Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
netifrc and wrong routing table
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 8:23 pm    Post subject: netifrc and wrong routing table Reply with quote

Hi,

During a new Gentoo installation, with the Gentoo minimal CD, I get a wrong routing table after configuring the network via netifrc.

/etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
config_enp35s0="A.B.C.66/27"
routes_enp35s0="default via A.B.C.61"
dns_servers_enp35s0="8.8.8.8"

The routing table that I get is so:

Code:
Destination    Gateway    Genmask           Flags    Metric     Ref    Use    Iface
default         0.0.0.0   0.0.0.0            U       1001002    0      0     enp35s0
A.B.C.60        0.0.0.0   255.255.255.224    U       0          0      0     enp35s0
link-local      0.0.0.0   255.255.0.0        U       1002       0      0     enp35s0

I have to delete the first line and add another one instead of it, with:
Code:
ip route del default via 0.0.0.0
ip route add default via A.B.C.61
, after what the routing table becomes so:

Code:
Destination    Gateway      Genmask           Flags    Metric     Ref    Use    Iface
default         A.B.C.61    0.0.0.0            UG      0          0      0     enp35s0
A.B.C.60        0.0.0.0     255.255.255.224    U       0          0      0     enp35s0
link-local      0.0.0.0     255.255.0.0        U       1002       0      0     enp35s0
, and the network finally works.

What can be the reason of this?
_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.


Last edited by halcon on Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:20 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 8:46 pm    Post subject: Re: netifrc and wrong routing table Reply with quote

A netmask /27 means:

255.255.255.224 or 11111111.11111111.11111111.11100000

An IP address A.B.C.66 has a network part:

A.B.C.64 or A.B.C.010 (00000)

and the host part .2 meaning (000) 00010

Usually I would expect the routers address at .1 so this would be: A.B.C.65

When I see your routers address A.B.C.61 this would be: A.B.C.001 11101 meaning the router is in an different network and therefore cant work.

Have you tried what happens if you only delete this wrong route (without setting it again manually) ? Maybe you have dhcp from network manager setting the correct route ? In any case you should find out the correct routers address.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the reply, pietinger

No, the router and the Gentoo host are in the same network. I wrote the last parts wrongly: there should be 160, 161, 166 instead of, correspondingly, 60, 61, 66.
So, 161 and 166 are 101 00001 and 101 00110 -> both in the same network 101.

There is no dhcp...

I wonder what can be the reason that the kernel creates a wrong routing table?
_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
I wonder what can be the reason that the kernel creates a wrong routing table?

I dont know any bug in the kernel about. But ... if ... it works when you add the route manually, then my only logical explanation would be, there must be a type in your conf.d/net ... ?
What is the output (after booting - without manual intervention) from:
Code:
# ip route
# ip neigh
# ip addr
# ip netns
# ip rule
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# ip route
default dev enp35s0 scope link src 169.254.182.224 metric 1001002
169.254.0.0/16 dev enp35s0 scope link src 169.254.182.224 metric 1002

# ip neigh

# ip addr
<skip lo>
2: enp35s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether <MAC>
inet 169.254.182.224/16 brd 169.254.255.255 scope global noprefixroute enp35s0
valid <...>
<skip other interfaces>

# ip netns

# ip rule
0:           from all lookup local
32766:       from all lookup main
32767:       from all lookup default

_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have additional VPNs ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this machine does not have VPNs.

EDIT
Why this question?

EDIT2
After rebooting I can't get network anymore, because the second command
Code:
ip route add default A.B.C.61
fails with
Code:
Error: either "to" is duplicate, or "A.B.C.61" is a garbage.

Weird! It worked before.

EDIT3
Ah, I see what is the difference with before. Now there is no this line in the routing table:
Code:
A.B.C.60        0.0.0.0   255.255.255.224    U       0          0      0     enp35s0

When this line was in the table, I was able to add default A.B.C.61 and the network appeared.
_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.


Last edited by halcon on Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You got a link local address (169.254.182.224). Do you use zeroconf ? Do you have another machine with the same IP address ? Maybe your router has a problem; have you tried to set another IP address ?

Here is my output how it has to look:
Code:
 ~ $ more /etc/conf.d/net
config_enp5s0="192.168.2.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.2.255"
routes_enp5s0="default via 192.168.2.1"
 ~ $
 ~ $ ip route
default via 192.168.2.1 dev enp5s0 metric 2
192.168.2.0/24 dev enp5s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.2.4
 ~ $
 ~ $ ip neigh
192.168.2.1 dev enp5s0 lladdr 0c:d6:bd:7a:39:0a REACHABLE
 ~ $
 ~ $ ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 brd 127.255.255.255 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp5s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 1c:1b:0d:93:46:3e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.2.4/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global enp5s0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
 ~ $
 ~ $ route
Kernel IP Routentabelle
Ziel            Router          Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    2      0        0 enp5s0
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 enp5s0


You see there is no link local line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
Ah, I see what is the difference with before. Now there is no this line in the routing table:
Code:
A.B.C.60        0.0.0.0   255.255.255.224    U       0          0      0     enp35s0

When this line was in the table, I was able to add default A.B.C.61 and the network appeared.

There is no this line now because the file /etc/conf.d/net is empty now (you asked about "clean" output just after booting).
_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
There is no this line now because the file /etc/conf.d/net is empty now (you asked about "clean" output just after booting).

Sorry - I am not a native english speaker. I asked for a "clean" output = no manual intervention after booting = not deleting or adding a route by yourself; but I didnt asked for deleting conf.d/net. Please make a new conf.d/net and please post it originally here.

(If nothing helps we have to trace the line to see whats going on; do you have wireshark installed ?)

EDIT: And you dont must delete anything. An internal IP address 192.168.x.x is not a problem to post into the world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 629

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't delete /etc/conf.d/net, I just rebooted. All this is happening in the minimal CD environment, Gentoo is not yet installed.
_________________
A wife asks her husband, a programmer:
- Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6?
He comes back with 6 cartons of milk.
- Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?
- They had eggs.


Last edited by halcon on Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And only to be safe, I would like to see the output of
Code:
# rc-update
# emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4004
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
I didn't delete /etc/conf.d/net, I just rebooted. All this is happening in the minimal CD environment, Gentoo is not yet installed.

Aaaarrghhh. My bad.

If you just install Gentoo, then use "# /etc/init.d/dhcpcd start" and let your router doing the job. Your static address will be used when you have linked the file (*) and rebootet into your gentoo-installation.

(*) Edit: And if you have done "rc-update add ... default"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum