    Post subject: SELinux : "avc: denied" message spamming my dmesg Reply with quote

Title says it all, when booting (and after boot too) my dmesg is spammed of "avc: denied" messages like this:

Code:
[  893.531060] audit: type=1400 audit(1658408460.688:929): avc:  denied  { use } for  pid=8792 comm="sh" path="/dev/tty1" dev="devtmpfs" ino=20 ioctlcmd=0x540f scontext=staff_u:sysadm_r:sysadm_t tcontext=system_u:system_r:kernel_t tclass=fd permissive=1

But even with these messages, my system still boots fine.

Anyways thanks in advance, I'm sorry if I'm forgetting any crucial logs or whatever as I'm new to SELinux.

Last edited by abanoub on Thu Jul 21, 2022 8:21 pm; edited 2 times in total
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is SELinux configured to enforce? SELinux state and mode

How to read and correct SELinux denial messages (RedHat) seems to have some good information. If nothing else, maybe you can get the "more approachable" messages.

I haven't read Gentoo's SELinux wiki closely, but at first glance, it seems to have some resources that may be helpful.

So far I've only looked into SELinux sufficiently to determine that it isn't practical to retrofit onto an existing environment. At least not where implementing it isn't a priority.
abanoub
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
Is SELinux configured to enforce?

No its configured to permissive.

pjp wrote:
How to read and correct SE Linux denial messages (RedHat) seems to have some good information. If nothing else, maybe you can get the "more approachable" messages.

Thanks, will give that a read.

pjp wrote: