Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
akregator + konqueror offline since last kde update [bug]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:05 am    Post subject: akregator + konqueror offline since last kde update [bug] Reply with quote

I have two browser installed: Falkon and Konqueror. And I use Akregator (from Kontact). (all stable)
I use a proxy (privoxy listening at 127.0.0.1:8118).
I have iptables allowing only my proxy for outgoing http (iptables -A OUTPUT -p tcp --dport 80 -m owner --uid-owner 104 -j ACCEPT (+the same with 443)).

With Falkon I have no problems.

I made no changes in the config of Konqueror. But Konqueror now dont use the proxy settings and try to establish a direct connection. The same with Akregator. I checked the system settings and there is also my proxy configured.

Why they dont use the proxy settings anymore ?


Last edited by pietinger on Thu Dec 19, 2019 7:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no networkmanager activ because I have only a static LAN-adress and no WLAN. So far I tried:

- recompiling kio
- setting the use flag "libproxy" and recompiling qt
- changed the proxy settings in .config/kioslaverc

... without any success.

After this I found: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=414346

:-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cannot wait any longer for KIO 5.65, so I made my own "user.patch" in "/etc/portage/patches/kde-frameworks/kio-5.64.0":

Code:
--- a/src/ioslaves/http/http.cpp
+++ b/src/ioslaves/http/http.cpp
@@ -2161,7 +2161,7 @@ bool HTTPProtocol::httpOpenConnection()
 
     // Get proxy information...
     if (m_request.proxyUrls.isEmpty()) {
-        m_request.proxyUrls = mapConfig().value(QStringLiteral("ProxyUrls"), QStringList()).toStringList();
+        m_request.proxyUrls = mapConfig().value(QStringLiteral("ProxyUrls"), QString()).toString().split(QLatin1Char(','), QString::SkipEmptyParts);
         qCDebug(KIO_HTTP) << "Proxy URLs:" << m_request.proxyUrls;
     }


After "emerge kio" I am Online again :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7708
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that the forum is not for bug reporting, if you expect someone to have it fixed in Portage.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Please note that the forum is not for bug reporting, if you expect someone to have it fixed in Portage.

Thank you for your hint - but I really dont understand what you mean. At first I thought something went wrong or I am missing a Use-flag or something else (and hoped for help). Later (when I found the bug description) I expected the KDE developers to fix it in near time. At last I posted my solution only to help other users here. Please let me know what I did wrong (maybe via PN).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2110
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
Thank you for your hint - but I really dont understand what you mean.

I think he wanted to tell you that developers usually don't read forum posts - and if they do, they usually don't jump into action and fix bugs, even if users propose fixes.

The right thing to do is to go to https://bugs.gentoo.org and report the bug (and a solution) there. Developers use the bug tracker to communicate and they read bug reports posted there carefully. If developers think that a problem affects many users and that the proposed solution fixes it, they usually create a patch and add it to the portage tree.

So if you want to talk to other users, use the forums. If you want to talk to developers, use https://bugs.gentoo.org. It's perfectly fine to use both, but whenever you find a bug or if you even have a solution, make sure to go to https://bugs.gentoo.org.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much, mike. Now I understand. Do you think I have to report it to the portage developers, even if the kde developers know the problem (and already have an own bug report) and say they will fix it in kio 5.65 ? (I have no account there).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7708
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It only depends on how important you consider the bug for stable. 5.65.0 is already in Portage for ~arch for 5 days but stabilisations happen only every few releases. Then it is arguably better for everyone, not just forum visitors, to report a downstream bug to get it backported to stable early.

No need to open a bug now though, incidentally it was backported to 5.64.0-r1 and is already pending stabilisation.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Thanks a lot, asturm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum