Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hardware vs Software Raid1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3267
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug wrote:
Appears correct now ...

Code:

fractal /home/ian #  mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdc1
mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdb1
mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdb1 but will be lost or
       meaningless after creating array
mdadm: Note: this array has metadata at the start and
    may not be suitable as a boot device.  If you plan to
    store '/boot' on this device please ensure that
    your boot-loader understands md/v1.x metadata, or use
    --metadata=0.90
Continue creating array? y
mdadm: Defaulting to version 1.2 metadata
mdadm: array /dev/md0 started.
fractal /home/ian # lsblk
NAME    MAJ:MIN RM  SIZE RO TYPE  MOUNTPOINT
sda       8:0    0  1.8T  0 disk 
├─sda1    8:1    0  256M  0 part  /boot
├─sda2    8:2    0   64G  0 part  [SWAP]
└─sda3    8:3    0  1.8T  0 part  /
sdb       8:16   0  3.6T  0 disk 
└─sdb1    8:17   0  3.6T  0 part 
  └─md0   9:0    0  3.6T  0 raid1
sdc       8:32   0  3.6T  0 disk 
└─sdc1    8:33   0  3.6T  0 part 
  └─md0   9:0    0  3.6T  0 raid1


Now to migrate /home there ... should have done this before creating a user...

Thanks, Ian


Am I right that you current /home is not a separate partition, but just directory in / ?

You still need to make a filesystem on /dev/md0 if you have not done it yet. Once it is done

make a directory somewhere under root, say /mnt/temphome. Mount /dev/md0 as /mnt/temphome. Move files mv /home/* /mnt/temphome
unmount /mnt/temphome, Mount /dev/md0 now as /home. Change fstab to mount /dev/md0 as /home automatically next time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 832
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:

Am I right that you current /home is not a separate partition, but just directory in / ?

You still need to make a filesystem on /dev/md0 if you have not done it yet. Once it is done

make a directory somewhere under root, say /mnt/temphome. Mount /dev/md0 as /mnt/temphome. Move files mv /home/* /mnt/temphome
unmount /mnt/temphome, Mount /dev/md0 now as /home. Change fstab to mount /dev/md0 as /home automatically next time


Yes .. I followed process here
https://superuser.com/questions/742150/how-do-i-set-a-raid-array-as-a-home-mount-point-on-linux
(with some corrections)

The untar created /home/home so I just moved the stuff up a level and deleted the spurious home.

Thanks to all for the help /advice.

Cheers, Ian
_________________
Asus X570-PRO, Ryzen 7 5800X, GeForce GTX 1650, 32 GB RAM | Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3267
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug wrote:
dmpogo wrote:

Am I right that you current /home is not a separate partition, but just directory in / ?

You still need to make a filesystem on /dev/md0 if you have not done it yet. Once it is done

make a directory somewhere under root, say /mnt/temphome. Mount /dev/md0 as /mnt/temphome. Move files mv /home/* /mnt/temphome
unmount /mnt/temphome, Mount /dev/md0 now as /home. Change fstab to mount /dev/md0 as /home automatically next time


Yes .. I followed process here
https://superuser.com/questions/742150/how-do-i-set-a-raid-array-as-a-home-mount-point-on-linux
(with some corrections)

The untar created /home/home so I just moved the stuff up a level and deleted the spurious home.

Thanks to all for the help /advice.

Cheers, Ian


Well, it is a bit unclear why would you use tar as an intermediate step, but you got it working at the end.

One issue is a bit of diagnostics from mdadm

"mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdb1"


Does it mean hat you have written some partition table WITHIN /dev/sdb1 (which is a partition itself) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 832
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:

Well, it is a bit unclear why would you use tar as an intermediate step, but you got it working at the end.

One issue is a bit of diagnostics from mdadm

"mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdb1"


Does it mean hat you have written some partition table WITHIN /dev/sdb1 (which is a partition itself) ?


1. Was copying that guide, it worked eventually.

2. yes... that's what happens when you do fdisk /dev/sdb1 instead of /dev/sdb :-)

I learn from my mistakes...

Thanks, Ian
_________________
Asus X570-PRO, Ryzen 7 5800X, GeForce GTX 1650, 32 GB RAM | Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3267
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug wrote:
dmpogo wrote:

Well, it is a bit unclear why would you use tar as an intermediate step, but you got it working at the end.

One issue is a bit of diagnostics from mdadm

"mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdb1"


Does it mean hat you have written some partition table WITHIN /dev/sdb1 (which is a partition itself) ?


1. Was copying that guide, it worked eventually.

2. yes... that's what happens when you do fdisk /dev/sdb1 instead of /dev/sdb :-)

I learn from my mistakes...

Thanks, Ian



I would have deleted this spurious partition table. Copy your /home away to another partion, say /tmp/home, stop raid, delete partition table on /dev/sdb1 and collect it all back again. You home on raid may even survive that, in which case you just distcard your copy of /home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 832
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2021 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, the box spent the last month numbercrunching keyboard layouts.

Turned out my /home was still under /root instead of on the mirrored drives.

FSTab referred to md0 instead of md1.

Then for some reason after attempted fixes the system decided it was actually md127

Tried recreating it as md1, which appeared to succeed, but lsblk still showed md127.

So I just made it md127 in fstab, and it's working. I assume whether it is md0, md1 or md127 is largely irrelevant. not likely to be adding any Raid setups in the box.

Now I can finish setting up the box ...

Thanks, Ian
_________________
Asus X570-PRO, Ryzen 7 5800X, GeForce GTX 1650, 32 GB RAM | Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2021 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug,

Use filesystem UUIDs in /etc/fstab, then the physical device name doesn't matter.
Assemble raid sets by the raid set UUID and again, the kernel device names don't matter.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum