Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo from another Linux Distro is it Safe?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jordanweb
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:09 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo from another Linux Distro is it Safe? Reply with quote

Hi, I have a question and I'm new to Gentoo LInux, I have a concerns about Installing Gentoo from another linux distro, how can I ensure it is safe for example installing Gentoo from Ubuntu or Mint or Clonezilla, clonezilla operating system is based in China, or Ubuntu etc they might have potentially insert backdoor for your system?

Distro I have tried for installing Gentoo
#
voidlinux failed architecture error
porteus os failed emerge error
artix linux failed locale and other errors
MxLinux failed emerge-webrsync errors

#
Ubuntu 16 / 20 success no errors everything
Linux Mint 20 success no errors everything
Systemrescue success no errors (need tweaking)
Clonezilla success no errors (need tweaking a little network)

my question is can they have potential insert backdoor when you type chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash?
why do can it able to execute shows the current names on /mnt Gentoo chroot like #void #debian
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash

ubuntu#
mint#
void#
Debian#

What is the safest way to install Gentoo? what distro did you use when you install Gentoo. That's my question, sorry for my bad english I'm Swiss, And Thanks for helping.
etnull
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote