Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems installing grub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:03 pm    Post subject: Problems installing grub Reply with quote

Hey everyone long time no gentoo.
Just got back into gentoo and I'm having extreme difficulties.
For some reason I cant even het grub to install.
The whole process seems to be slightly different.

Ii swear I'm following videos and handbook guides correctly .
Grub is throwing me /boot does not seem to be an efi.
Am I missing something

I've tried recounting and going over the handbooks.
I'm currently not home I've tried 5 6 times now with fresh install and same error everytime.

Am I able to share my install setup I'd really like to get this going
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untitled-software
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We need more info here. What does your partition set up look like? What file system are you using for your boot partition? Has it been set to be bootable? Is it mounted properly? What is the exact error being spit out by GRUB?

For GRUB to properly install on a UEFI system, you need to confirm these following things:

1) The disk is GPT labeled (ie not MBR)

2) There is a separate boot partition
2a) The boot partition is bootable
2b) The boot partition FS is FAT32 and not, for example, EXT4.
2c) The boot partition is mounted (to /boot or /boot/efi)

3) GRUB must be merged with
Code:
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
in make.conf (I'm assuming this is already the case due to the specific error you're encountering).

4) Your install command is as follows:
Code:
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/esp* --bootloader-id=gentoo**


* esp being replaced with your currently mounted boot partition, ie /boot or /boot/efi
** This can realistically be called anything.

Since GRUB is telling you that /boot isn't EFI, I can almost guarantee going back and confirming each of the aforementioned steps will either fix your problem or get you closer to fixing it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I deffo do t have this in make.conf
I will emerge when home
I have this partition scheme I believe

/dev/sda1 /boot/efi/
/dev/sda2 /boot

Or Visa versa I really hope what u says worls . I dont want to restart again.
Seems the bottles setup bas changed slot since I first started.

Thank u so much for help i hope it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys so i tried to remeger this is my setup before chroot


Code:
parted -a optimal /dev/sda
rm 2
mklabel gpt
unit mib
mkpart primary 1 512
name 1 EFI
mkpart primary 512 1012
name 2 boot
mkpart primary 1012 17396
name 3 swap
mkpart primary 17396 58356
name 4 root
mkpart primary 58356 -1
q
mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/sda1
mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda2
mkswap /dev/sda3
swapon /dev/sda3
mkfs.xfs /dev/sda4
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda5
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
cd /mnt/gentoo
wget https://bouncer.gentoo.org/fetch/root/all/releases/amd64/autobuilds/20200521T110126Z/stage3-amd64-20200521T110126Z.tar.xz
tar xpvf stage3-*.tar.xz --xattrs-include='*.*' --numeric-owner
mirrorselect -i -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
mkdir --parents /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/repos.conf
cp /mnt/gentoo/usr/share/portage/config/repos.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf
cp --dereference /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount --types proc /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/dev
test -L /dev/shm && rm /dev/shm && mkdir /dev/shm
mount --types tmpfs --options nosuid,nodev,noexec shm /dev/shm
chmod 1777 /dev/shm


i have tried to remerge as descived avove but still having issue .
I manged to get grub to install but it wont boot

Ive just thrown the above script to a fresh install.
i need to chroot and add the rest.

Im really just struggling with the boot efi and grub .

Its very diffrent to ten years or so ago

Im following a video from youtube.
I really dont get what im doing wrong .

I am basically following this along with the handbook im not doing the tmpfs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4SxEzPDjsk

thanks so much

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 313
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you have enabled UEFI Boot in your BIOS ?

After your boot with your minimal CD check if you have the directory: /sys/firmware/efi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 494

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Well DONT watch videos from youtube expecting them to work 100%.
:)
Better to stick with the Gentoo manuals.
You are confusing the /boot partition and the /boot/efi partition.
The second is called ESP(EFI System Partition).
Should be something like 200-500M.
Should be of type ef00.
Should be formated vfat.
It contains the efi binaries(usually grubx64.efi).
The /boot partition contains the kernel and the initramfs'es and grub related stuff.
The efi partition is mounted on the "efi" directory INSIDE the /boot partition.
your "--efi-directory=/esp*" what does that mean????Maybe --efi-directory=/boot/efi?
Your "--bootloader-id=gentoo**" what does that mean????Maybe --bootloader-id=gentoo?
Please it would be super cool if you followed the manuals instead of youtube...............
But it is bound to work eventually....
When you are inside the chroot what is the output of
Code:

mount | grep efivarfs  ####if no output please try
mount -t efivarfs -o rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime  efivarfs /sys/firmware/efi/efivars

If you get an error then maybe there is no uefi in your machine or you booted using a non-uefi usb
Have you installed efibootmgr?
:) :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did use the manual frirst 4 or 4 times.

Im getting so confused with the boot problem i

Gentoo was pretty much 32 bit when i lats stopped .

i basically have 5 paritions
/dev/sda1 /boot
/dev/sda2 /boot/efi
/devsda3 swap
/dev/sda4 /
/devsda5 /home


I dont no if i need the efi partiion of not it just seemsmost current x86 system seem to use them .

Ithe /dev/sda1 is efi and /dev/sda2 is my boot.


after chroot im mounting the /dev/sda2 to /boot
mount /dev/sda1 boot/efi

ive emerge grub with the flags mentioned above .
that got me me a step futher

my partition label is GPT

Ive just gone back and done anothe fresh one im going to keep a snapshot so i dont have to keep rebuilding all the packages,
So annoying as this used to be such a cimple install .

if i systems doesnt need this efi what way am i ment to install /

I used to just hace /boot / and swap

Im going to write every command down from the begining hopefully someone can point me out where i am going wrong .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also followingthe handbook

I dont use genekernel but ive noticed in the video and here its saying i positional may need initramfs

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Kernel

everything seems so complicated to the old way of setting it up.


do i need efi type system ? do i need this init ramfs ?

ios there away iu can get my whole out put for to setup so i can share it here.

Sorry if i am confusing anyone j am dyslexic and struggle with some words
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Say, if you want to cook a meal you take one recipe and follow it. Taking two or more recipes and mixing it all together in one pot won't win you any culinary prizes.
Same thing with bootloader. Here's the recipe I'd use.
1. Sufficient chunk of knowledge.
2. A little common sense.
3. Mix the two above and execute.

In more details.
1. You need just one ESP partition, formatted FAT32. It will be also your boot partition, thus it must be large enough to hold a few kernels you may want to keep there. 128 MiB suggested in the Handbook is a very sane size.
2. Once the partition is prepared you mount it and you run Grub install, as described in Handbook. Make sure you booted in EFI mode, otherwise efivars won't be available.

^^ That's pretty much is it. Note, you do not need the tiny BIOS partition for EFI boot.

The disadvantage of this recipe is it will complete in a few minutes. While with your mixed recipe method you could go on (and enjoy) making your box bootable for weeks. :P
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GDH-gentoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 458
Location: South America

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentobobbyuk wrote:
Code:
parted -a optimal /dev/sda
rm 2
mklabel gpt
unit mib
mkpart primary 1 512
name 1 EFI
mkpart primary 512 1012
name 2 boot
mkpart primary 1012 17396
name 3 swap
mkpart primary 17396 58356
name 4 root
mkpart primary 58356 -1
q
mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/sda1
mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda2
You didn't seem to mark /dev/sda1 as the EFI System Partition (ESP). With parted, that would be a set 1 boot on command. This is mentioned in the Handbook. Post the output of

Code:
fdisk -o type-uuid,type,name -l /dev/sda
and we'll know for sure.

Gentobobbyuk wrote:
i basically have 5 paritions
/dev/sda1 /boot
/dev/sda2 /boot/efi
/devsda3 swap
/dev/sda4 /
/devsda5 /home
I suppose you meant /dev/sda1 to be /boot/efi and /dev/sda2 to be /boot?

Gentobobbyuk wrote:
I used to just hace /boot / and swap
You can still do this. The ESP would have to be mouted at /boot in that case. Of course, this would need a different sequence of parted commands than the one you used.

Gentobobbyuk wrote:
do i need efi type system ?
If you are going to boot in UEFI mode, yes, you need some partition to be the ESP. With this partition layout, that would be /dev/sda1, which you would mount at /boot/efi, and would hold GRUB's EFI executable (grubx64.efi). /dev/sda2, which you would mount at /boot, holds your kernels (and GRUB's support files I think). I suppose this should work, because GRUB2 understands partitions and ext2 filesystems, but I've never tested it.

If you really meant /dev/sda1 to be mounted at /boot and to be the ESP, then you don't need the /dev/sda2 partition, but /dev/sda1 should be large enough to hold the kernels.

Gentobobbyuk wrote:
do i need this init ramfs ?
With this partition layout, you don't need one, provided you configure the kernel properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey mate sorry /boot is /sda2
Boot/efi is sda1


Am I doing this wrong? I deffo deffo didnt set boot bios on from handbook.

Guys I am dyslexic and I struggle sometimes understanding .

Il gl back over the comments when home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentobobbyuk,

Stop reinstalling. That won't fix anything.
Don't watch videos. At best they are incomplete.

Boot with your install media.
Do not make any partitions.
Do not make any filesystems.
Reassemble your install at /mnt/gentoo. Its all still there.
Do not chroot.

Post the output of
Code:
mount
so we can see how your install is put together.

Do not copy type. Save the output to a file if you cannot post from your install media.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys I fully understand i tried the handbook first I've failed a few times .

It's just very different for me to get my head around .

So do I need this efi partition
I deffo didnt set boot 1 on .

The handbook is not the easiest thing to follow specially the partitioning bit .

As i said used gentoo many years ago for work and could fly thru it .

I have various machines which I'm guessing are all efi. Ufei .

My 32 machine still runs fine.


I'm confused on the partition layout exactly
And the way grub is installed .

Please remember j am dyslexic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi needy soon as home I will do as said k reinstall when I start trying multiple options and it messes up .


I wrote a script to get me back to where I am .
It really is just a few boot issues .

Hopefully we can get this fixed later

Thank u so much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentobobbyuk,

Yep, its just a boot issue.

Do not reinstall.
Do not pass Go
Do not collect 200 <local currency units>

We will fix it when you post the information I requested.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi needy again sorry my dyslexia is confusing so u mean my current system reboot .
So I need to mount /devsda4 to /mnt/gebtoo or bot even that and just post the mount output .


I swear it was do much easier on 32 bit .

I'm confused what the efi is even for why cant grub jusg load as before .
Do I even need this efi ? I'm modern laptop so everything is just so confusing.

Thank u for your support.

I'm actually doing this all for a good cause . Bit disappointed on my self that I'm having such simple issues .

Il be hone in a hr thanks neddy . I'm sure u were the guy who used to help me years again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentobobbyuk,

I don't want to tell you what to mount where.

When you did your install last time, you made partitions.
Then you made filesystems on those partitions
Then you constructed the filesystem tree at /mnt/gentoo to be able to install.

Skip the first two steps as they will destroy your install.
Go straight to mounting your partitions. Your install is still there.

Code:
mount
with no parameters will show what you have done.
That is what we need to see to be sure that we can make grub-install work.

After we have checked and maybe fixed that, we can move on.

The EFI firmware in your modern laptap can read exaclly one filesystem type. That's fixed at vfat.
The EFI firmware will load and execute a program from there. In your case, it will be grub.
The EFI partition and the boot partition need not be the same partition but you must have a vfat EFI partition or booting is not possible.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GDH-gentoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 458
Location: South America

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Skip the first two steps as they will destroy your install.
Go straight to mounting your partitions. Your install is still there.

Code:
mount
with no parameters will show what you have done.
That is what we need to see to be sure that we can make grub-install work.

After we have checked and maybe fixed that, we can move on.
I'd still add to that the output of:

Code:
fdisk -o type-uuid,type,name -l /dev/sda
It's not enough to format the EFI System Partition as FAT. It also has to be marked in the partition table, so that the UEFI firmware can distinguish it from any other partition that happens to contain a FAT filesystem, but is not the ESP. fdisk will reveal that.

And while we are at it, I'd also add the output of ls /sys/firmware/efi, to know if the installation media booted in UEFI mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GDH-gentoo,

Some very good points.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(neddy i am sorry about the fresh installl situation due to the way my brain works i need to no where i am going wrong)





Right guys im starting fresh and im at the terminal
I have a snapshot of my old machine but its a mess.

ALl i am having problems with is the disc structure and do i need this efi boot or what ,
I am not understanding the hnadbook at all .''I

so fresh install

how do i no if i need this efi partition?
i have an amd machine which i deffo no uses it ,y laptop im unsure .
so if i do not need to use it how do i progress .


my output lspci is as follows
Code:

livecd ~ # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 01)
00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 08)
00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 08)
00:07.7 System peripheral: VMware Virtual Machine Communication Interface (rev 10)
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: VMware SVGA II Adapter
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI (rev 01)
00:11.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI bridge (rev 02)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
02:00.0 USB controller: VMware USB1.1 UHCI Controller
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) (rev 01)
02:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371/ES1373 / Creative Labs CT2518 (rev 02)
02:03.0 USB controller: VMware USB2 EHCI Controller



I just want a normal partition scheeme as before .

my old setup was /boot / and swap . i was using 32 but environment before

I have no problem understanding the kernel and the rest of the guide still.

I just cant get my head around the partition lay out /boot and /boot/efi and do i even need this .

which partition needs to be vfat /boot or boot.efi

ive been trying to do thus for 6 days now and im just mind blown .

even the start the handbook confuses only the partition section .


I am sorry for my ongoing questions .

Im basically asking u guys is there away to figure out if i even need this partion .

2 of all if i dont need it how do i set my layout and file formats for the boot ones.

i am currently in vmware and dont worry the kernel stuff is set for this i have my old 32 bit setup working fine .


this is such a simple task but i just cant get my head round it .''

Im just basically trying to have a root boot swap and home

i really dont no about this efi if i even need it .

whcih parameters need to be set and even why .


iim seeing u can now emerge genkernel with gentoo-sources ???? im pretty u couldnt do this before to build some sort of initramfs .

its seems things have changed so much im used to my old ways . and its just a mess in my brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
my old setup was /boot / and swap

You can still use the same partition scheme.

Code:
Device      Start       End   Sectors  Size Type
/dev/sda1    2048    409600    407553  199M EFI System
/dev/sda2  411648 125045390 124633743 59.4G Linux filesystem


This is from my EFI booting desktop, you can't have simpler than this. You can add swap if you wish. I have swap file instead of swap partition.

I use EFI stub kernel instead of Grub.

Code:
~ # ls -l /boot/EFI/Boot/
total 9880
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5085280 May  7 09:58 bootx64.efi
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5026464 Mar  7 14:52 bootx64_pre.efi


First is the newest, the other one is backup. I can choose the backup from EFI boot menu which can be called by hitting F11 during powerup.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys i have messaged neddy privately just to explane some issues he has helped me previously and understand my dyslexia .
I just need to figure out where the hell i am going wrong here.

Ive never ever had issues like this before.

I dont no if i need EFI why on earth i have /boot/efi how on earth do i tell what i need
how to setup the correct paritions

and how to install grub properly .

im still fine with everything else.

im clearly missing something very simple but its blowing my mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentobobbyuk,

Ah ... a VMWare guest install.
Do it the old way you know and love. Its BIOS. No EFI required.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not exactly, with Grub2 a new tiny partition is required for legacy boot.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46080
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover,

Only with GPT.

Grub2 will use the 'wasted' space before the first partition when an MSDOS partition table is used.
There is no 'wasted' space before the first partition with GPT.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum