Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on strongarm/netwinder?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gruffi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 209
Location: Antwerpen - Flanders - Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:56 am    Post subject: Gentoo on strongarm/netwinder? Reply with quote

Howdy everyone,

One or two weeks ago i decided that i had way too many x86 machines at home so i went out and shopped for some none x86 stuff. :D

I got me a netwinder with a strongarm cpu :)

I checked the installation page but couldn't find any instructions for strongarm :( So after crying half an hour i decided to check the forum :lol:

What would it take to get gentoo to run on my netwinder :?:
_________________
... and we will show Microsoft, that they cannot take whatever they want. And that Free Software is our software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nahpets
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 1178
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your CPU is not supported by default, I think you can do it by building yourself a cross-compiler toolchain. You can find info here on how to do it:

http://billgatliff.com/twiki/bin/view/Crossgcc/WebHome

I've done it myself using ARM as my target platform, and it's not that hard to do...

You should also have a look at this thread. It mentions an IRC channel for ARM development.

I guess you can compile the kernel using the cross-compiler and then move it to your ARM machine. Then, if you're able to get it to boot, you can either build gcc from scratch on the ARM or try compiling it on your x86 using the cross-compiler.

I'm just rambling on here, but that's how I would start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruffi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 209
Location: Antwerpen - Flanders - Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what would have to be changed/build to make a strongarm install/bootcd :?:
_________________
... and we will show Microsoft, that they cannot take whatever they want. And that Free Software is our software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nahpets
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 1178
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea how to make a boot CD for an ARM. I had problems with the install on my computer, and I had to make a bootdisk using slackware. Maybe you can look into other distros to get a working boot disk that will let you copy files to your ARM pc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nahpets
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 1178
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I just saw this in the portage tree:

Code:

arm-sources # pwd
/usr/portage/sys-kernel/arm-sources
arm-sources # ls
ChangeLog  Manifest  arm-sources-2.4.19-r1.ebuild  arm-sources-2.4.19.ebuild  files


So I guess someone out there has already done what you're trying to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 1:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on strongarm/netwinder? Reply with quote

Baron FrostFire wrote:
What would it take to get gentoo to run on my netwinder :?:


Did you get anywhere with your Netwinder? I see that the bootloader is on the list, but I have no idea how to get anything else working

Mr Sums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes

we used to have an arm port (which was mostly based on the netwinder), but the only dev with the netwinder left us a while back

ive recently aquired one and have been working on the port and you can find stage{1,2,3} for it on our mirrors now (armv4l)

i'll be setting up a second netwinder for developer access in the near future so we wont get stuck in the same situation ever again :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruffi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 209
Location: Antwerpen - Flanders - Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello there,
I havent done much with my netwinder yet... If you need a victim to test stuff just yell
_________________
... and we will show Microsoft, that they cannot take whatever they want. And that Free Software is our software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpanKY wrote:
yes

ive recently aquired one and have been working on the port and you can find stage{1,2,3} for it on our mirrors now (armv4l)


Thanks, I've had a look and found the stages on the mirrors. Are there instructions for using the bootloader? or will the standard one work with the stages?

Thanks

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
Are there instructions for using the bootloader? or will the standard one work with the stages?


i'll look into updating the handbook but the answer is you dont need to screw around with the bootloader (usually) ...

if your netwinder boots that should be good enough :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for being a bit dim, but I have only ever installed Gentoo from a Live-CD before.

What is the best way to install onto a Netwinder? Looking through the documentation, there is a section "Installing Gentoo from an existing Linux distribution"; is this the best route? I am installing onto a new large HD, so I don't mind creating new partions, installing the old Netwinder files and then using this process, unless you have better suggestion.

Would be very grateful for sight of your kernel options and make.conf files too.

Many thanks

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
What is the best way to install onto a Netwinder? Looking through the documentation, there is a section "Installing Gentoo from an existing Linux distribution"; is this the best route?


right now, yes ... i am looking into making some netboot images since the nettrom firmware supports that ...
then you would just need a netwinder with a working firmware in order to install :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds terrrific. I have a couple of other odds and sods to be working on, so I'll wait for your call .....
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruffi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 209
Location: Antwerpen - Flanders - Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello there!
How's the netboot image going? :)
Am i too impatient? ;)
_________________
... and we will show Microsoft, that they cannot take whatever they want. And that Free Software is our software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Baron FrostFire wrote:
How's the netboot image going? :)


i've got the image/kernel made and i can get the kernel to transfer via firmware/tftp, i'm just having issues with the kernel booting from the DHCP/tftp image ... it keeps selecting /dev/hda1 to boot from instead of trying to run DHCP :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive started a new thread for tracking the netboot image, please test & take discussion to that thread

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1341859
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruffi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 209
Location: Antwerpen - Flanders - Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allright! I'll test it as soon as possible! :D
_________________
... and we will show Microsoft, that they cannot take whatever they want. And that Free Software is our software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum