Unable to mount LVM on LUKS volume
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
algae enthusiast
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:07 pm    Post subject: Unable to mount LVM on LUKS volume Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to this and I'm trying to set up encryption on the partition of my ssd I'm installing on. I eventually decided to encrypt the partition with a detached LUKS header on a usb drive, then add an LVM layer on top of that for additional flexibility. This seemed to be going okay and I was at the point of figuring out how to set up an initramfs when I ran out of time to work on it a few weeks ago.

Now that I'm looking at it again I can't mount the root filesystem for some reason even though as far as I can remember I'm doing things the same way as when it was working. I boot from the live install thing, open the luks volume with "cryptsetup open --header [path to header] /dev/sda3 crypt" then try to mount with "mount /dev/vg/root /mnt/gentoo" and get this:

NTFS signature is missing.
Failed to mount '/dev/mapper/vg-root': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/mapper/vg-root' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?

The volume isn't even formatted with NTFS, it's ext4, so I'm really confused. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong or what could have changed in the last few weeks to mess things up?
russK
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

algae enthusiast,

Just a few suggestions ...

I assume the cryptsetup open worked?
I've only ever used "cryptsetup luksOpen", not "cryptsetup open" as in your post.

After the open, regarding LVM, does the output of commands, pvs, vgs, and lvs look correct?

Then in your mount command, did you try with the '-t ext4' option?

HTH