Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X11vnc failed to start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
donjames
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Location: 32°9'50" N 94°50'54" W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:34 pm    Post subject: X11vnc failed to start Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to run x11vnc on my Pi4 with 8gb ram.

Code:

/etc/init.d/x11vnc start
start-stop-daemon: failed to start '/usr/bin/x11vnc'
ERROR: x11vnc failed to start

Code:

cat /var/log/x11vnc
09/09/2020 13:55:39 passing arg to libvncserver: -rfbauth
09/09/2020 13:55:39 passing arg to libvncserver: /etc/x11vnc.pass
09/09/2020 13:55:39 passing arg to libvncserver: -rfbport
09/09/2020 13:55:39 passing arg to libvncserver: 5900
09/09/2020 13:55:39 x11vnc version: 0.9.16 lastmod: 2019-01-05  pid: 5315
09/09/2020 13:55:39 -auth guess: failed for display=':0'


Can someone give me a clue about what is going on here?

Thanks,
donjames
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

the parameter -auth guess is guilty according with your log. It's better to put the auth file of the display manager you use or the .Xauthority file of the user connected to the X server instead of guess. In plus it's good to start X11vnc through the Xinetd super server. Than X11vnc will be started only on demand by the Vnc client.

A Vnc client demand of connection must happen only when an X session is already activate on the Vnc server side by the display manager or an X user. Than the authority files are already generated. So, in this sequence you reduce the chances that X11vnc fail to start because of a missing authority file.

As an alternative you can install the tigervnc xorg extension who work better in my opinion than X11vnc. You have to activate the extension for example in the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/Module.conf
Code:
Section "Module"
    Load    "vnc"
EndSection

and set the security type for example in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/Screen.conf
Code:
Section "Screen"
...
Option       "SecurityTypes"       "none"
...
EndSection


I use no password but you can set one that the Vnc client must enter to access the TigerVnc server. You don't need to use an authority file with the tigervnc xorg extension. It's possible to start the default X session through Vnc if no X session is up.

X11vnc have a lot of options but the tigervnc xorg extension work with not too much efforts. The Vnc protocol have a lot of possibilities and is supported by many different servers.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjames
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Location: 32°9'50" N 94°50'54" W

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien wrote:
Hello,

the parameter -auth guess is guilty according with your log. It's better to put the auth file of the display manager you use or the .Xauthority file of the user connected to the X server instead of guess. In plus it's good to start X11vnc through the Xinetd super server. Than X11vnc will be started only on demand by the Vnc client.

A Vnc client demand of connection must happen only when an X session is already activate on the Vnc server side by the display manager or an X user. Than the authority files are already generated. So, in this sequence you reduce the chances that X11vnc fail to start because of a missing authority file.

As an alternative you can install the tigervnc xorg extension who work better in my opinion than X11vnc. You have to activate the extension for example in the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/Module.conf
Code:
Section "Module"
    Load    "vnc"
EndSection





and set the security type for example in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/Screen.conf
Code:
Section "Screen"
...
Option       "SecurityTypes"       "none"
...
EndSection


I use no password but you can set one that the Vnc client must enter to access the TigerVnc server. You don't need to use an authority file with the tigervnc xorg extension. It's possible to start the default X session through Vnc if no X session is up.

X11vnc have a lot of options but the tigervnc xorg extension work with not too much efforts. The Vnc protocol have a lot of possibilities and is supported by many different servers.


Hi,
I created /etc/X11/xorg.conf/Module.conf and entered the two sections that you suggested. x11vnc still own't start.

I have no idea how to make tigervnc run as a server.

Regards,
donjames
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must emerge the tigervnc xorg extension to make it available to Xorg. When you use the tigervnc xorg extension you must not use X11vnc. You must stop the X11vnc service.

The tigervnc xorg extension module start the TigerVnc server when Vnc clients ask to connect to it and your X session.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjames
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Location: 32°9'50" N 94°50'54" W

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien wrote:
You must emerge the tigervnc xorg extension to make it available to Xorg. When you use the tigervnc xorg extension you must not use X11vnc. You must stop the X11vnc service.

The tigervnc xorg extension module start the TigerVnc server when Vnc clients ask to connect to it and your X session.


How do I emerge the tigervnc or extension?

donjames
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this extension is in Portage or need to be compile from an overlay but you can make a search with emerge with the keyword tiger or vnc to know if it is in Portage. Maybe there is a USE flag for it.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum