Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hi, I want to switch to the stable branch
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Nov 2019
Posts: 159
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 9:52 am    Post subject: Hi, I want to switch to the stable branch Reply with quote

I've been using the ~amd64 branch since I started Gentoo many years ago, I didn't try the amd64 version until the beginning of the year. I was several months with stable branch and zero problems.

Now I want to move from ~amd64 to amd64, what do you recommend me to do, recompile GCC, Glibc, Ncurses and make emerge --ask --verbose --emptytree --with-bdeps=y @world

And another small question, I have in the make.conf set to protect configurations with CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc/conf.d/consolefont /etc/locale.gen /etc/conf.d/keymaps /etc/eixrc/00-eixrc" but it seems that it doesn't work, I don't know why
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xgivolari
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2021
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To absolutely make sure the toolchain works, I would start with this: linux-headers -> glibc -> binutils -> gcc -> libtool, and maybe even glibc -> binutils -> gcc -> libtool again. (note that different versions of binutils and gcc require you to manually select them using eselect, something I tend to forget :)) Furthermore, a rebuild like this will probably trigger the ol' freetype-harfbuzz circular dependency again, so it might be prudent to temporarily disable USE="harfbuzz" on freetype.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Nov 2019
Posts: 159
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, thanks for your reply
Glibc can't be downgraded, I'll use the one I have and then I'll tell you if I had any problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54248
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elover,

Change your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS and see what emerge wants to downgrade.
Look at the list carefully.
If glibc is there, mask it at the installed version. Downgrading glibc can break lots of things, so portage won't let you.

The usual advice is not to downgrade ... let stable catch you up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lekto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Ancient Rome

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it already three times (~amd64 => amd64) this way:
1. Make sure you have fully updated system, no packages that can't be updated because of conflicts etc.
2. Change your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS.
3. Try to update your system, but do not let it do it, instead put all currently installed packages (with currently installed version) that need to be downgraded into package.accept_keywords (on my last machine that was about 300 packages)
4. Now when you try to update system there should be nothing to update/downgrade.
5. Update your system as usual.
When you do it this way you will be emerging few packages at time, which is easier to debug than after rebuilding half of the system.

Now when updating system make sure it doesn't want downgrade anything important like glibc (broken system) or firefox (broken profile). If it wants just bump version in package.accept_keywords to the nearest version.
When I want to clean package.accept_keywords I run this command to show me what I can remove (change package.accept_keyword/amd64 to whatever you used):
Code:
emerge -pO $(cat /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/amd64) | grep -v "\[ebuild   R   \~\]"

It shows you what can be removed from the file.
Also there are packages that don't have stable versions so won't be updated this way (like openmw and its dependencies), instead run eclean-dist (from gentoolkit) to see what do you have installed that is not in tree any more.

There is one disadvantage: it take time to get rid off all ~amd64 packages, but system is working solid during this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forrestfunk81
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 565
Location: münchen.de

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2022 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would also update the system, freeze the currently installed versions in accept_keywords and then wait for stable to catch up.

Code:

qlist -Iev | sed -e 's/^/=/' > /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/freezed-versions-2022-08-05


This is not a fine elaborated command. It includes all installed packages and versions (not only arch).
_________________
# cd /pub/
# more beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2022 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forrestfunk81 wrote:
I would also update the system, freeze the currently installed versions in accept_keywords and then wait for stable to catch up.

That is exactly the right thing to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabayonino
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jan 2012
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2022 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forrestfunk81 wrote:


Code:

qlist -Iev | sed -e 's/^/=/' > /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/freezed-versions-2022-08-05




Code:
# emerge -p $(eix --installed-unstable --only-names)

It's better thing :wink:

"eix" must be installed
_________________
LRS i586 on G.Drive
LRS x86-64 EFI on MEGA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forrestfunk81
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 565
Location: münchen.de

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2022 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sabayonino wrote:
forrestfunk81 wrote:


Code:

qlist -Iev | sed -e 's/^/=/' > /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/freezed-versions-2022-08-05




Code:
# emerge -p $(eix --installed-unstable --only-names)

It's better thing :wink:

"eix" must be installed


Ok then:
Code:
qlist -Iev $(eix --installed-unstable --only-names) | sed -e 's/^/=/' > /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/unstable-packages
;-)
_________________
# cd /pub/
# more beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabayonino
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jan 2012
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need to rebuild amd64 keywords packages (stable) , you don't need to set the package version.
Portage will downgrade to the latest stable version available in the tree


Code:
eix --installed-unstable --only-names
app-backup/dar

[I] app-backup/dar
     Available versions:  2.7.5^t{tbz2} (~)2.7.6^t{tbz2} {argon2 curl dar32 dar64 doc gcrypt gpg lz4 lzo nls rsync threads xattr}
     Installed versions:  2.7.6^t{tbz2}(21:58:51 05/07/2022)(curl dar64 gcrypt lz4 lzo nls rsync threads xattr -argon2 -dar32 -doc -gpg)
     Homepage:            http://dar.linux.free.fr/
     Description:         A full featured backup tool, aimed for disks


DAR-2.7.5 is the latest stable version available

if you have set ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64" , portage gonna be to downgrade from 2.7.6 (~amd64) to 2.7.5 (amd64)
Code:
emerge app-backup/dar --ask


If you want to keep some ~amd64 packages , you can set _accept_keywords file per package
_________________
LRS i586 on G.Drive
LRS x86-64 EFI on MEGA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 3345
Location: Rasi, Finland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
forrestfunk81 wrote:
I would also update the system, freeze the currently installed versions in accept_keywords and then wait for stable to catch up.

That is exactly the right thing to do.
This is exactly how I did it (some years ago) and it worked without any problems.
_________________
..: Zucca :..
Gentoo IRC channels reside on Libera.Chat.
--
Quote:
I am NaN! I am a man!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum