Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cannot start desktop with sddm (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 1:10 pm    Post subject: cannot start desktop with sddm (solved) Reply with quote

I have installed Xorg-server, sddm, plasma-desktop, twm and xterm. But I cannot get any of those running someting usable.

1: I log in as my regular user.
- if I want to start sddm I get
Code:

user@desktop ~$ sddm
[14:42:04.819] (II) DEAMON: Initializing...
[14:42:04.824] (II) DEAMON: Starting...
[14:42:04.824] (II) DEAMON: Logind interface found...
[14:42:04.825] (II) DEAMON: Adding new display on vt7 ...
[14:42:04.826] (II) DEAMON: Loading theme configuration from ""
[14:42:04.826] (II) DEAMON: Display server starting...
[14:42:04.826] (II) DEAMON: Running: /usr/bin/X -nolisten tcp -auth /var/run/sddm/{d4583f19-3cd6-4df9-8f9b31ed4a54} -background none -noreset -displayfd 16 -seat seat0 vt7
[14:42:04.861] (II) DEAMON: Failed to read display number from pipe
[14:42:04.861] (II) DEAMON: Display server failed to start. Exiting
Aborted
user@desktop ~$


2: if I log in as my regular user and run
Code:

user@desktop ~$startx /usr/bin.twm

I get a black screen. But if I click on the left mouse button I get a drop down menu, I can choose Xterm and it opens and runs. So I take it that X can run and do something useful. Only after I close Xterm do I get a mouse cursor.

3: if I login as root and then
Code:

desktop ~ # sddm

Then SDDM starts and displays the graphical login for my user. If I next give the user password I briefly see the plasma logo and then I get dropped into the terminal with a blinking _. But I cannot type anything, alt-ctrl-backspace does not work. Only way to get out of it is a second terminal and reboot.

If I go into the /home/user/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log I see:
Code:

QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
cannot convert KDE_FULL_SESSION argument to STRING or COMPOUND_TEXT.
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
kdeinit5: preparing to launch '/usr/lib64/libexec/kf5/klauncher'
kdeinit5: Launched KLauncher, pid = 2813, result = 0
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
kdeinit5: opened connection to :0
kdeinit5: preparing to launch 'libkdeinit5_kded5'
Could not open kded5 using a library: Cannot load library libkdeinit5_kded5: (libkdeinit5_kded5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)
kdeinit5: Launched KDED, pid = 2816 result = 0
kdeinit5: preparing to launch 'libkdeinit5_kcminit_startup'
kdeinit5: Launched 'kcminit_startup', pid = 2817 result = 0
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
Initializing  "kcm_style" :  "kcminit_style"
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'GTK_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/ikke/.gtkrc:/home/ikke/.config/gtkrc' from launcher.
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'GTK2_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:/home/ikke/.gtkrc-2.0:/home/ikke/.config/gtkrc-2.0' from launcher.
Initializing  "kcm_mouse" :  "kcminit_mouse"
Initializing  "kcm_access" :  "kcminit_access"
kdeinit5: Got EXEC_NEW '/usr/bin/kaccess' from launcher.
kdeinit5: preparing to launch '/usr/bin/kaccess'
kdeinit5: PID 2817 terminated.
Xlib XKB extension major= 1  minor= 0
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
X server XKB extension major= 1  minor= 0
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
Configuring Lock Action
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'SESSION_MANAGER=local/desktop:@/tmp/.ICE-unix/2887,unix/desktop:/tmp/.ICE-unix/2887' from launcher.
kcm_touchpad: Using X11 backend
Initializing  "kded_touchpad" :  "kcminit_touchpad"
kcm_touchpad: Using X11 backend
org.kde.plasma.session: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/org.kde.plasmashell.desktop" ("/usr/bin/plasmashell")
org.kde.plasma.session: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/polkit-kde-authentication-agent-1.desktop" ("/usr/lib64/libexec/polkit-kde-authentication-agent-1")
QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.11'
Session path: "/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_32"
QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.11'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
New PolkitAgentListener  0x560038705ca0
Adding new listener  PolkitQt1::Agent::Listener(0x560038722740) for  0x560038705ca0
Listener online
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
kwin_xkbcommon: XKB: couldn't find a Compose file for locale "C.utf8"

"Cannot register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1.Error.Failed: User of caller and user of subject differs."
Authentication agent result: false
Couldn't register listener!
org.kde.plasma.session: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/gmenudbusmenuproxy.desktop" ("/usr/bin/gmenudbusmenuproxy")
org.kde.plasmaquick: Applet preload policy set to 1
kf5.kpackage: No metadata file in the package, expected it at: "/usr/share/wallpapers/Next/contents/images/"
kf5.kpackage: No metadata file in the package, expected it at: "/usr/share/wallpapers/Next/contents/images/"
kf5.kpackage: No metadata file in the package, expected it at: "/usr/share/wallpapers/Next/contents/images/"
file:///usr/share/plasma/wallpapers/org.kde.image/contents/ui/main.qml:76:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to QStringList
file:///usr/share/plasma/wallpapers/org.kde.image/contents/ui/main.qml:75:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to int
file:///usr/share/plasma/wallpapers/org.kde.image/contents/ui/main.qml:75:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to int
file:///usr/share/plasma/wallpapers/org.kde.image/contents/ui/main.qml:76:9: Unable to assign [undefined] to QStringList
qt.qpa.xcb: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 896, resource id: 41943053, major code: 3 (GetWindowAttributes), minor code: 0
qt.qpa.xcb: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 9 (BadDrawable), sequence: 897, resource id: 41943053, major code: 14 (GetGeometry), minor code: 0
trying to show an empty dialog
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
kdeinit5: Got EXEC_NEW '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/file.so' from launcher.
kdeinit5: preparing to launch '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/file.so'
lock called
Lock window Id:  27262983
CreateNotify: 27262983
CreateNotify: 27262985
CreateNotify: 35651588
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-ikke'
Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL


So a regular user cannot start sddm and sddm cannot launch a desktop if the one that starts sddm (root) is not the one the user the desktop is started for. And you cannot start a desktop for root. A bit of a catch-22 I think.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions


Last edited by Spanik on Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
account
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's not how you should start your DE. See instructions here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/SDDM#Service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But that way it starts automatically at boot! Now as I run into trouble after each emerge --update @world because something changed with plasma/python/perl/poppler or some other small thing, this means that each time after an update I need to boot back into a CD, change it back to boot in runlevel 3 , get it back working and then change it back to auto?

There must be a way to start sddm after boot and them log in as a normal user?
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7964
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you want to log into your user only to start sddm and... log into your user again?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because whenever I do an update @world it completely breaks. And then you cannot log in because no way to get into a terminal unless you boot the live cd, change it so sddm doesn't start automatically, get it working again, change it back to automatically, boot again only to find it still doesn't work and so on. Whenever a single component of plasma changes the updates mess everything up. I have had days of troubles after a poppler update, complete reintalls after something of python or perl changes. I don't use systemd but after every tiny change of it the updates break the system. With Plasma circular dependencies where one component depends on version X but it doesn't emerge the dependency because component Y needs another incompatible version of it are the norm after updates.

And certainly with a new install. I just log into a root terminal and emerge all the applications I need/want. What is the use of logging into your user if whatever you need to do, you need sudo or su root when emerging?

So I prefer by far to boot into a root terminal (maybe do some needed maintenance stuff) and then start my user. OK, this might be against some rules, but this is a personal desktop, not a production server.

I know, then why use Plasma? Can't help it, but other desktops just don't allow the configuration to get them working how I prefer.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
account
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can remove sddm from default runlevel before doing @world update. On reboot you will get your text console login, you can fix stuff and do whatever you want, and once everything works you can add sddm back to default runlevel.
As mentioned on the wiki page it is very easy to start sddm manually
Code:
rc-service sddm start


However, from the way you describe how everything breaks when you do an update is suspect there might be some misconfiguration with your system. Normally it does not happen that a @world update breaks stuff to the degree that you don't get a working DE and you are forced to fix things in text console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7964
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanik wrote:
With Plasma circular dependencies where one component depends on version X but it doesn't emerge the dependency because component Y needs another incompatible version of it are the norm after updates.

Sounds like you have a mess with package.accept_keywords.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be, but that doesn't help me now does it?

So, how can I log into a root terminal and then start the desktop as my regular user?
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 348
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you think about the future, what would be better: Making your system clean and having no problems with any world-updates, or finding a specific solution now which will break after your next emerge world ?

If you want help for the first solution post these infos:
Code:
more /etc/portage/make.conf
emerge --info
eselect profile show
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7964
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanik wrote:
So, how can I log into a root terminal and then start the desktop as my regular user?

No, you log into your regular user and start your desktop directly.

Gentoo KDE Wiki to the rescue: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/de#No_display_manager
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Spanik wrote:
So, how can I log into a root terminal and then start the desktop as my regular user?

No, you log into your regular user and start your desktop directly.

Gentoo KDE Wiki to the rescue: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/de#No_display_manager


Thanks, this seems to work. I can log in as a regular user and start Plasma. But after looking around I don't know if I'm going to keep that sluggish thing. Goodness me is that like wading in treacle.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7964
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it is sluggish, then you have a problem. It is obviously not normal. But that's not very specific.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
If it is sluggish, then you have a problem. It is obviously not normal. But that's not very specific.


It is hard to compare and I do not have it yet configured as I like. So a lof off things like animations, tooltips, previews etc are still on. Also not yet configured the mouse and keyboard.

This latest is something very annoying in Linux: no system wide setting for keyboard layout, num lock, mouse (left-right swap, focus, acceleration...). So I have it now that in the terminals I do have the correct keyboard layout but start X and it is all gone.

I'll plod on. But for now I can continue. Thanks!
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 515
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, more or less solved. A bit inconvenient at times but good enough.

Thanks for the help.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum