View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sunox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 1:40 am    Post subject: [solved] Pinentry passphrases not saved by gnome-keyring Reply with quote

Hello. I am new to gentoo and this is the last 'major' thing that I have yet to get working.

I save a bunch of email credentials in an authinfo.gpg file which I unlock in scripts using gpg2. The first time I run these scripts pinentry prompts me for the authinfo.gpg passphrase. On my other OSes (I use Debian normally) the passphrase for this authinfo.gpg file gets saved to gnome-keyring-daemon, and I don't have to enter it a second time.

I have gnome-keyring working in the gentoo install. It's saved my Nextcloud credentials, and unlocks it on boot. It also seems to be able to see my ssh keys. To test if gpg2 was able to talk to gnome-keyring-daemon I created a quick key using "--quick-key-gen", and this key was saved to gnome-keyring.

The problem is that the authinfo.gpg passphrase isn't being saved to the gnome-keyring when after entering them using pinentry.

Some possibly relevant info about my environment: I use OpenRC with elogind, not systemd. I'm using sway window manger.

I have tried a bunch of things but nothing is working yet:

• I have set 'use-agent' in gpg.conf. I don't have to do any configuration to gpg.conf or gpg-agent.conf on debian.
  • I export GPG_TTY=$(tty)
  • I set GPG_AGENT_PID and GPG_AGENT_INFO using some script I found on stack overflow. No effect. I still wonder if environment variables might be to blame though.
  • an hour ago I discovered that I did not have the gnome-keyring USE flag set for pinentry, which I was sure was the issue, but sadly it didn't seem to help.
  • I set the debug level of gpg-agent to high and watched what it did. Did not see any clues.