Would like a closed form solution for emerging Qt
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Featherfoot
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:08 pm    Post subject: Would like a closed form solution for emerging Qt Reply with quote

I have been running KDE and Qt for many years now and updates to Qt are always a nightmare. This is odd because I earned my living doing Qt on Windows for several years and I know that minor versions of Qt are almost always binary compatible. New versions will work with the calling programs without even recompiling.

Currently a new version of Qt on Gentoo means I have to hand compile every routine in Qt with code like "emerge --update --nodeps <qtroutine>". Once that is complete, I look through the results of an "emerge --newuse --deep --update --with-bdeps=y world" to see what I forgot or didn't show up in the list of Qt routines. I'm struggling with that problem now.

There must be a way that this can be done in a cleaner form. What am I missing?
asturm
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea what you are doing, `emerge -uvaDq world` works fine on multiple systems for me.

asturm wrote:
I have no idea what you are doing

...but you can change that...

Featherfoot wrote:
I'm struggling with that problem now.

...by revealing your problem.
Featherfoot
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote