Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Screen resolution
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:49 pm    Post subject: [solved] Screen resolution Reply with quote

Hello,

on my Laptop I run gentoo with KDE.
Code:

COMPUTER: lspci | grep -i VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 5500 (rev 09)


This output shows that I have an intel graphic card and according to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel I have edited the following files:

Code:

/etc/portage/make.conf

USE="alsa dbus glamor -gtk -gtk+ -gnome kde -pygtk qt4 -systemd X"
VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965"


Code:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-opengl.conf

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
    Driver      "modesetting"
    Option      "AccelMethod"    "glamor"
    Option      "DRI"            "3"
EndSection


In the system settings I can apply special effects like transparent and wobbling windows so the driver seems to work fine. My problem is, that the resolution can be set in the KDE system settings to a maximum of 1366x768. As I was using gentoo about 10 years ago I added the resolution in the Xorg.conf which seems to be obsolete. So: how can I find out about the maximum resolution the graphic card can handle and where do I have to change the settings?
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1


Last edited by mschraff on Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:35 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7465
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graphics card usually can do more than the laptop display can. Use xrandr command to learn about your display(s).
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick reply. Here is my output

Code:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
eDP-1 connected primary 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.02*+  48.04 
   1280x720      60.00    59.99    59.86    59.74 
   1024x768      60.04    60.00 
...


So the maximum should be much higher than it is shown in the first line. And before I installed gentoo this laptop has been my business laptop where we used Windows and had a resolution of ~ 1500 or 1800 pixels per line.
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7465
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first line (and all others) is read from EDID - in your display firmware. I don't see how Windows could do more than the display itself is capable of. Of course, maybe EDID is broken and the display can do higher resolution. Happens all the time. In this case you could add new mode(s) with xrandr, see its help. Potentially you cold damage your display with custom modes, although nowadays displays have built in protection against incompatible modes, you will see "No Signal" message in that case. In any case, don't bill me if your display lets the smoke out. The secret with electronic devices is that smoke is practically impossible to put back in to make the device functional again. 8)
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Jaglover, thank you so much for your advice. Of cpourse I try to avoid smoke under all circumstances. Just now I´m working on my new business laptop which is a follow up model of my gentoo laptop. There I have a resolution of 1.920 x 1.080 and as far as I can remember the resolution did not change when I changed the computers.

So I´m very surprised that my display should only be able to confined to 1366 x 768. To my knowledge the display supports the HD standard requires at least (please correct me if I´m wrong) the resolution mentioned above.
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I just checked the handbook of my Laptop. According to the manual 1920 x 1080 should be no problem. So how can I test this resolution as safe as possible with xrandr (or any other command)?
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4396
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mschraff wrote:
Hey, I just checked the handbook of my Laptop. According to the manual 1920 x 1080 should be no problem. So how can I test this resolution as safe as possible with xrandr (or any other command)?


I think you need to double check the manual

The internal screen should run 1366, if using an external monitor it should run to 1920 (if the monitor allows it)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1381
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must look at the Linux kernel video module in use first. Intel video cards are drived by a Linux framebuffer. The intel or the modesetting Xorg module will not go over the resolution of the framebuffer because of the Kernel Mode Setting (KMS) they use.

In the Linux virtual consoles (tty1 to tty6) after login the command
Code:
fbset

tell the actual framebuffer resolution Linux use.

You have a command you can use to know your card capability
Code:
hwinfo --vbe

In the Grub shell at boottime the command
Code:
vbeinfo

tell you the available resolutions of the screen. I pass the resolution I want to the Linux kernel with the video parameter. For a laptop or a Hdmi or a Vga screen
Code:
video=LVDS-1:1920x1080-32

video=HDMI-1:1920x1080-32

video=VGA-1:1920x1080-32


All depend of what the card support and what framebuffer module Linux use. The vesafb frambuffer provide 4/3 resolutions only but i915 give the native resolution of the screen. uvesafb can do it too.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your explanation.
Code:

# fbset

mode "1366x768"
    geometry 1366 768 1366 768 32
    timings 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    accel true
    rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,0/0
endmode

That seems that the framebuffer is set to 1.366x768 and would explain why I can´t easily choose a higher resolution. Unfortunately "hwinfo --vbe" doesn´t show me any infromation about my video card.

Code:

Port Connector: #5
    Type: 0x1c (Video Port)
    Internal Designator: "JHDMI"
    External Designator: "HDMI"
    External Connector: 0xff (Other)

 Port Connector: #13
    Type: 0x1c (Video Port)
    Internal Designator: "JCRT1"
    External Designator: "CRT"
    External Connector: 0x07 (DB-15 pin female)


On Board Devices: #29
    Video: ""Intel HD Graphics""


edit:
in the /etc/portage/make.conf I told my system to use the intel i965 drivers

Code:

VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965"

_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, just found a solution for changing my screen resolution. Here´s my way in the case anyone ese has the same problem

First I was looking for the name of my laptop

Code:

# randrd
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
eDP-1 connected primary 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.02*+  48.04 
   1280x720      60.00    59.99    59.86    59.74 


According to my handbook 1.920 x 1.024 should be no problem. So I checked, which configuration will be suitable for this resolution.

Code:

# cvt 1920 1024
# 1920x1024 59.90 Hz (CVT) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 163.00 MHz
Modeline "1920x1024_60.00"  163.00  1920 2040 2240 2560  1024 1027 1037 1063 -hsync +vsync


Next I set up the new mode

Code:

# xrandr --newmode "1920x1024_60.00"  163.00  1920 2040 2240 2560  1024 1027 1037 1063 -hsync +vsync


And finally I had to add the new mode
Code:

# xrandr --addmode eDP-1 "1920x1024_60.00"


Now I was able to chose this resolution in the KDE system settings.
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mschraff,

You can do all that in xorg.conf too, so it just works at 1920x1080.

The bigger question is what does your display report to Xorg.
Please put /var/log/Xorg.0.log onto a pastebin.

At one time it was fairly common for displays to have broken EDID data. The preferred resolution is supposed to be reported first.
Then there are those displays that advertise a higher resolution than native and downsample it to fit.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey NeddySeagoon, thanks again for your help. As I told you in another thread: I´m a newbie and you hardly can imagine what I don´t know :D Editing the files in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ didn´t work so I was looking for another solution. This one did work for me and I still dont´t know where all this commands are written to. But I really don´t care as long as it works... ;)


Here´s the output in short. What else do you need? The complete logfile?
Code:

# tail /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[  3595.618] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1558  768 771 772 816 +hsync -vsync (49.0 kHz eP)
[  3595.618] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1658  768 771 772 958 +hsync -vsync (46.0 kHz e)
[  3721.784] (II) modeset(0): Allocate new frame buffer 1366x768 stride
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): EDID vendor "AUO", prod id 13804
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1558  768 771 772 816 +hsync -vsync (49.0 kHz eP)
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1658  768 771 772 958 +hsync -vsync (46.0 kHz e)
[  4225.170] (II) modeset(0): Allocate new frame buffer 1600x1200 stride
[  4243.518] (II) modeset(0): Allocate new frame buffer 1920x1200 stride
[  4244.807] (II) modeset(0): Allocate new frame buffer 1920x1024 stride

_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mschraff,

I was looking for all the modeline definitions in Xorg.0.log.
I was expecting to see 1920x1080 somewhere in the list.

Code:
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1558  768 771 772 816 +hsync -vsync (49.0 kHz eP)
[  3735.626] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1366x768"x0.0   76.30  1366 1374 1384 1658  768 771 772 958 +hsync -vsync (46.0 kHz e)

Only two ... thats odd. I was expecting all the standard modes down to 640x480 (VGA) and maybe a couple of double scan modes below that.

If it works and its good enough for you. Thats fine.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, it really seams that I closed the thread too early because the screen resolution is lost after rebooting the computer. So I obviously have to edit some config files and startet with /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-monitor.

Code:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "eDP-1"
        Modeline       "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
        Option          "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
EndSection


That entry is of no avail because I can´t choose the new resolution in the KDE system settings. Neither is KDE started with this resolution.



Please also find the Xorg.0.log

Edit: code corrected
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mschraff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, the next problem is solved and so this thrad can also be "closed". Here´s my new configuration file:

Code:

ection "Device"
        Identifier      "Intel Graphics"
        Driver          "modesetting"
        Option          "AccelMethod"   "glamor"
        Option          "DRI"           "3"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "eDP-1"
        Modeline        "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync >
        Option          "PreferredMode" "1920x1080_60.00"
EndSection


All the information xrandr gave me are entered in the Section "Monitor". "Device" has already existed due to my configuration of KDE. Now the desktop starts with my preferred screen resolution but let me just mention: the gentoo wiki is definitely not straight forward :cry:
_________________
DELL Latitude 5550 intel Core i5-5300 CPU @ 2.30GHz
gentoo genkernel-4.19.97 gcc 9.2.0-r2 portage 2.3.89-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44896
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mschraff,

I haven't seen the
Code:
Option          "PreferredMode" "1920x1080_60.00"
preferred mode before.
Thank you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum