Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't connect to wifi networks with NetworkManager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 12:29 pm    Post subject: Can't connect to wifi networks with NetworkManager Reply with quote

Hello,
I've just installed gentoo on my box, and using gnome without systemd as DE, my wireless card is a Qualcomm Atheros AR9227.
I can't manage to connect to my home network using NetworkManager, please find the log below:
Code:

device (wlp4s6): Activation: starting connection 'HomeWifi' (fddc1504-f8d1-486c-b15e-3eec7d287137)
audit: op="connection-activate" uuid="fddc1504-f8d1-486c-b15e-3eec7d287137" name="HomeWifi" pid=3388 uid=1000 result="success"
device (wlp4s6): state change: disconnected -> prepare (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
manager: NetworkManager state is now CONNECTING
device (wlp4s6): state change: prepare -> config (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
device (wlp4s6): Activation: (wifi) access point 'HomeWifi' has security, but secrets are required.
device (wlp4s6): state change: config -> need-auth (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
device (wlp4s6): state change: need-auth -> prepare (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
device (wlp4s6): state change: prepare -> config (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
device (wlp4s6): Activation: (wifi) connection 'HomeWifi' has security, and secrets exist.  No new secrets needed.
Config: added 'ssid' value 'HomeWifi'
Config: added 'scan_ssid' value '1'
Config: added 'bgscan' value 'simple:30:-80:86400'
Config: added 'key_mgmt' value 'WPA-PSK WPA-PSK-SHA256'
Config: added 'psk' value '<hidden>'
device (wlp4s6): supplicant interface state: ready -> scanning
device (wlp4s6): Activation: (wifi) association took too long, failing activation
device (wlp4s6): state change: config -> failed (reason 'ssid-not-found', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
manager: NetworkManager state is now DISCONNECTED
device (wlp4s6): Activation: failed for connection 'HomeWifi'
device (wlp4s6): state change: failed -> disconnected (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp4s6: link is not ready
device (wlp4s6): supplicant interface state: scanning -> disconnected


but using wpa_supplicant from command like it works properly, see the log below:
Code:

wlp4s6: authenticate with 44:fe:3b:d8:27:f6
wlp4s6: send auth to 44:fe:3b:d8:27:f6 (try 1/3)
wlp4s6: authenticated
wlp4s6: associate with 44:fe:3b:d8:27:f6 (try 1/3)
device (wlp4s6): supplicant interface state: disconnected -> associated
sup-iface[0x558ccfdec850,wlp4s6]: connection disconnected (reason -3)
wlp4s6: RX AssocResp from 44:fe:3b:d8:27:f6 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=2)
wlp4s6: associated
device (wlp4s6): supplicant interface state: associated -> disconnected
IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlp4s6: link becomes ready


Searching on google I found out that someone fixed this issue setting this property
in NetworkManager configuration file, but it's not my case.

Code:

# cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
[device]
wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=no


anyone experienced an issue like this? any clue how to fix it?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e3k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 516
Location: Inner Space

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
device (wlp4s6): state change: config -> failed (reason 'ssid-not-found', sys-iface-state: 'managed')

is your SSID really: HomeWifi ?
is your router broadcasting the SSID?
_________________

Flux & Contemplation - Portrait of an Artist in Isolation

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
e3k wrote:
Code:
device (wlp4s6): state change: config -> failed (reason 'ssid-not-found', sys-iface-state: 'managed')

is your SSID really: HomeWifi ?
is your router broadcasting the SSID?

Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to try testing version of NetworkManager, but I can't manage to compile it:
Code:

# USE="modemmanager" emerge --ask --autounmask-write =net-misc/networkmanager-1.22.10

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U #] net-misc/networkmanager-1.22.10 [1.18.4-r3] USE="concheck%* gnutls* tools%* -debug% -doc% -examples% -libpsl% -lto% -nss* -ppp* -syslog% -wext*"

!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

net-misc/networkmanager:0

  (net-misc/networkmanager-1.22.10:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) USE="bluetooth concheck dhclient elogind gnutls introspection modemmanager policykit tools wifi -audit -connection-sharing -consolekit -debug -dhcpcd -doc -examples -iwd -json -libpsl -lto -nss -ofono -ovs -ppp -resolvconf (-selinux) -syslog -systemd -teamd -test -vala -wext" ABI_X86="(64)" pulled in by
    =net-misc/networkmanager-1.22.10 (Argument)

  (net-misc/networkmanager-1.18.4-r3:0/0::gentoo, installed) USE="bluetooth dhclient elogind introspection modemmanager ncurses nss policykit ppp wext wifi -audit -connection-sharing -consolekit -dhcpcd -gnutls -iwd -json -ofono -ovs -resolvconf (-selinux) -systemd -teamd -test -vala" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" pulled in by
    ~net-misc/networkmanager-1.18.4 required by (gnome-extra/nm-applet-1.8.24:0/0::gentoo, installed) USE="gcr gtk introspection modemmanager -ayatana (-selinux) -teamd" ABI_X86="(64)"
    ^                        ^^^^^^                                     
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46339
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dky,

This could be the beginning of going down the rabbithole,
Code:
~net-misc/networkmanager-1.18.4 required by (gnome-extra/nm-applet-1.8.24:0/0::gentoo, installed)

or maybe the testing version of net-misc/networkmanager is enough.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
dky,

This could be the beginning of going down the rabbithole,
Code:
~net-misc/networkmanager-1.18.4 required by (gnome-extra/nm-applet-1.8.24:0/0::gentoo, installed)

or maybe the testing version of net-misc/networkmanager is enough.


Does it mean that I need to upgrande gnome-extra/nm-applet too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum