Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Menu bar missing in LibreOffice 6.3.4.2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Krotos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 11:39 pm    Post subject: Menu bar missing in LibreOffice 6.3.4.2 Reply with quote

I'm not seeing the menu bar (File, Edit, View, etc.) in LibreOffice applications since upgrading to 6.3.4.2. I searched around and tried several of the reported fixes for similar bugs in earlier versions of LO, such as installing libreoffice-bin instead of compiling from source, or enabling/disabling Java, but nothing is working. Anyone else have this problem? And is there a way to downgrade to an earlier version of LO?

Let me know if you'd like more information about my system or USE flags.

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7799
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried with test user? Or renaming your ~/.config/libreoffice directory?
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krotos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get the menu bar back by enabling the gtk2 use flag (legacy frontend) for libreoffice, though it's more a workaround than a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone figure out any other ideas on this issue? Neither wiping out the ~/.config/libreoffice directory, nor setting the gtk2 use flag solves the missing menu bar for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8053
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have dbus disabled on libreoffice?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2564
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@jd42:

  1. Have you tried what jaglover suggested? Create a new user user, log in as this user and start LibreOffice. Do you see a menu bar?

  2. Which desktop environment do you use? KDE?

  3. Please post the output of
    Code:
    emerge --info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Do you have dbus disabled on libreoffice?


dbus was disabled. I just tried adding a use flag for dbus and rebuilding libreoffice. Still no menu bar, though.


mike155 wrote:
@jd42:

  1. Have you tried what jaglover suggested? Create a new user user, log in as this user and start LibreOffice. Do you see a menu bar?

  2. Which desktop environment do you use? KDE?

  3. Please post the output of
    Code:
    emerge --info



Just tried a new test user with no luck.

I run a minimalist graphical environment using fluxbox.

Code:
Portage 2.3.89 (python 3.6.10-final-0, default/linux/amd64/17.1, gcc-9.2.0, glibc-2.29-r7, 5.4.28-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-5.4.28-gentoo-x86_64-AMD_Phenom-tm-_II_X4_965_Processor-with-gentoo-2.6
KiB Mem:     7901152 total,   5396712 free
KiB Swap:    2097148 total,   2096636 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Fri, 17 Apr 2020 21:00:01 +0000
Head commit of repository gentoo: 39b0da7972d0944231ad94d972f1d5a7be43e69d
sh bash 4.4_p23-r1
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.33.1 p2) 2.33.1
app-shells/bash:          4.4_p23-r1::gentoo
dev-java/java-config:     2.2.0-r4::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.30.1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.17-r2::gentoo, 3.6.10-r1::gentoo, 3.7.7-r1::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.16.5::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.6-r1::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.42.1::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.13::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13-r1::gentoo, 2.69-r4::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.16.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.33.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            9.2.0-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     2.2.1::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r6::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.2.1-r4::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 5.4::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.29-r7::gentoo
Repositories:

gentoo
    location: /var/db/repos/gentoo
    sync-type: rsync
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
    priority: -1000
    sync-rsync-extra-opts:
    sync-rsync-verify-jobs: 1
    sync-rsync-verify-metamanifest: yes
    sync-rsync-verify-max-age: 24

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="@FREE"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/sofficerc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/var/cache/distfiles"
ENV_UNSET="DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS DISPLAY GOBIN PERL5LIB PERL5OPT PERLPREFIX PERL_CORE PERL_MB_OPT PERL_MM_OPT XAUTHORITY XDG_CACHE_HOME XDG_CONFIG_HOME XDG_DATA_HOME XDG_RUNTIME_DIR"
FCFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-docompress binpkg-dostrip binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles ipc-sandbox merge-sync multilib-strict network-sandbox news parallel-fetch pid-sandbox preserve-libs protect-owned qa-unresolved-soname-deps sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync xattr"
FFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="https://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/ http://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/ ftp://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/ rsync://mirrors.rit.edu/gentoo/ http://mirror.lug.udel.edu/pub/gentoo/"
LANG="en_US"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/var/cache/binpkgs"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
USE="acl alsa amd64 berkdb bzip2 cli crypt dri dvd dvdr flac fortran gdbm gif iconv ipod jpeg latex libtirpc mozilla mp3 mp4 multilib ncurses nls nptl openmp pam pcre pdf png postscript readline seccomp spell split-usr ssl tcpd udev unicode usb xattr zlib" ABI_X86="64 32" ADA_TARGET="gnat_2018" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="karbon sheets words" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" CPU_FLAGS_X86="3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4a" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock greis isync itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf skytraq superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="libinput keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php7-2" POSTGRES_TARGETS="postgres10 postgres11" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_6" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby24 ruby25" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_BINHOST, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8053
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only users of 'minimalist' WMs seem to be getting that problem.

@jd42: Was dbus started/in your default runlevel as well?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7799
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good luck with that, then. Once I tried to file a bug with GTK+ and I was told using GTK+ without Gnome is not supported, wontfix.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2564
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@asturm: well I use Weston, which would also qualify as a 'minimalist' WM. I built LibreOffice without USE flag "dbus", but I still get the menu bar. :)

@jd42: Please take a look at: https://bugs.documentfoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=107764. This is mostly about Windows, but the last post is about Gentoo Linux. m1027 says that he was able to solve the issue on his machine by starting X11 in a different way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8053
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
@asturm: well I use Weston, which would also qualify as a 'minimalist' WM. I built LibreOffice without USE flag "dbus", but I still get the menu bar. :)

That's why I said 'only', not 'all'. Your result will also vary depending on VCL choice.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2564
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to reproduce the problem.

I installed fluxbox and emerged LibreOffice with a minimal set of USE flags. No matter what I do - I always get a menu bar when I start LibreOffice. I'm afraid I can't reproduce the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Only users of 'minimalist' WMs seem to be getting that problem.

Clearly some piece required by the new versions of LibreOffice aren't getting setup by default for us "minimalists". Prior to a system-wide update, the menus worked, so there must be a solution once the right requirement gets identified.

asturm wrote:

@jd42: Was dbus started/in your default runlevel as well?


dbus was not in the default runlevel. However, manually starting dbus before launching LibreOffice seems to make no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:

@jd42: Please take a look at: https://bugs.documentfoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=107764. This is mostly about Windows, but the last post is about Gentoo Linux. m1027 says that he was able to solve the issue on his machine by starting X11 in a different way.


My system doesn't automatically start X at boot. I always use "startx" after logging in, which is the method described in that thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2564
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While I can understand that you want a 'minimalist' WM, a lot of crucial USE flags are missing on your machine. USE flags like opengl, pango, gtk, dbus, libnotify, policykit, come to my mind.

If I were you, I would temporarily switch to the desktop profile and run 'emerge --update --deep --newuse @world'. If the menu bar works then, we would know that it was related to a missing USE flag. The next step would be to find out which USE flag causes the missing menu bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
While I can understand that you want a 'minimalist' WM, a lot of crucial USE flags are missing on your machine. USE flags like opengl, pango, gtk, dbus, libnotify, policykit, come to my mind.

If I were you, I would temporarily switch to the desktop profile and run 'emerge --update --deep --newuse @world'. If the menu bar works then, we would know that it was related to a missing USE flag. The next step would be to find out which USE flag causes the missing menu bar.



This sounds like the right track. There probably is some subtle USE flag I'm missing that isn't needed for anything else.

I did take a look at my old system configuration and noticed gtk was in the global USE list. Adding that did rebuild a number of libraries, but still hasn't fixed LibreOffice with or without dbus enabled.

mike155 wrote:
I installed fluxbox and emerged LibreOffice with a minimal set of USE flags. No matter what I do - I always get a menu bar when I start LibreOffice. I'm afraid I can't reproduce the issue.


Can you please share the list of USE flags you used in that minimal set? Maybe that will help me narrow down which one(s) I'm missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2564
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can you please share the list of USE flags you used in that minimal set? Maybe that will help me narrow down which one(s) I'm missing.

Well, I compiled LibreOffice with the USE flags 'cups gstreamer gtk mariadb'. I even removed USE flag 'gtk'. Without USE flag 'gtk', LibreOffice failed to start under some DEs. But under those DEs where it started, I could see the menu bar.

Since LibreOffice seems to run without problems on machines that use a desktop profile, I suspect that one of the desktop USE flags is missing on your machine. It's easy to get a list of those USE flags:
  1. Make sure your machine is up-to-date:
    Code:
    emerge --sync
    emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world
    emerge --depclean

  2. Temporarily switch to the desktop profile:
    Code:
    eselect profile list
    eselect profile set <number of desktop profile>

  3. Run the statement below to get a list of changed USE flags and affected packages:
    Code:
    emerge --update --deep --newuse -pv @world

  4. Either stay in the desktop profile and run 'emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world' or return to 'default/linux/amd64/17.1' and add the missing USE flags to '/etc/portage/make.conf' or '/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords'.

PS: the migration from profile version 17.0 to 17.1: did you follow the complicated instructions in the news item? Or did you just change the profile using 'eselect profile set'?

PPS: It could also be related to your video drivers. Have you tried a different driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jd42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2020 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
return to 'default/linux/amd64/17.1' and add the missing USE flags to '/etc/portage/make.conf'


This ended up being the key to finally figuring out this puzzle. Doing so resulted in a LONG list of extra USE flags, but finally did get me a menu bar!
From there, it took all day to experiment and narrow down which USE flag and for which package did the trick.

The solution: Enable the "X" USE flag for dbus . That was unexpected. Turns out LibreOffice needed no USE flags (beyond the defaults) so long as the X flag was added to dbus.

Thanks to everyone for suggestions and help figuring this one out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum