Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why does Portage download masked / uninstallable packages?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
davidbryant
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 10:03 pm    Post subject: Why does Portage download masked / uninstallable packages? Reply with quote

I've been using Gentoo Linux for almost a year. I've been using openSUSE Linux since 2003, but didn't get into Gentoo until recently. One of the problems I see is with disk space. Gentoo tends to gobble up a lot of space with its cache of source code files. The first time I installed Gentoo on my hard drive I was running low on space within two weeks. So I doubled the size of my root partition (I put /home in its own separate partition) and started over. I'm doing OK on disk space now -- both partitions are about 60% free space.

I've been a little unhappy with "eclean". It seems to get stuck in an endless loop sometimes, and then I have to kill it. It also seems to have some trouble identifying all the redundant source code tarballs. That's not real surprising. There are a dizzying variety of naming conventions in use, apparently. Trying to decide which patches go with which version level is sometimes pretty hard to do.

Anyway, I have devised a procedure to keep /var/cache/distfiles pretty compact. Today I tested my procedure. I used a terminal command to make a text file list of all the files in /var/cache/distfiles, loaded the list into a spreadsheet, then used some simple function calls to locate the embedded hyphens in each name, and to compare the parts of each name preceding the rightmost hyphen to the previous item in the sorted list, and also to the next item, using a logical OR. So I ended up with a bunch of "TRUE" and "FALSE" flags, which whittled the list of possible duplicates from ~3,700 to 50 or 60.