Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using 10bpc instead of 8 with Nvidia proprietary drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ridrok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2014
Posts: 45
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:25 pm    Post subject: Using 10bpc instead of 8 with Nvidia proprietary drivers Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a Dell UP3017 screen connected via DP to my nVidia GTX 1070 Ti graphic card.
This screen is 10bpc capable and Windows it is set as 10bpc.

In NVIDIA X Server Settings, I cannot change this. here is the X Screen 0 content:
Code:
Screen Number:          0
Display Name:           Vangogh:0.0

Dimensions:             2560x1600 pixels (644x402 millimeters)
Resolution:             101x101 dots per inch
Depth:                  24

GPUs:                   GeForce GTX 1070 Ti(GPU 0)

Displays:               DELL UP3017 (DP-2)

Recovered GPU Error:    0

Can one tell me how to have depth = 30.

Do I change the /etc.X11/xorg.conf which has this for screen ?
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Many thanks,
Ridrok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44959
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ridrok,

Try it and tell us what happens :)

I suspect its not that easy as you need 30 bit support everywhere and I bet its not there yet.
It will probably break transparency if you use that, as the 8 bits used for the alpha channel have been reduced to 2.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6354

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should be as simple as changing the 24 to 30, that's how it works on radeon/amdgpu. Many toolkits and libraries won't know what to do with it though, read the wiki.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ridrok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2014
Posts: 45
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed it and it's now 30 but...

Many application cannot display anymore proper colors, blue is now pink. krdc display me Windows in pink/red/blue.
https://imgur.com/JNtQ9cx

KDE windows button are scrambled and borders are pink instead of blue (I use a Win7 theme).

So it is either not enough to change screen in xorg.conf or it simply does not work properly on Linux.
I revert to 24bits for now.

Ridrok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5785
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you change both defaultdepth and depth in your xorg snippit? both need to be 30

also:
Quadro cards based on G80 (G=Generation) and higher are required.

so nvidia might not support this in linux with their desktop line


also:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-942736.html

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/30bpp
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ridrok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2014
Posts: 45
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I tested changing the first, then both with same result.
I don't know the gen of this card, it's a GTX 1070Ti and works fine with 30bpp on Windows, like my old Radeon 280X did.

I have seen the wiki already and I can't even have KDE display its windows properly, or the problem may be the Win7 theme I use.
Apart the contour, some applications could display their content properly and krdc for example did not (screenshot above).

By the way support on Windows for 30bpp is so slim that I tested it in Linux more for curiosity purpose than anything else and because I have a screen claiming to support it.
Let's hope one day it works especially when oled monitor are available at a descent price, not for tomorrow.

And if Minecraft is not working when 30bpp is activated, then I can't switch :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44959
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ridrok,

The nvidia evil binary blob is the same code on Windows and Linux. I don't think its even rebuilt.
On Linux you get an extra open source 'shim' that does all the conversions to make the same blob work on Linux.

Its unlikely that the binary blob is the problem. That might be good news as everything else is open source.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum