Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Networkmanager keeps dropping internet connection
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2021 11:48 am    Post subject: Networkmanager keeps dropping internet connection Reply with quote

Hello, i have a problem with networkmanager - it keeps losing/dropping internet connection. This can happen anytime. When it happens, i check ifconfig and see my inet (ipv4) adress is missing. Only inet6 remains, but that doesn't help me. I have to reset networkmanager everytime this happens, it can become frustrating when you leave your computer overnight to work on something and next day you see that the internet connection was down for the last 6 hours. Someone advised me to switch to netifrc (i use gentoo), but i didn't like it because of wpa_supplicant. Imo, networkmanager manages wireless connection much easier. So i switched back to networkmanager. Here are some details i noticed:

when (re)starting networkmanager
Code:
* Starting NetworkManager ...                                                      [ ok ]
Connecting...............    0s [offline]
 * Marking NetworkManager as inactive. It will automatically be marked
 * as started after a network connection has been established.
 * WARNING: NetworkManager has started, but is inactive


rc-update output:
Code:
$ rc-update show
        NetworkManager |      default
            acpilight | boot
               binfmt | boot
             bootmisc | boot
              cgroups |                                 sysinit
                 dbus |      default
                devfs |                                 sysinit
                dmesg |                                 sysinit
                 fsck | boot
             hostname | boot
              hwclock | boot
              keymaps | boot
            killprocs |                        shutdown
    kmod-static-nodes |                                 sysinit
                local |      default nonetwork
           localmount | boot
             loopback | boot
              modules | boot
             mount-ro |                        shutdown
                 mtab | boot
               procfs | boot
                 root | boot
         save-keymaps | boot
    save-termencoding | boot
            savecache |                        shutdown
                 sshd |      default
        stmpfiles-dev |                                 sysinit
      stmpfiles-setup | boot
                 swap | boot
               sysctl | boot
                sysfs |                                 sysinit
         termencoding | boot
                 udev |                                 sysinit
         udev-trigger |                                 sysinit
              urandom | boot


ifconfig output:
Code:
$ ifconfig
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether dc:0e:a1:3e:51:e4  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

eth1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.0.15  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 fe80::c60b:31e8:d8ac:a0c2  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514:3628:63db:b622:eb7c  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x0<global>
        ether 0c:37:96:12:1f:8c  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 6926  bytes 5366365 (5.1 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 94  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 5480  bytes 893846 (872.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.0.14  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514::2  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514:f513:2c69:e3a:9da1  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::8061:9dc6:8944:ce92  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 74:31:70:c9:dc:62  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 92  bytes 30926 (30.2 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 1  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 50  bytes 8338 (8.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Let me know if you need more info for figuring out my problem.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2021 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As with any problem you need to examine relevant logs. I do not like and do not use NM, I do not know what its logging capabilities are, perhaps it can write verbose logs. With a problem like this kernel messages also should be investigated. Without any meaningful error messages it is a waste of time.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21431

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2021 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on the data so far, it seems like NetworkManager is removing the IPv4 address from the interface. For how long are DHCP leases issued? Is NetworkManager attempting to renew the lease?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2021 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Based on the data so far, it seems like NetworkManager is removing the IPv4 address from the interface. For how long are DHCP leases issued? Is NetworkManager attempting to renew the lease?


I couldn't find a clear pattern for how often they change. Sometimes it remains the same for a week, sometimes for a day, sometimes after a reboot.
As far as i observed, NetworkManager isn't trying to renew anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2021 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
As with any problem you need to examine relevant logs. I do not like and do not use NM, I do not know what its logging capabilities are, perhaps it can write verbose logs. With a problem like this kernel messages also should be investigated. Without any meaningful error messages it is a waste of time.


where can i find the logs, so i can provide it to you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deagol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2014
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2021 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For my part I would like to first see the syslog messages - anything from the time you know it was last working up to the time you know it to be broken. Add the output of "dmesg -T", too...

Without more data it I only can suspect that something like this is happening:
1) You get a connection problem (disconnect, connection freeze.. whatever)
2) dhcp is not able to renew the lease and the IP is removed.

We should at least see some log message telling us that the renew of the lease failed and then can try to find something in the log indicating why.

But it may also be worthwhile to check if you get the same issue when using a cable: When it's a wlan connection issue chances are good that it's not affecting classical ethernet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deagol wrote:
For my part I would like to first see the syslog messages - anything from the time you know it was last working up to the time you know it to be broken. Add the output of "dmesg -T", too...

Quote:
Without more data it I only can suspect that something like this is happening:
1) You get a connection problem (disconnect, connection freeze.. whatever)
2) dhcp is not able to renew the lease and the IP is removed.


We should at least see some log message telling us that the renew of the lease failed and then can try to find something in the log indicating why.

But it may also be worthwhile to check if you get the same issue when using a cable: When it's a wlan connection issue chances are good that it's not affecting classical ethernet.


Quote:
I would like to first see the syslog messages - anything from the time you know it was last working up to the time you know it to be broken.

Networkmanager always behaved like this, since i installed it.

Quote:
Add the output of "dmesg -T", too...

here is the output:
https://0x0.st/-WMe.txt

Quote:
Without more data it I only can suspect that something like this is happening:
1) You get a connection problem (disconnect, connection freeze.. whatever)
2) dhcp is not able to renew the lease and the IP is removed.

This is exactly what is happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

George528,

Code:
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: authenticate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: send auth to 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: authenticated
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: associate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (capab=0x1411 status=0 aid=5)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: associated
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready


That's correct. It appears exactly once.

We need the same log after the connection drops.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
George528,

Code:
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: authenticate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: send auth to 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: authenticated
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: associate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (capab=0x1411 status=0 aid=5)
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] wlan0: associated
[Mon Jul 26 12:59:43 2021] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready


That's correct. It appears exactly once.

We need the same log after the connection drops.


Here is how it looks like:

Code:
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet6 fe80::e4cc:29c2:19db:8137  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514::3  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514:9489:38c4:dbb7:c188  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        ether 0c:37:96:12:1f:8c  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 9398  bytes 1915859 (1.8 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 768  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 2052  bytes 350422 (342.2 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet6 fe80::8061:9dc6:8944:ce92  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514:f513:2c69:e3a:9da1  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a00:1858:1018:8514::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x0<global>
        ether 74:31:70:c9:dc:62  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 2667  bytes 654489 (639.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 73  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 981  bytes 232386 (226.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0



the log now
https://dpaste.com/HC3BBMWFP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George528,

None of your interfaces except lo have an IPv4 address but IPv6 is still good.
Indeed, I can get ping responses from your public IPv6 addresses.

Code:
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:44 2021] wlan0: deauthenticating from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd by local choice (Reason: 3=DEAUTH_LEAVING)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:44 2021] NetworkManager (1569) used greatest stack depth: 12040 bytes left
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: authenticate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: send auth to 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: authenticated
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: associate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (capab=0x1411 status=0 aid=5)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: associated


Something shut down the WiFi radio link (Reason: 3=DEAUTH_LEAVING), means that it was told to shut down.
It came back immediately but nothing assigned anything IPv4 addresses.
IPv6 just works.

So, two questions. What shut down Wifi?
How do you expect to get IPv4 addresses assigned?
I'm not a NetworkManager user.

I'll guess that your leases expired and dhcpcd is not running to renew them. Thats easy to test.
Run
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
and post the command and the output.

-- edit --

What does
Code:
emerge -pv net-misc/networkmanager
tell?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
George528,

None of your interfaces except lo have an IPv4 address but IPv6 is still good.
Indeed, I can get ping responses from your public IPv6 addresses.

Code:
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:44 2021] wlan0: deauthenticating from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd by local choice (Reason: 3=DEAUTH_LEAVING)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:44 2021] NetworkManager (1569) used greatest stack depth: 12040 bytes left
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: authenticate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: send auth to 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: authenticated
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: associate with 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (try 1/3)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 54:a6:5c:50:48:fd (capab=0x1411 status=0 aid=5)
[Mon Jul 26 17:40:47 2021] wlan0: associated


Something shut down the WiFi radio link (Reason: 3=DEAUTH_LEAVING), means that it was told to shut down.
It came back immediately but nothing assigned anything IPv4 addresses.
IPv6 just works.

So, two questions. What shut down Wifi?
How do you expect to get IPv4 addresses assigned?
I'm not a NetworkManager user.

I'll guess that your leases expired and dhcpcd is not running to renew them. Thats easy to test.
Run
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
and post the command and the output.

-- edit --

What does
Code:
emerge -pv net-misc/networkmanager
tell?


yeah i think dhcpcd doesnt reassign the leases.

Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd-9.4.0 starting
DUID 00:04:4a:b9:a4:0f:a1:2b:e1:11:9a:c2:dc:0e:a1:3e:51:e4
dhcp6_openudp: Address already in use
wlan0: connected to Access Point: Big George
wlan0: IAID 70:c9:dc:62
wlan0: soliciting an IPv6 router
wlan0: soliciting a DHCP lease
wlan0: offered 192.168.0.13 from 192.168.0.1
wlan0: probing address 192.168.0.13/24
wlan0: Router Advertisement from fe80::56a6:5cff:fe50:48fc
wlan0: adding address 2a00:1858:1018:8514:998:d34b:dbd8:1ded/64
wlan0: adding route to 2a00:1858:1018:8514::/64
wlan0: adding default route via fe80::56a6:5cff:fe50:48fc
wlan0: soliciting a DHCPv6 lease
dhcp6_openudp: Address already in use
forked to background, child pid 4763


Code:
$ emerge -pv net-misc/networkmanager

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] net-misc/networkmanager-1.32.4::gentoo  USE="elogind introspection ncurses nss policykit ppp wext wifi -audit -bluetooth -connection-sharing -dhclient -dhcpcd -gnutls -iptables -iwd -modemmanager -nftables -ofono -ovs -resolvconf (-selinux) -systemd -teamd -test -vala" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George528,

Code:
wlan0: offered 192.168.0.13 from 192.168.0.1
wlan0: probing address 192.168.0.13/24


That's OK but it should have tested it too. Is it set?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
George528,

Code:
wlan0: offered 192.168.0.13 from 192.168.0.1
wlan0: probing address 192.168.0.13/24


That's OK but it should have tested it too. Is it set?


Sorry i didn't understand what you are trying to say.

How do i make it so dhcpcd automatically reassing leases?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George528,

It should just do that.

What does the dhcpcd USE flag do to networkmanager?

https://packages.gentoo.org/useflags/dhcpcd says net-misc/networkmanager Use net-misc/dhcpcd for getting an IP.
Maybe rebuild network manage with USE=dhcpcd ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
George528,

It should just do that.

What does the dhcpcd USE flag do to networkmanager?

https://packages.gentoo.org/useflags/dhcpcd says net-misc/networkmanager Use net-misc/dhcpcd for getting an IP.
Maybe rebuild network manage with USE=dhcpcd ?


i am emerging networkmanager with dhcpcd USE flag now. I will tell you if i notice any more connection drops
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George528
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2021
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

ipv4 adress still dissapears after a while, but i need it more than ipv6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r7l
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Feb 2019
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2022 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

George528, did you ever fix this issue? I am facing the same for weeks now. It's on and off. It was ok for a while but it just started to show up again and bugs me like every other hour.

I am running NetworkManager with Systemd and dhcpcd and i am having this issue with my wifi inferface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum