Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] wpa_supplicant connects but no internet access
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
theoneyouknow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:36 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] wpa_supplicant connects but no internet access Reply with quote

Hello.
I am new Gentoo user, I installed it for the first time, and now I am trying to set up wifi access.
I configured wpa_supplicant, and it connects to wifi and as far as I can see IP adress is signed, but for some reason I still have no internet access.
I've been trying to find a solution for this problem for few days now, but I couldn't find anything on forum.
Here are some information that might help (note - I am using systemd):

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

wpa_supplicant_args="-B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
modules_wlo1="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlo1="dhcpcd"


I am running wpa_supplicant with:
Code:
wpa_supplicant -iwlo1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

This is the log when starting wpa_supplicant:
Code:

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
wlo1: SME: Trying to authenticate with 4a:d9:e7:65:98:5a (SSID='Student' freq=2437 MHz)
wlo1: Trying to associate with 4a:d9:e7:65:98:5a (SSID='Student' freq=2437 MHz)
wlo1: Associated with 4a:d9:e7:65:98:5a
wlo1: CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
wlo1: WPA: Key negotiation completed with 4a:d9:e7:65:98:5a [PTK=CCMP GTK=CCMP]
wlo1: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 4a:d9:e7:65:98:5a completed [id=1 id_str=]


This is my wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="A1 WLAN_840D99"
   scan_ssid=1
   psk="********"
   proto=RSN
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP
   auth_alg=OPEN
   priority=5
}

network={
        ssid="Student"
        scan_ssid=1 
        psk="*******"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=CCMP
        auth_alg=OPEN
        priority=5
}

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance :)


Last edited by theoneyouknow on Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3062

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:53 am    Post subject: Re: wpa_supplicant connects to wifi but no internet access Reply with quote

theoneyouknow wrote:
/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

wpa_supplicant_args="-B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
modules_wlo1="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlo1="dhcpcd"

Where did get that first line? Please compare here


theoneyouknow wrote:
This is my wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="A1 WLAN_840D99"
   scan_ssid=1
   psk="********"
   proto=RSN
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP
   auth_alg=OPEN
   priority=5
}

network={
        ssid="Student"
        scan_ssid=1 
        psk="*******"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=CCMP
        auth_alg=OPEN
        priority=5
}

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance :)

Did you compile with qt5 USE flag? Then you should remove the manually added network={ ... } entries and use wpa_cli for the setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theoneyouknow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did compile it with qt5 USE flag.
I followed all instruction from gentoo wiki, and I checked everything a few times to make sure I didn't miss something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3062

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

theoneyouknow wrote:
I did compile it with qt5 USE flag.
So you'd better use the wpa_cli method.

theoneyouknow wrote:
I followed all instruction from gentoo wiki, ...
The line wpa_supplicant_args="-B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf" goes into /etc/conf.d/wpa_supplicant which is only needed if you used dhcpcd instead of netifrc.

Edit
Sorry, just now I saw you are using systemd. The wpa_supplicant wiki article might not be relevant for sysemd. No clue regarding network management there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theoneyouknow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried using wpa_cli, same thing happens, I am able to establish wifi connection and everything seems ok, but I have no internet access again...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3062

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any output of ifconfig -a?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theoneyouknow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the output of ifconfig -a:
Code:

eno1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether b0:0c:d1:6c:09:c1  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 240  bytes 18604 (18.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 53  bytes 4326 (4.2 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 2710  bytes 250896 (245.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 2710  bytes 250896 (245.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlo1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.0.145  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 fe80::abc5:2fc3:bd64:d40e  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether d0:c6:37:3a:67:0e  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 860  bytes 63201 (61.7 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 141  bytes 17501 (17.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coderanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the provided logs I see wlo1 has an IP address assigned 192.168.0.145 which means it was obtained from somewhere else, probably, outside the laptop.
Most possible issues:
- The traffic is filtered on the router side
- DNS was not provided via DHCP (ping to IP of default gateway should work, if ICMP is not filtered on the router side)
- A conflict between networkmanager and manually started wpa_supplicant. Networkmanager is better for newcomers (it has GUI) and if you have it already installed on your laptop then try to configure the connection right there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theoneyouknow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have Networkmanager installed, I finally mangaged to connect to wifi using nmtui and establish internet connection.
Thank you very much for help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum