Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Graphical frontends to wireless networking
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1605
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:00 pm    Post subject: Graphical frontends to wireless networking Reply with quote

[Moderator edit: this post, and responses up through and including UberLord's suggestion to open a new thread, were originally part of the thread No WiCd in Gentoo?. I split those posts out to this thread, and added a link back in the quote of UberLord below. -Hu]

UberLord wrote:
Don't forget the shiny dhcpcd Qt and GTK+ front ends :)


How to run this combinations as a user? It is some kind of extention to dhcpcd?

Time ago in 2005/06 I used to use dhcpcd, but I as travel a lot and I use in other companies a lot of their protected wifi, it was much faster for me just to click network, password, save. Works, automaticly starts, any problem I got different icon colors. Just worked for last 15 yeras. Nevere crashed - this was ViCd.

BTW: Just emerged net-misc/NetworkManager even have no idea how to start as no such command
Wiki (for Arch) is longer than for Gentoo instalation:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager
Wiki for WiCd in Gentoo (just 4 commands to start)
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wicd

WiCd after emerging just worked out-of-box.


fedeliallalinea wrote:
Good news https://archives.gentoo.org/gentoo-dev/message/f2b25d68d18c7089a2247129c210d497

Great News! Any chance to support developers? Any crowdfunding link etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6771
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
UberLord wrote:
Don't forget the shiny dhcpcd Qt and GTK+ front ends :)


How to run this combinations as a user? It is some kind of extention to dhcpcd?

Time ago in 2005/06 I used to use dhcpcd, but I as travel a lot and I use in other companies a lot of their protected wifi, it was much faster for me just to click network, password, save. Works, automaticly starts, any problem I got different icon colors. Just worked for last 15 yeras. Nevere crashed - this was ViCd.

BTW: Just emerged net-misc/NetworkManager even have no idea how to start as no such command
Wiki (for Arch) is longer than for Gentoo instalation:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager

WiCd after emerging just worked out-of-box.


Documentation for it is here:
https://roy.marples.name/projects/dhcpcd-ui

TL;DR
Remove netifc configuration and ensure all wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd processes are dead.
Ensure that wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd are in the same runlevel.
Ensure that /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf has at least this configuration:

Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=root
update_config=1


If you want hot pluggable usb sticks to work, you need to enable interface matching support in wpa_supplicant by using -M on the commandline for it.

After that, restart both wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd.
You can then start either dhcpcd-gtk or dhcpcd-qt in an xterm and it will connect to dhcpcd and should connect to wpa_supplicant and you will get an icon in your system tray.
NOTE: Some desktops like GNOME-3 don't like a system tray so you might need to find another solution.

Good luck!
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 1083
Location: Online

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am now using wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd and I get disconnected constantly.
_________________
Do you hear the sound of inevitability?
With age, comes great grumpiness and that, was 20 years ago...

CertFP: becbbd161d5a5c31de3c45171b77bf710911db29 / d985d21f89fe2977b593c4d381a1a86802e62990d9328d893db76d59f9935244
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6771
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you need to look at your wpa_supplicant logs.
Ensure it's started with the -s flag to enable syslog output.
Then add as many -d flags as you like - more -d, more verbose debug.

Also, make sure that only one wpa_supplicant process is running. More than one, or another manager like systemd-networkd, wicd, connman etc will mess up wpa_supplicant.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6771
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OR to put it more bluntly, dhcpcd and it's front ends just react to the network state.
When it's up dhcpcd will configure the address, dns, etc and the front ends will report this.
When it's down, dhcpcd will deconfigure the address etc and the front ends report this also.

For anything else (stability of the connection, wrong access point, roaming when not wanted) is at the level below - ie wpa_supplicant and/or the network driver.
I don't support that - you'll have to open a new thread (as this is about what people use, not what your specific issue is) and hope someone answers.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1605
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just trying to use networkmanager.
Code:
*  net-misc/networkmanager
      Latest version available: 1.18.4-r3
      Latest version installed: 1.18.4-r3


Found on internet, to use with gui we need to install:
Code:
*  kde-plasma/plasma-nm
      Latest version available: 5.17.5
      Latest version installed: 5.17.5


However, I am in the hotel now. So under WiCd I go this:
https://i.imgur.com/V0hRFrn.jpg
Could see any network, any channel. Just one click to connection.

With networkmanager I got:
https://i.imgur.com/eykZzrL.jpg
Then click + and I got this:
https://i.imgur.com/EQy1Xox.jpg
Then click WiFi and I got this:
https://i.imgur.com/nD7JJgH.jpg
How to obtain such^^ data when I am in the hotel? Can I with networkmanager see what wifi networks are nearby?

On Arch looks different (they have a nearby WiFi list I am missing on Gentoo):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAi9DurTRQc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 1083
Location: Online

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason I am getting problems and something is forcing the installation of network manager which is not needed or wanted.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8419942.html#8419942
_________________
Do you hear the sound of inevitability?
With age, comes great grumpiness and that, was 20 years ago...

CertFP: becbbd161d5a5c31de3c45171b77bf710911db29 / d985d21f89fe2977b593c4d381a1a86802e62990d9328d893db76d59f9935244
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum