Webkit GTK breaks whole WL system unrecoverably
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ManDay
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:13 pm    Post subject: Webkit GTK breaks whole WL system unrecoverably Reply with quote

Sorry if the title is somewhat weird, but it's actually accurate. I've had this problem for several years now, if I recall correctly, and have never even gotten close to a solution. So here is what it is:

First a bit of context: I've been using pure Wayland for many years now, and by pure I mean no X11 libraries or headers at all (which, until recently, was not possible with portage's mesa, so I had that in package.provided). I decided to do this, basically because I have no real needs for anything that depends on X11, other than perhaps, and that's where the problem starts, a working browser. Nothing fancy, even, no elaborate WebGL, mostly just websites with text and pictures and a bit of videos. There might be some Qt Browser which supports this, but since I'm a Gtk person I settled with the only non-Qt solution there is, which is WebkitGtk's "proof of concept" MiniBrowser (which, essentially, is just a GtkWindow around the Webview).

Bugs in WebkitGtk (let's just assume MiniBrowser, due to its simplicity, does not induce any bugs itself) would be one story, but "the thing" that happens to me is a whole different one which I can't wrap my head around, at all.