Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]Problem with emerging subversion while emerge -avuDN
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Krakerut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2021
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 7:58 pm    Post subject: [solved]Problem with emerging subversion while emerge -avuDN Reply with quote

Hi, this is my first forum post, so if you need anything else, just tell me what to do.
I am installing Gentoo on a desktop and, after a few problems with installing lz4 (solved with a few USE flags), I was able to use emerge -avuDN @world to install my system. After reaching subversion, it gives an "emake failed" and even after reading a few posts with similar problems, I still couldn't figure out the problem, so I'll post the output and maybe you're able to save the day :)

http://dpaste.com/7SQB2U8ET the build.log for subversion

/etc/portage/make.conf
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
COMMON_FLAGS="-march=haswell -O2 -pipe"
CFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
CXXFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
FCFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
FFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--jobs 2 --load-average 1.8"
FEATURES="parallel-fetch parallel-install candy multilib-strict"
USE="X alsa -bluetooth -wifi -gtk -qt -kde -gnome lz4 -hdf5 -accessibility \
-afs -altivec -aqua -bzip2 cdr -clamav -connman -coreaudio css cups dri \
dvd dbus -eds elogind -systemd -emacs ffmpeg -geoip -geolocation git -gps \
gstreamer -ibm -ieee1394 -imap -infiniband -ios -ipod java joystick -lirc \
-lzma -lzo matroska -mbox -milter -mms multilib -neon -networkmanager -nis \
offensive opengl -pch -pcmcia -pda pdf -plasma -posix screencast -qmail-spp \
-qt5 -quicktime -rdp -rss -samba scanner -skey -slp -smartcard smp -snappy \
-snmp -soap -sox -speex subversion symlink -szip -telemetry threads -timidity \
truetype -upnp -upnp-av vcd vdpau nvidia jpeg mp3 \
vulkan v4l wayland -wmf x264 xattr savedconfig \
-xemacs -xinerama -xmp udev -eudev -xmpp -xscreensaver -zlb -zstd \
bash-completion -aac -aptx -qtwebengine -openssh -ssh xvmc clang"
ABI_X86="64 32"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
L10N="en en-US"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
INPUT_DEVICES="udev"

# NOTE: This stage was built with the bindist Use flag enabled
PORTDIR="/var/db/repos/gentoo"
DISTDIR="/var/cache/distfiles"
PKGDIR="/var/cache/binpkgs"

# This sets the language of build output to English.
# Please keep this setting intact when reporting bugs.
LC_MESSAGES=C

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://ftp.romnet.org/gentoo/ http://mirrors.xservers.ro/gentoo/"


Last edited by Krakerut on Wed Sep 15, 2021 11:24 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 27268
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to gentoo forum!

You should post full build.log, portage tell you the path when fails, with wgetpaste.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krakerut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2021
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated the post with a build.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2020
Posts: 46
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Krakerut,
"crypt_r" shows undefined. Could you please post the output of
Code:
ldd /usr/lib64/libaprutil-1.so
It should be linked to libcrypt or maybe libxcrypt. crypt_r is defined there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
figueroa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 1850
Location: Edge of the Marsh USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are building a testing system "~amd64" so trouble is going to be more common.

In your make.conf, I don't believe "udev" is a meaningful option. Consider:
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES ="evdev libinput"


You can bypass failed builds during update by using:
Code:
emerge --skipfirst --resume

Sometimes, that will let you circle back and the failed program will build after the rest finish building.

Consider if you really need dev-vcs/subversion, though may be required by your profile??

Post your emerge --info. You can paste that into a reply.
_________________
Andy Figueroa
hp pavilion hpe h8-1260t/2AB5
i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz; 16 gb
amd64/17.1/desktop (stable)
Radeon HD 7570 & spinning rust
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 27268
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As larrys say probably is related to this news item
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krakerut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2021
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2021 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for that news item, it fixed my problem, seemed like I had nothing linked to that crypt_r and "updating" (actually installing) virtual/libcrypt and sys-libs/libxcrypt solved my problem, now I can continue installing Gentoo. Thank you guys :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 17901

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2021 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see in your make.conf that you are using a testing system, rather than stable. That is likely why you hit this problem now. I see that you are new to the forum, but we sometimes have newly registered users who have years of prior Gentoo experience. How much prior experience do you have with Gentoo? If you are new to Gentoo, you might find it less frustrating to use a system on stable keywords, rather than testing. Unfortunately, migrating from testing to stable is not trivial, so if you want to be on stable, you must choose either (1) reinstalling to stable, (2) adjusting keywords to let stable catch up to you. If you are willing to remain on testing, that is fine too. Using testing can be a more involved experience, since fewer people will have encountered and debugged packages before they reach you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krakerut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2021
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2021 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu
I use testing just so I can have the latest version of software, since I usually use Arch or Debian sid (the unstable version), since they are not really unstable (or, at least, I've not encountered a single problem using testing packages). With Gentoo, well, it's not my first time installing this, but I had the wrong mentality to just nuke the system and install a new one rather than stay to fix my problems (dunno why, seemed like a hassle to repair). So, one of my objectives of using Gentoo is exactly this: to learn to fix problems, rather than go the easy way. Don't have years of experience with this, I have, like, a month or so? I would use KVM to learn the gist of emerge and configuring my system and jumped to a desktop I use for gaming to install it with my knowledge gained from virtual. This particular problem was interesting (I usually get the circular dependencies and multiple packages in the same slot, which I can easily fix them), good thing emerge shows news concerning the package installed. I will remain on testing, since I don't usually encounter exotic problems, but thanks for the advice.
Now just 3 questions:
1. Is pulseaudio still a requirement if I have pipewire installed? Seems like chromium and wine have pulseaudio flag, but not necessarily pipewire. I would install both of them. Pulseaudio as minimal as possible, since I saw on Arch, at least, that there's a libpulse or something to have some kind of compatibility.
2. Same topic, does pavucontrol works with pipewire, or do I need something else?
3. How do I mark this post as "solved"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 2404
Location: Rasi, Finland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
(2) adjusting keywords to let stable catch up to you.
I guess one can create "brute forced" package.accept_keywords by
Code:
qlist -Iv | awk '{print "=" $0 " ~amd64"}' > /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/transition_to_stable
... right?

I have once done something like that. But it was years ago.

Krakerut wrote:
Now just 3 questions:
1. Is pulseaudio still a requirement if I have pipewire installed? Seems like chromium and wine have pulseaudio flag, but not necessarily pipewire. I would install both of them. Pulseaudio as minimal as possible, since I saw on Arch, at least, that there's a libpulse or something to have some kind of compatibility.
2. Same topic, does pavucontrol works with pipewire, or do I need something else?
3. How do I mark this post as "solved"?
    1. I think pipewire still needs some libraries from pulseaudio.
    2. I'm not sure... There are few topics related to pipewire here. Example. Maybe ask on those? ;)
    3. Edit the first post's subject and add [solved] to it. :)

_________________
..: Zucca :..
Gentoo IRC channels no longer reside on freenode but instead on Libera.Chat.
[Quick IRC quide]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum