Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
loopback interface and IPv6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 881

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:42 am    Post subject: loopback interface and IPv6 Reply with quote

Hi,

I'd like to know why the loopback interface does not get an IPv6 address at boot time, but it does if I manually restart it.

Code:
# rc-update show | grep net.lo
               net.lo |      default

# sysctl net.ipv6.conf.lo.disable_ipv6
net.ipv6.conf.lo.disable_ipv6 = 0

# /etc/init.d/net.lo status
 * status: started

# ip a s lo
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 brd 127.255.255.255 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
      
# /etc/init.d/net.lo restart
 * Bringing down interface lo
 * Bringing up interface lo
 *   127.0.0.1/8 ...                                                      [ ok ]
 *   Adding routes
 *     127.0.0.0/8 via 127.0.0.1 ...                                      [ ok ]

# ip a s lo
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 brd 127.255.255.255 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


Regards,

Vieri
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have something else like NetworkManager possibly interfering with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hdcg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have IPv6 builtin statically or as a module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 881

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Do you have something else like NetworkManager possibly interfering with it?


No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 881

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hdcg wrote:
Do you have IPv6 builtin statically or as a module?


As a module:

Code:
CONFIG_IPV6=m


Network tries to set up before module is loaded?
How can I avoid that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum