Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel Audio Drivers "cannot probe codecs"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nirbodha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2021
Posts: 10
Location: Somewhere in the universe

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2021 11:52 pm    Post subject: Intel Audio Drivers "cannot probe codecs" Reply with quote

I recently reinstalled Gentoo, and I'm back in the process of installing the necessities. The only thing that doesn't work now is the audio drivers. In the GNOME environment, the only audio output is the dummy one.

When grepping the dmesg for snd_hda_intel, I get the following.

Code:
$ dmesg | grep intel
[    0.591959] fb0: switching to inteldrmfb from EFI VGA
[    1.740739] intel_pstate: Intel P-state driver initializing
[    1.740893] intel_pstate: HWP enabled
[    1.786047] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: DSP detected with PCI class/subclass/prog-if info 0x040380
[    1.817578] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffffaf6c27a0)
[    1.835789] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: Cannot probe codecs, giving up
[    9.344245] Loading firmware: intel/ibt-hw-37.8.10-fw-22.50.19.14.f.bseq
[    9.528200] Bluetooth: hci0: Intel Bluetooth firmware file: intel/ibt-hw-37.8.10-fw-22.50.19.14.f.bseq


I am unsure as to pasting the entirety of dmesg, so I'll post it underneath this message, if it works.

If it helps, I installed Gentoo with an EFI stub as its bootloader.

Thanks for any assistance in advance!
Nirbodha
_________________
Nirbodha = idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3882

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need both the snd_hda intel driver and the codecs.
Try

Code:

CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC_LEDS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL_HDMI_SILENT_STREAM=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_EXT_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=0


_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirbodha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2021
Posts: 10
Location: Somewhere in the universe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the speedy response.

Forgive my naïveness, but how should I enable those in /usr/src/linux? I can search them up but I can't seem to change them.

Once again, your assistance is much appreciated.

Nirbodha
_________________
Nirbodha = idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3882

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The correct way is though "make menuconfig"
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA
Try this
Code:

grep -i snd_hda /usr/src/linux/.config

see CAREFULLY what you have and append the rest to the above file.
Then rebuild the kernel.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirbodha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2021
Posts: 10
Location: Somewhere in the universe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again for your response.

I successfully built the kernel and gave my system the good ol' reboot. However, the issue still persists.

Nirbodha
_________________
Nirbodha = idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3882

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you
Code:

make
make modules_install
make install


?
If you want to be more specific and elegant in your solution you can chrck the needed codecs by
Code:

cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep Codec

ant modify the kernel accordingly.
My way is a bit foolish brute-force way which sometimes works fine.
:)
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirbodha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2021
Posts: 10
Location: Somewhere in the universe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did do the following commands, to no avail. Also, my /proc/asound/card0 had nothing within it

HOWEVER, I didn't account for the fact that I'm a klutz. As mentioned prior, I had an EFI stub so I didn't have to hassle with GRUB (and to try to secure boot it). After making everything, I forgot to apply the vmlinuz file changes to the EFI stub. After remaking the EFI stub, it works.

Thank you very much for your help, alamahant. It was very much appreciated.

Nirbodha
_________________
Nirbodha = idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum