Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is it possible to build Gentoo with Qubes OS features?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
validos
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:23 am    Post subject: Is it possible to build Gentoo with Qubes OS features? Reply with quote

Hello. I am new to Gentoo, so I apologize if this is a basic question.

Qubes OS is a system based on Fedora 25 with Xen and a bunch of tools to make it easier to work with VMs via GUI and TUI. I want to build an OS with its features but with updated software and without Xorg and OpenSSH. I haven't found anyone successfully doing this exact thing and don't know how to do it myself. Where should I look to get more clearance and eventually building it?

Would appretiate any advice or link, thanks!

EDIT: My initial description of Qubes is not fully correct. Besides relative ease of usa, it has a good number of tools and tweaks which make it more secure.
CooSee
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Is it possible to build Gentoo with Qubes OS features? Reply with quote

validos wrote:
Hello. I am new to Gentoo, so I apologize if this is a basic question.

Qubes OS is a system based on Fedora 25 with Xen and a bunch of tools to make it easier to work with VMs via GUI and TUI. I want to build an OS with its features but with updated software and without Xorg and OpenSSH. I haven't found anyone successfully doing this exact thing and don't know how to do it myself. Where should I look to get more clearance and eventually building it?

Would appretiate any advice or link, thanks!

EDIT: My initial description of Qubes is not fully correct. Besides relative ease of usa, it has a good number of tools and tweaks which make it more secure.

hello and welcome :)