Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hight cpu usage intel/nvidia/nouveau
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 7:50 pm    Post subject: Hight cpu usage intel/nvidia/nouveau Reply with quote

Hello guys, I have been having some serious issues with CPU usage when resizing windows in X.
I have tried various nvidia driver versions/kernels, nouveau drivers,widnow managers,display managers.
I also tried to create a new user, to make sure it was not a user related missconfiguration.
I am not sure on what to try next.. I tried everything i could think of.
I uplaoded a video, if somone wants to check it out.
I am on intel i7 8700 with nvidia gtx 1070ti, this setup should be destroying every possible desktop environment available...

https://a.uguu.se/gwS6frSXp3ev_wtf_nvidia.mkv
https://anonfile.com/jcld2607oe/wtf_nvidia_mkv

dmesg:
http://sprunge.us/NSSQN4

make.conf:
http://sprunge.us/kimqV0

Xorg.log:
http://sprunge.us/gSfCqV

lspci:
http://sprunge.us/TcebLg

glxinfo
http://sprunge.us/3QfJze

inxi -F:
http://sprunge.us/sM5ZxQ

echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE
x11

tried to open like 15 istances of glxgears, nothing lags until i try to resize windows
https://i.imgur.com/axuylj2.png
718 frames in 5.0 seconds = 143.539 FPS

nvidia-settingshttp://sprunge.us/3QfJze
https://i.imgur.com/axuylj2.png
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.


Last edited by InvisibleRasta on Mon May 18, 2020 8:16 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to your lspci you seem to have only one video card --that is nvidia.
Code:

VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070 Ti] (rev a1)

This system of yours doesnot seem to have hybrid graphics, meaning there is no
Code:
 
Intel Integrated Graphics Controller

Therefore in your make.conf you only need
Code:

VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"

Please try to avoid emerging graphics drivers manually but rather let the VIDEO_CARDS entries do the job for you.
If you run "lsmod | grep nvidia" do you see the nvidia driver.
Furthermore if you are experiencing high cpu usage when running nvidia try to have this in /etc/default/grub
Code:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="..................nvidia-drm.modeset=1"


:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh thank you for the reply. i did fix that. but i am having the same exact issues i had before. any other ideas?
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46326
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

InvisibleRasta,

Post all the information in your first post again, so that we have a consistent data set to work from that reflects the state after you 'fixed it'.

In your original post, Xorg is using the modeset driver, not any of the drivers you cited.

Code:
[    48.692] (II) modeset(0): Refusing to try glamor on llvmpipe
[    48.693] (EE) modeset(0): glamor initialization failed

You have absolutely no hardware acceleration of any sort. Your CPU is plotting every pixel, so it doesn't get any slower.

In the auto detected driver list there is
Code:
[    48.385] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 0
[    48.385] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 1
[    48.385] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 2
[    48.385] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 3
[    48.385] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 4


but
Code:
[    48.386] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module nouveau
[    48.386] (EE) Failed to load module "nouveau" (module does not exist, 0)
nouveau is not installed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have just updated all of the pastes in my main post . thank you
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46326
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

InvisibleRasta,

You have the nVidia binary blob in use now.
Code:
[   467.715] (II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce GTX 1070 Ti (GP104-A) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
[   467.715] (--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 8388608 kBytes
[   467.715] (--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 86.04.85.00.2c
[   467.715] (II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X


It
Quote:
should be destroying every possible desktop environment available...
now :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all my cpu cores spike still to 80% usage when resizing windows.
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46326
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

InvisibleRasta,

What does
Code:
eselect opengl list
show as active.
It should be nvidia.
If not, fix it and restart Xorg.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i used glxinfo instead as it seems that eselect-opengl is obsoleted by libglvnd now. i posted the output on the main thread post
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46326
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

InvisibleRasta,

Code:
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
That's correct.

Is your normal user is the video group?
If not, even though you have direct rendering, it will not be used.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thing, how do you measure this "spike"? Some CPU activity is normal.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can see in the video how i mesure the CPU spike. but just in case you didnt see... the CPU spike happens when resizing a for example a simple terminal window. goes from 1%-3% cpu usage when idle to crazy 50%-80%
I measure with htop and nvtop
yes my user is in the video groups @NeddySeagoon
i am not sure what to check ... as i said i tested nouveau aswell and the same thign was happening
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bumping this, hoping somone gives me any other idea on wha ti could be checking. i am still with the same problems i described in the first post
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coderanger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

InvisibleRasta wrote:
bumping this, hoping somone gives me any other idea on wha ti could be checking. i am still with the same problems i described in the first post

Consult with your window manager documentation regarding how to disable screen redrawing on resize operation or decrease redrawing ticks when resizing. Constant redraw when resizing is a resource consuming operation and it's not only you experience such behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems that consuming 70% of an i7 8700 is a bit too much for a windows resize.... it happens in awesome,xfce,openbox... thats the wm i tested as of now... all with the same behaviour.
i am starting to think it might be systemd related
_________________
Don't gain the world and lose our soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum