View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sluggeek n00b

Joined: 21 May 2020 Posts: 36 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 1:15 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] KVM / QEMU - Bridge interface |
|
|
Hi everyone.
I try switching from Vbox to QEMU. I just have one issu.
I want my VM in the network of the host. So I need a bridge connection, like I do with Vbox.
I have delete the "default" virtual network in qemu
What I do (enp39s0 is my physical interface)
ip link add name br0 type bridge
ip link set enp39s0 master br0
ip link set br0 up
After that I proper configure VM to use br0.
And that works, my VM is on the same network : i can ssh, ping ...
BUT : my host cant use enp39s0 anymore ...
The problem is after the command
ip link set enp39s0 master br0 : after this the connection is lost.
Do you have any idea to have both the VM and the Host using enp39s0.
I apologise for my terrible english
Thx
Last edited by sluggeek on Sat Oct 23, 2021 4:23 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mike155 Advocate

Joined: 17 Sep 2010 Posts: 4438 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know the syntax of the new 'ip link' commands. But I can show you how I set up my bridge for QEMU with the traditional commands:
Code: | brctl addbr br0 # create the bridge
brctl addif br0 eth0 # add physical interface
brctl addif br0 tap0 # add virtual interface for QEMU
brctl addif br0 tap1 # add virtual interface for QEMU
ifconfig br0 10.0.0.1/24 up # set IP address of host |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sluggeek n00b

Joined: 21 May 2020 Posts: 36 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I thanks to anwser.
I had always the same problem. After the brctl addif br0 enp39s0, the enp39s0 lost the connection  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mike155 Advocate

Joined: 17 Sep 2010 Posts: 4438 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Without the bridge, the interface enp39s0 must be configured with your IP address.
With the bridge, the interface br0 must be configured with your IP address.
So yes, it is to be expected that you lose the connection if you add enp39s0 to your bridge. Configure br0 with your IP address after you added enp39s0 to your bridge - and you won't lose the connection.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sluggeek n00b

Joined: 21 May 2020 Posts: 36 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Mike,
Thanks for the help. It works now
My mistake was to try to use "bridge" before understand how I works. I got it now. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sluggeek n00b

Joined: 21 May 2020 Posts: 36 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If somebody else have the same issu, here is the recipe :
Use sudo - Router is DHCP - physical interface in enp39s0
#Creation of bridge interface br0 and activation
ip link add name br0 type bridge
ip link set br0 up
#Activate enp39s0 if needed (you can't bridge a down interface).
ip link set enp39s0 up
#Flushing ip address on enp39s0 (if needed)
ip addr flush dev enp39s0
#Link enp39s0 to br0
ip link set eth0 master br0
#Obtain an IP for br0
dhclient -v br0
# check internet still working
ip a
ping www.google.com
After, configure the VM to use br0
-> network source : Brigde device
-> device name : br0
Launch the VM. Sometimes the VM internet connection works immediatly, sometimes it take 30s, don't panic  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|