Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Japanese Input under GTK2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 457
Location: /etc/localtime

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to wake this slightly older thread, but I just want to say thanks for the guide. Also, I have a question. How can I use this with Mozilla Firefox?

The quote below is from the im-ja website:
Quote:
For some reason the mozilla developers ripped out the "Input Method" menu, if you right-click on an input widget, you won't find it there. You can use IM-JA by

* preloading IM-JA when starting mozilla:

$ GTK_IM_MODULE="im-ja" mozilla

* or if you use galeon, you can right-click on the addressbar or some other stock GTK input widget and select Japanese there.

I tried running
Code:
GTK_IM_MODULE="im-ja" firefox
but it didn't seem to work.

How do you use it?
_________________
rcxAsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noathustra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 129
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use uim for Japanese input and it works well with firefox/mozilla.
I have:
Code:

LC_ALL=ja_JP.utf8 uim-xim &
export XMODIFIERS=@im=uim-anthy
export GTK_IM_MODULE="uim-anthy"

in my .xinitrc file (I start x with startx) and I can switch to Japanese input using the the shift-space keystroke. There is a UIM applet for the toolbar which displays the input mode. All in all it works very well.

I stopped using im-ja because a) I couldn't get it to work with openoffice and b) I was getting the palindrone creation bug with gtkhtml.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 457
Location: /etc/localtime

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info! It's working now! And even better, uim has more support for other languages too. So you've managed to help me kill two birds with one stone. I now have Chinese input support too. Thanks!

However, the thing currently is that shift+space starts it off in "pinyin-big-5" How can I switch it to hiragana without having to set environment variables and such?
_________________
rcxAsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noathustra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 129
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't installed Chinese support so I can't be much help directly.

I highly recommend the following page which is what I used when I was setting up input methods.

http://home.no.net/david/i18n.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 457
Location: /etc/localtime

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link. :) I am currently still plucking away at it. I just tried installing SCIM... but I can't get it to work.

The issue for me currently neither Japanese nor Chinese are my native languages. However, I want to make sure that I can use them both.

But after reading some of the documentation, it seems that when you set up the software, you need to pick a conversion engine. Eg, Anthy. However, these seem to be exclusively Japanese or Chinese. I so it seems that I won't be able to switch languages without shutting down the program, resetting the environment variable and then relaunching the application.

I was hoping that I could do something like I do in Windows. Just click the language icon and select what language I want to use.

It seems like it should be possible, because I saw this screenshot of SCIM in action:
http://ns.turbolinux.com.cn/~suzhe/scim/screenshots/snapshot14.png

I have no clue how to access this menu. If I right click on the SCIM icon that appears in the system tray and choose setup, it lists all those input methods as installed. But I have no clue how to access them.

Pressing ctrl+space doesn't do anything. Once and only once, it opened the SCIM tool bar (but it was still exclusively Chinese). I'm not sure how I got it to appear. But now no more.

This is getting very confusing. It seems that all the documentation out there is geared to making one exclusive language work.

Will continue to poke around...

EDIT
Note, I can change between Japanese and Chinese input methods on the fly with UIM via GTK2's context menu. However, again, the issue was that Mozilla's software do not have this menu.

Is there a hotkey to switch between these?
_________________
rcxAsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duty
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is display rather then input, but have any Epiphany/other Moz based browser users had a problem in which when Japanese and non-japanese text are mixed, the Japanese is invisible unless highlighted (and even then, only one block of uninterrupted Japanese at a time is visible) ?

I've been living with the glitch so long, through Epiphany 1.0-1.2 and GTK 2.2-2.4, that I'm almost past conciously noticing it by now. Going to completely reinstall soon, so that may fix it, but I'd like to know if anyone else encountered this behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*covers ears and chants "this thread is not dead, this thread is not dead"*

The problem with mixed languages probably has to do with the encoding. Anything other then Unicode (read: UTF8) is likely to have overlapping or missing characters. If encoding isn't explicitly redefined (which I am sure is possible, although not often done), It is not supprising that Mozilla would stick with its first guess.



noathustra - the mirrored text problem should be corrected in 1.2
(http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum.php?thread_id=4776612&forum_id=29602)

I did get im-ja/OpenOffice working at one point, but have cleared the system since. Believe I got it from dropping the utf8 or somthing. Should try again soon.

-Sud.
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
an9n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: UIM Reply with quote

My choice of Japanese Input is hands down Uim, or uim-anthy to be precise.

emerge [your dictionary of choice, i.e. canna etc]
emerge app-i18n/anthy
emerge app-i18n/uim

set gtk-immodule="uim-anthy" in your bash_profile, startx and your done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting errors from im-ja-conf when compling with GCC 3.4.x?

See https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=57349

-Sud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gabor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 156
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i use uim + anthy.

anthy:
no special reason, i could use canna as well....

uim:
first i tried im-ja...
well..it has a nice gui to configure it and so on,
but it has several problems (at least it had
4-5months ago ):
1. in gaim, pressing ENTERwhen doing jpn input does not work ( it sends the text immediately, so im-ja cannot turn it into kanji ). a workaround is to set gaim to use ctrl+enter instead.... uim does not have this problem
2. i sometimes use a slovak keyboard layout, where i 'combine' characters...means i press [=] and after that i press [a], and it becomes [á]. this does not work with im-ja... it works with uim.

an additional bonus for uim is that mlterm supports it directly.
i really enjoy entering japanese into a terminal app,
i am using gnome, and as you know, gnome-term is an unusable application, and in the rest of the apps, the only way was to use XIM (which sux ;)). but now with uim, i can use mlterm nicely ;)

as i said i use gnome, means i use the gtk2 toolkit mostly, where the uim input module takes care of everything.
as a terminal app i use mlterm, which also has direct binding to mlterm.
firefox also works well (it does not allow you to change the input module, but that's ok, because i use GTK_IM_MODULE="uim-anthy" all the time).

the only 'problematic' app is OpenOffice, which only talks XIM :(.

well, there is one problem with uim:
if you use it's xim mode:
you have to set your locale to japanese.

that's a big problem for me, because i use en_US.UTF-8 locale.

but as i wrote, i only have to use XIM in openoffice. i can live with that ;)

if anyone needs more specific instructions about setting uim up, just say ;)

btw. uim is configured by $HOME/.uim, which uses a lisp-like syntax...

the only customizations i use are:
i changed the shortcut to enable/disable uim, and the switch-hiragana/katakana key.

Code:

(define-key generic-on-key? '("<Hyper> "))
(define-key generic-off-key? '("<Hyper> "))
(define-key anthy-kana-toggle-key? "<Hyper>k")


( <Hyper> means the Windows-key (at least on my computer ;))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully, this thread's first anniversary will lead to its replacement.

Since I've recently switched to kde 3.3.1, I'm currently investigating the -immqt USE flag and its implications. Or, more specifically, looking at scim-qtimm, uim, and anthy.

Though this outline will work fine for most GTK2-based applications, the next one will be the kinput2 killer. I hope. :)

-Sud.

EDIT: Bugs 70501 & 70502 filed after research. This will definately be easier then it was a few months ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
camillo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Torino, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having some problem with im-jp and uim.
I have tried both of them but in the input methods There is no japanese.
I have followed all the instruction...
can be a gnome problem? Even if I delete all the entries in /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules the input methods avviable desn't change. Is possible that I have to modify another file?
Thanks Camillo

Solved I have to edit also those two files
Code:

gtk-query-immodules-2.0 >   /etc/gtk-2.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gtk.immodules
gtk-query-immodules-2.0 >   /etc/gtk-2.0/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gtk.immodules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

camillo wrote:
I'm having some problem with im-jp and uim.
I have tried both of them but in the input methods There is no japanese.
I have followed all the instruction...
can be a gnome problem? Even if I delete all the entries in /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules the input methods avviable desn't change. Is possible that I have to modify another file?
Thanks Camillo

Solved I have to edit also those two files
Code:

gtk-query-immodules-2.0 >   /etc/gtk-2.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gtk.immodules
gtk-query-immodules-2.0 >   /etc/gtk-2.0/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gtk.immodules



Just wondering, what does an
Code:
ls -l /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules

give? I'd most likely say this was a permissions problem... Mine is 644, owner root.

-Sud.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
camillo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Torino, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same as yours 644 owner root...

Code:

ls -l /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 1694 Nov 17 15:38 /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread is now depreciated, in favor of a cross-DE method. 6526 views - a good run.

Japanese Input (in KDE & Gnome)

-Sud.

EDIT: Moved from DT&T. --pjp
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum