Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Automatically Turning Off your Monitor
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RexM
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 47
Location: South Jordan, Utah

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpoely86 wrote:
RexM wrote:
I did this and it was working perfectly, when all of a sudden my monitor started spazzing out last night. The green light would go off, then come back on, then go off, then go back on, then go off... etc. finally i just hit the button to shutoff power to it, lol. Any ideas?


What kind of monitor ?
Are you using a framebuffer ? On which resolution and wich one ?


It's an older monitor, I'm at school again so I can't really go check. It's using 24 depth and is running at 1024x768. I don't think I'm using framebuffer, how would I check?

My monitor has been flickering a lot lately, I have to turn it off, then turn it back on every few minutes to fix it. I think it may have something to do with this, but I could be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kundor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The blinking power light is a normal way for a monitor to indicate that it's in power-saving mode -- ie, it's off, but will come back on when you hit a mouse or whatever, as opposed to the "completely off" mode when the light is off. All my monitors do that.

Does anyone know how to ignore the mouse, and let the monitors stay off even if the mouse is moved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[sinz]
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked perfectly for me, thanks. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gmcle454
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 173
Location: U.S. - Virginia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works great for me too. Thanks a lot for this how-to. I've been fighting with apm for a couple days now, but this is exactly what I wanted. :D
_________________
Ged tha mi bochd tha mi uasal; buidheachas do Dhia is ann de chlann 'Ill Eathain mi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--> Screen Blanks Even While Typing!

i am using KDE 3.3.x and the lastest version of X11. i had an odd problem that would pop-up with power management: i had power management set to blank the screen at 5 minutes. much to my surprise, the screen would go blank at 5 minutes, even if i was typing an e-mail or replying to a thread!

i could re-activate the display by using either the keyboard or mouse. it was as if power management wasn't watching the keyboard interrupts until after it had blanked the screen. i have never figured out why this was happening.

the fix? i disabled power management in KDE and used this command:

Code:
xset dpms 30 60 120


so far, it seems to be working fine, so i'll increase the time periods.

i'm left with two questons:

1 can anyone explain why i was having that problem where the screen would go blank after 5 minutes, even while i was typing?

2. is the execution of "xset dpms 300 600 1200" transient or persistent? that is to say, will these settings remain in effect even if X is shutdown and later restarted?
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamerz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Chicago IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set this up on two different computers. Both using the 2.6 kernel. Neither one goes off into power saving mode. It just blanks the screen like it always has. You can see on the LCD screen the backlight is still on, and on the CRT the power light stays solid and you can tell it is still on. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_Funfrog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tamerz wrote:
I set this up on two different computers. Both using the 2.6 kernel. Neither one goes off into power saving mode. It just blanks the screen like it always has. You can see on the LCD screen the backlight is still on, and on the CRT the power light stays solid and you can tell it is still on. Any ideas?


Same thing here, monitor just goes blank (backlight still on) when i do
Code:

/usr/X11R6/bin/xset dpms force off


I'm using x.org 6.8.0-r3 and gnome 2.8.0-r1 on kernel 2.6.9. My monitor is a Philips 170C.

I've tried using acipd, no efect. Does anyone have an idea?

grtz!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
immudium
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using kde so I don't know if that makes a difference but both "xset dpms force off" and "xset dpms force standby" just blank my monitor while leaving the backlight on. However,
Code:
xset dpms force susend

turns everything off for me. Perhaps it would be the same for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamerz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 232
Location: Chicago IL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

immudium wrote:
I'm using kde so I don't know if that makes a difference but both "xset dpms force off" and "xset dpms force standby" just blank my monitor while leaving the backlight on. However,
Code:
xset dpms force susend

turns everything off for me. Perhaps it would be the same for you.


You have a type-o there but yes, with suspend that works. Thanks! Also the screen does blank after the amount of time specified in xorg.conf so now everything is working great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_Funfrog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_Funfrog wrote:
Tamerz wrote:
I set this up on two different computers. Both using the 2.6 kernel. Neither one goes off into power saving mode. It just blanks the screen like it always has. You can see on the LCD screen the backlight is still on, and on the CRT the power light stays solid and you can tell it is still on. Any ideas?


Same thing here, monitor just goes blank (backlight still on) when i do
Code:

/usr/X11R6/bin/xset dpms force off


I'm using x.org 6.8.0-r3 and gnome 2.8.0-r1 on kernel 2.6.9. My monitor is a Philips 170C.

I've tried using acipd, no efect. Does anyone have an idea?

grtz!


Apparently I had forgotten to restart x.. nice :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sharmay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:49 am    Post subject: ACPI Monitor Suspend Reply with quote

Hi,

I have KDS 17" monitor bought in 2002, GeForce2 Graphics Card. No X windows. This box is now a production server. Console goes blank after some time but I have never seen monitor power light to go Amber, it is always green. (Amber is when it goes in standby)

How do I suspend or poweroff monitor when I don't have X windows.

I have tried following:

Code:
setterm -blank 1
return no message
Code:
setterm -powersave powerdown
return "cannot (un)set powersave mode"
Code:
setterm -powersave on
returns "cannot (un)set powersave mode"
Code:
setterm -powerdown 1


any of above commands were able to switch monitos in standby.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
airwin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeathAndTaxes wrote:
irf2003 wrote:
acpid is not needed with the 2.6 kernels
HTH


When I stop acpid, 'xset dpms force standby' and suspend have no effect, whereas with acpid running, they turn my monitors off.


Acpid is not needed at all.

Acpid does only one thing: catches ACPI events and runs programs respective to the events.

On your system however starting acpid might pull in the acpi modules, and this could be the reason why doesn't blank your screen without acpid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shinewu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is by far the most useful tip I ever read.
I just want to point out:

0 You MUST recompile kernel as required;
1 You just need to add the DPMS option to the xorg.conf;
2 You may set the timeout in xorg.conf or with a screensaver program;
3 You MUST restart your X server!!!

Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreamer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the tip, this will help me to save even more power :)
Just wondering if switching the backlight off and on could harm it in any way?

I've set the suspend and off times to 10 minutes, so the backlight will switch off (and on) quite frequently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xithix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: [HOWTO] Automatically Turning Off your Monitor Reply with quote

angryelephant wrote:
Biker wrote:
locke2053 wrote:
ACPI Monitor Mini-HowTo


BTW, how does one pronounce "ACPI" ?

Biker

aye-see-pee-eye


Most people say "ACK pee" where I live =p

Maybe it's just a regional thing
_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rosslaird
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:01 am    Post subject: Doesn't quite work... Reply with quote

Both of these work:

xset dpms force suspend
xset dpms force off

But after two or three seconds, my monitor shows a little box that cycles between "Digital" and "Analog". This is the same thing it does when my computer is off but the monitor is on. It's evaluating, I suppose, the connection to the video card. (At bootup, eventually -- after two or three seconds -- it settles on Analog and gets out of the way.)

(Samsung 193P LCD display)

Any idea how to prevent it from doing this?

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

airwin wrote:
DeathAndTaxes wrote:
irf2003 wrote:
acpid is not needed with the 2.6 kernels
HTH


When I stop acpid, 'xset dpms force standby' and suspend have no effect, whereas with acpid running, they turn my monitors off.


Acpid is not needed at all.

Acpid does only one thing: catches ACPI events and runs programs respective to the events.

On your system however starting acpid might pull in the acpi modules, and this could be the reason why doesn't blank your screen without acpid.

How can I make this work without having to emerge acpid and adding it to the default runlevel? I too am using a 2.6 and `xset dpms force off` works fine. However, even though I added the appropriate lines to my xorg.conf just the normal screensaver goes on after 10 minutes, but the monitor does not shut down after 20. Ideas?

cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep "ACPI":
Code:
# Power management options (ACPI, APM)
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=m
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
CONFIG_PNPACPI=y
# CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_ACPI is not set



EDIT: My bad, xscreensaver had power management disabled so I think it was blocking xorg.conf
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 283
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have a problem here.
Code:
hagen ~ # xset dpms force suspend
hagen ~ # xset dpms force off
hagen ~ # 
both seem to work on the computer side. The monitor's (iiyama Vision Master 400) screen goes blank. The monitor does NOT go to powersaving mode (led stays green, no warm up time after moving the mouse; as opposed to windows standby: amber led with warm up needed).

Any ideas?
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazam75
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 562
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did u restart X?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazam75
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 562
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shinewu wrote:
This is by far the most useful tip I ever read.
I just want to point out:

0 You MUST recompile kernel as required;
1 You just need to add the DPMS option to the xorg.conf;
2 You may set the timeout in xorg.conf or with a screensaver program;
3 You MUST restart your X server!!!

Thanks a lot!


thanks this worked after I started X

Shelton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fourbissime
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
xset dpms force suspend

and
Code:
xset dpms force off


cause my screen to shut down (amber light) and then turn on (green light) saying "no signal" and then shut down infinitely.

The screen is a Viewsonic VS10725. Anyone has an idea of what could be the cause of this ?

EDIT : even when I comment out DPMS options in xorg.conf, my screen start blinking after 10 minutes (or so) of inactivity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazam75
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 562
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does

Code:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep "ACPI"
say?

Also FYI i also do not have DPMS in my xorg.conf file and my power saving monitor kicks in.

I have my settings in KDE

Go to Control Center (run kcontrol)
then Peripherals
then Display
then hit the Power Control tab and make ur changes there.
Remember to check the box "Enable Display Power Management"

Regards
Shelton.
_________________
answer an unanswered post:
https://forums.gentoo.org/search.php?search_id=unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fourbissime
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for answer

ACPI in my kernel config gives :

Code:

# Power management options (ACPI, APM)
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_SLEEP is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=m
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=m
CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_BAY is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=m
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_IBM is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=2001
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8_ACPI=y
# CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_PROC_INTF is not set
CONFIG_PNPACPI=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEACPI is not set


As I don't have KDE, I won't be able to follow your advice, though.

I wonder what could launch this powersaving thing if DPMS is not set ...

More info : The graphic card is a Matrox G550, and I'm using the framebuffer for the console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoiDeR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to have xset turn the monitor back on? I have a mythtv setup in my library that is hooked up to a Computer monitor instead of a tv and it would be awsome to beable to turn the monitor back on. I use lirc and xset to turn the monitor off after im done watching tv, it would be great to beable to turn it back on with out getting up to move the mouse or hit a key on the keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JeliJami
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1086
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try
Code:
xset dpms force on

_________________
Unanswered Post Initiative | Search | FAQ
Former username: davjel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum