Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]kde-plasma/powerdevil and plasma-nm Fail Upgrade
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tefrem34
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 330
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:31 pm    Post subject: [Solved]kde-plasma/powerdevil and plasma-nm Fail Upgrade Reply with quote

Hello,
I ugraded to the newest version for kde-plasma/ to 5.18.0 ~amd64 and both kde-plasma/powerdevil and kde-plasma/plasma-nm are both failing to complie.
This is the message that they are both outputing:
Code:
-- Configuring done
CMake Error in libs/CMakeLists.txt:
  Imported target "KF5::NetworkManagerQt" includes non-existent path

    "/usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0/include"

  in its INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES.  Possible reasons include:

  * The path was deleted, renamed, or moved to another location.

  * An install or uninstall procedure did not complete successfully.

  * The installation package was faulty and references files it does not
  provide.



CMake Error in libs/editor/CMakeLists.txt:
  Imported target "KF5::NetworkManagerQt" includes non-existent path

    "/usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0/include"

  in its INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES.  Possible reasons include:

  * The path was deleted, renamed, or moved to another location.

  * An install or uninstall procedure did not complete successfully.

  * The installation package was faulty and references files it does not
  provide.



CMake Error in libs/CMakeLists.txt:
  Imported target "KF5::NetworkManagerQt" includes non-existent path

    "/usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0/include"

  in its INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES.  Possible reasons include:

  * The path was deleted, renamed, or moved to another location.

  * An install or uninstall procedure did not complete successfully.

  * The installation package was faulty and references files it does not
  provide.



CMake Error in libs/editor/CMakeLists.txt:
  Imported target "KF5::NetworkManagerQt" includes non-existent path

    "/usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0/include"

  in its INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES.  Possible reasons include:

  * The path was deleted, renamed, or moved to another location.

  * An install or uninstall procedure did not complete successfully.

  * The installation package was faulty and references files it does not
  provide.

I rebuilt my libffi to see if that would fix it, but it changed nothing.

Thank you for the help.


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Mon Feb 17, 2020 6:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7847
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -1 networkmanager-qt

https://bugs.gentoo.org/695788
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astaines
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:12 pm    Post subject: Possible help - Bug 709424 Reply with quote

See also bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/709424


The latest version of libffi is

Code:

Midnight /home/astaines # equery l libffi
 * Searching for libffi ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-libs/libffi-3.3-r1:0/7


and the use flags are :-

Code:

Midnight /home/astaines # equery u dev-libs/libffi
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for dev-libs/libffi-3.3-r1:
 U I
 - - abi_x86_32   : 32-bit (x86) libraries
 - - debug        : Enable extra debug codepaths, like asserts and extra output. If you want to get meaningful backtraces see
                    https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Quality_Assurance/Backtraces
 - - pax_kernel   : Use PaX emulated trampolines, for we can't use PROT_EXEC
 - - static-libs  : Build static versions of dynamic libraries as well
 - - test         : Enable dependencies and/or preparations necessary to run tests (usually controlled by FEATURES=test but can be toggled independently)
 - - test-bhaible : Run extended regression tests (very slow).



I don't have virtual/libffi anywhere.

The file the two ebuilds are looking for
Code:

/usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0/include


doesn't exist on my system, but the file

Code:

/usr/lib64/libffi/include/

does.

I tried another emerge - but got the same results.

I've now tried
Code:

emerge -uavDnN virtual/libffi

which runs without comment.

The libffi version is still :-

Code:

[IP-] [  ] virtual/libffi-3.3_rc0:0/7


I'm trying another emerge.

Code:
 emerge -uavDnN   @world


Same thing happens!

I'll try the symlink suggested in Bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/709424

Code:

ln -s /usr/lib64/libffi /usr/lib64/libffi-3.3_rc0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7847
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys. Please read. No symlink business necessary.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 330
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! that was the ticket.
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astaines
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:29 am    Post subject: No symlink necessary Reply with quote

Spot on

Code:

emerge -1 networkmanager-qt


Works perfectly!

Thanks,
Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 320
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have same problem/messages as OP.
Tried the emerge -1 networkmanager-qt solution, but the powerdevil emerge returned exactly the same error as before.
Tried the symlink solution, now powerdevil emerges.
Code:

eix networkmanager-qt
[I] kde-frameworks/networkmanager-qt
     Available versions:  (5) 5.64.0(5/5.64)^t ~5.67.0(5/5.67)^t
       {debug doc teamd test}
     Installed versions:  5.64.0(5/5.64)^t(10:49:44 PM 02/19/2020)(-debug -doc -teamd -test)
     Homepage:            https://kde.org/products/frameworks/
     Description:         NetworkManager bindings for Qt
eix powerdevil
[I] kde-plasma/powerdevil
     Available versions:  (5) 5.17.5 ~5.18.1
       {brightness-control debug +handbook +wireless}
     Installed versions:  5.17.5(5)(11:25:28 PM 02/19/2020)(handbook wireless -brightness-control -debug)
     Homepage:            https://cgit.kde.org/powerdevil.git
     Description:         Power management for KDE Plasma Shell
eix libffi
[I] dev-libs/libffi
     Available versions:  3.2.1^t ~3.2.1-r1^t ~3.2.1-r2^t ~3.2.1-r3^t 3.3_rc0(0/7)^t ~3.3_rc1(0/7)^t ~3.3_rc2(0/7)^t ~3.3(0/7)^t 3.3-r1(0/7)^t {debug pax_kernel static-libs test test-bhaible ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_RISCV="lp64 lp64d" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32"}
     Installed versions:  3.3-r1(0/7)^t(10:46:47 PM 02/19/2020)(-debug -pax_kernel -static-libs -test -test-bhaible ABI_MIPS="-n32 -n64 -o32" ABI_RISCV="-lp64 -lp64d" ABI_S390="-32 -64" ABI_X86="64 -32 -x32")
     Homepage:            https://sourceware.org/libffi/
     Description:         a portable, high level programming interface to various calling conventions

_________________
jfp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7847
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jfp wrote:
Tried the emerge -1 networkmanager-qt solution, but the powerdevil emerge returned exactly the same error as before.

That's impossible.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UlvHare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2015
Posts: 15
Location: USSR

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
emerge -1 networkmanager-qt

https://bugs.gentoo.org/695788


Thank you! It works, plasma-nm and powerdevil were emerged successfully after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum